We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its the people who make a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Tayport
1 review
“Its the people who make a difference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Spent a very relaxing last weekend here - chief impression we left with was that the staff - reception, bar and restaurant - were very helpful, pleasant and attentive without being intrusive. Food was of a high standard and portion size VERY generous.
Comfortable lounge areas to enjoy a coffee and read the paper. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have great views but may be unsuitable if road noise bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Good Morning,
Thank you for your valued and positive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Crianlarich Hotel. Your comments will be conveyed to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    278
    136
    50
    34
See reviews for
143
436
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a really nice place to stop after a long day of walking. It was the only hotel in crianlarach that accepted dogs so we were happy that it was of such a high standard.

Based on some of the reviews we'd seen we expected dated decor but on the contrary the rooms were very smartly decorated and spacious.

The staff were lovely and welcoming and made our dog max feel like part of the family.

The food at the bar was very good with the exception of the veggie pasta dish which was a bit bland. The restaurant looked very well decorated but we weren't able to try this out as we had the dog with us.

As walkers arriving at the hotel after a soggy day, we were very relieved to see the hotel had a proper hot drying room ensuring our clothes were toasty the next day.

The only slight negative was the breakfast. It was a very adequate buffet breakfast rather than cooked to order and the filter coffee was a bit cool. In fairness though, we didn't mention this to staff so they couldn't rectify the situation.

So overall few really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercutio58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Good Morning

Thank you for your valued and positive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Crianlarich Hotel. Your comments will be conveyed to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have stayed here several times on our adventures to the Western Isles as an convenient stop off on the way to Oban. We have had our dog with us the last few times between Jan and May, she is a big sloppy hairy German Shepherd who loves all form of travel and hotels and we love travelling with her. We were all made most welcome at this hotel and the staff made a great fuss of her which she lapped up. The room was clean and ideal for our needs and very reasonably priced, the dog was uber happy and we all slept very well. Crianlarich is a very friendly place and we have met some lovely interesting people there. It is so nice to be able to take the dog without any stress and sit and have a drink in the bar with her. The hotel also has some lovely mountain views, which were most spectacular in snow. There is also a railway station in the village near the hotel so a great place to stay however you choose to travel. The staff are extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaJoyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your valued and positive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Crianlarich Hotel. Your comments will be conveyed to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back and of course your dog in the very near future.
Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend of the Caledonian Challenge. We arrived very late on Saturday evening and were warmly welcomed. Check in was swift, we were advised that food would be served all night and that walkers could get breakfast anytime during the next day.
The rooms were clean and tidy although the hotel itself is a little tired looking.
The staff, without exception, were great - personable & extremely helpful, and even though most of the staff had been up most of the night, they were still smiling!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your valued and positive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Crianlarich Hotel. Your comments will be conveyed to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here on our 4th night of WHW. The hotel was a little tired looking especially our en-suite room!! The hotel was very busy and the staff were very busy and understaffed so those who were working were very pushed but did their best considering their situation.
We ate in the restaurant again short staffed but the food was very good!!
we had a comfy night and a nice breakfast but one of the waiters was not very receptive he didn't even acknowledge we were there!! An ok stay for the length of time we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Good Morning

Thank you for your valued and positive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Crianlarich Hotel. Your comments will be conveyed to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stopped here spontaneously for 2 nights in mid-May on our way from Glasgow to Fort William and did not regret it. The hotel is well-located for hiking the West Highland Way and lots of hikers were staying here. On the super-plus side, the restaurant is excellent! We had a light lunch in the bar area one day and a wonderful dinner in the restaurant the following night. Kudos to the chef! We enjoyed the various lounge areas and the bar, especially after finding the backgammon set in one lounge. The hotel is pleasing overall and we had no complaints, although it is true that the furniture in our room was not impressive on first sight. But everything was totally clean and comfortable, including the bathroom. Good breakfasts and good WiFi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Good Morning

Thank you for your valued and positive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Crianlarich Hotel. Your comments will be conveyed to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here as a group of nine walking Ben Nevis as part of a 3 Peaks challenge, arriving in the evening and leaving in the early hours of the next morning. We therefore saw very little of the hotel other than our rooms. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for serious Ben Nevis walkers as it is a good hour’s drive from Fort William but it’s got a nice location in a picturesque part of Scotland. It looks like a big old house from the outside and sits very close to the road, which can mean lorries passing in the night and sounding like a helicopter taking off outside your window. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and well equipped. We had one huge gripe with this hotel which accounts for such a low rating. When we checked in we ticked off sandwich options for our take-away breakfast and were told it would be put out for us to collect at 3am. In the morning we were very unimpressed to find they’d forgotten our breakfast and there was no one around to contact. They were aware we were part of a tough challenge and were relying on this meal. It was very poor service and we wouldn’t go back.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front suffer a lot from road noise- the most I've ever heard in a hotel anywher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubiachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. Please contact me on 01838 300 272 to discuss your recent stay

Kind regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
1.8 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
13.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
14.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
15.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
18.8 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel

Property: Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing