We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crianlarich night 2 on our Celtic Challenge Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Crianlarich night 2 on our Celtic Challenge Trip”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

In Crianlarich you have very few hotels to choose from, which is good for this hotel because I think most people would go somewhere elsewhere if you had a choice. Very scruffy and dated hotel.

My room was not dirty but because of the dated furniture and shabby look to it made it feel unclean, this is a very basic hotel and it not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JY-and-PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Good Evening
Thank you for your comments, we are currently in the process of upgtading our bedrooms.
If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail, please contact me on 01838 300 272

Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    287
    141
    51
    34
See reviews for
152
450
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked this hotel in January for 13 April and paid the full amount for DBB. On 11 April we had an email from Best Western hoping we enjoy our trip. On arrival at the hotel around 7pm there were two coaches outside and around 10 people sat in reception with coats on. It transpired that half a coach and 8 individual travellers had no rooms. We were taken to another hotel seven miles away and collected the next morning as we had arrived by train. We were offered coffee and the waiter who served us spilled mine in the saucer and then took the coffee from the tray by putting his fingers under the saucer and thumbs on the rim of the cup - yuk!! We were refunded £50 but this is not what we expected from a Best Western hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here on Saturday 1st June. We arrived at approx 8.30pm. At this time of evening I wasn't confident about getting a room, but the receptionist advised me they had a kingsize room, which was fine. My husband and I had a great meal in the restaurant. Our room was very nicely decorated, a gigantic bed!!! which may I add was very comfy. The decor was very up to date in the room and the bathroom was nice and clean. We had a room at the main road and we did not have any issues with noise. The staff were all helpful, hard working and polite. We would definately stay here again. People don't take enough time to compliment on what's good, instead they want to complain on review sites but won't actually give feedback to the hotel. If people spent a few minutes speaking to management to try and resolve any problems then maybe just maybe the hotel could try and resolve any problems Compliments to the chefs food was amazing!!!!. Again I would not hesitate to stay here again. Angie McCleary

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Good Evening
Thank you for your valued and positive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Crianlarich Hotel. Your comments will be conveyed to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is almost a boutique venue with lots of charm and quirks upon arrival. Rooms seem to be a little on the bijou side but are well appointed with the usual beverage facilities, tv, alarm clock etc. Staff seem to be helpful and will go out of their way to help. The bar is quite small too but has a fair stock of beers and wine to chose from - very decieving product range given you would struggle to get more than four people sat at the bar. We ate in the lounge bar during the day choosing from what the staff described as the new sandwich menu - wow the pesto lemon chicken sandwich was out of this world - very tasty with little tomato halfs and dressed salad on top. We also ate in the main restaurant in the evening, where service was a little slow and the staff seemed under a lot of pressure (maybe some more staff required). Staff knowledge was lacking wih regard to wines and some menu items. The food itself was of a very good quality with a good range of dishes without being overwhelming in size. All the diners at our table agreed the taste of the food was amazing with the salmon roulade and chicken terrine standing out as real winners. The chicken dish with the creamy sauce was also to die for, it had an oatmeal crumb which was really crunchy :) I would also recommend the cheese board which although expensive was good quality with the nicest blue cheese i'e tasted in a while. The hotel looks a bit tired in places but oozes charm. I would stay again and would recommend stopping here to eat if travelling on the A82 as further up in Tyndrum the quality of food is very hit or miss.

Room Tip: The top floor as you can hear footsteps from above in the middle floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S-worksrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments, our chefs are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon

Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We staryed here for 2 nights as a base along the route for the West Highland Way. We booked 3 rooms, when handed the room keys, one of them did not even have a key on it..... Another room for our party had no hot water at all, and the third room had curtains which did not blackout the light & a window which did not open properly, also in this room was a plug in airfreshner to hide something, but that was just as smelly! Traffic & train noise makes it impossible to sleep - on our first night there were repairs to the railway tracks opposite the hotel at 3am that lasted an hour. The dated furniture & room decor is horrendous, my advice - strip the rooms out, look at the Premier Inn & Travelodge formula, no clutter, basic rooms - works as successful brands & people buy into it as they know what to expect!! The food service staff urgently need training as dinner & breakfast was just utter choas, the selection over the 2 days differed. Orange juice on day 2 was a pour yourself orange out of the carton!! It was from a dispenser the previous day.... The F&B manager(it said his title on his badge) on duty showed no leadership & has no finesse to his service skills either. Having said that, the food at dinner was lovely.

All in all, avoid, an expensive hotel for what you get, and certainly not a place for a peaceful sleep. Reminded us of Fawlty Towers!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms get traffic and train noise. Back facing rooms also get train noise. There is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Good Evening
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and if you would like to discuss your stay please contact me on 01838 300 272.
Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is built in Victorian times and is full of character. It is ideally located and is a good stop-over for Oban, Fort William Glencoe and Loch Lomond.

Joan the General Manager was very friendly, enthusiastic and keen to please her guests.

Rooms - clean and comfortable, nice shower, small LCD TV, tea and coffee.

Restaurant - food was amazing!!! New menu recently introduced and good choice, steaks, hamburgers, venison etc. All local produce and the one Rosette was well deserved. You will not be disappointed!

Breakfast - all buffet with good selection, all self-service. Bacon, sausage, haggis, beans, scrambled and fried eggs. Staff are very friendly with a good sense of humour. It is very busy but the staff do a good job.

The hotel is pet friendly and there are nice grounds at the back to walk the dog.

There is limited parking at the hotel, but additional spaces across the road.

We enjoyed our one night stay and would return.


Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your valued and positive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Crianlarich Hotel. Your comments will be conveyed to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Must say we expected more for the Best Western label and the price. Good points, location right in the centre of Crianlarich, free wifi and pc if needed, plenty of hot water, clean towels and bedding, the staff were friendly if somewhat disorganised and the breakfast was reasonable although they kept running out of things, some completely on our last day. The bad points, we were on the back of the hotel so escaped the frequent traffic noise, but suffered the infrequent trains trundling past. Someone had a dog in the next room barking at 7:00am in the morning so no lie in. The rooms were very tired and well worn dated , the mattress maybe even older according to my wife, the en-suite was compact to be polite, with cupboard type doors and again a tired plastic decor. The public areas were a little better and more comfortable, but the general feeling is we wouldn't return. I have worked in the hospitality industry and with three staff taking our £250plus off us when we checked out, not one asked how our stay was. Just not done, get the impression want your money and don't care what they delivered.
Have stayed in the area before at Ewich, which was unfortunately booked up this time, there's simply no comparison.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrism25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on you stay,
We are always looking to improve our service and your comments have been
passed to our staff members.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Joan Peden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
13.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
15.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
18.8 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
407 reviews
20.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel

Property: Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing