We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great festive break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Certificate of Excellence
wishaw
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great festive break”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

just returned from a 3 night festive break at the crianlarich hotel, reception friendly, fast and efficient. staff friendly and very helpful at all times. management visible at all times of the day. food was excellent. compared to the silly money being demanded by other hotels with no extras provided for christmas festivities this was excellent value. Room was clean and very comfortable, crianlarich is an excellent central location for Oban, Fort William, the National Park and Glencoe ski-ing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your excellent comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your festive break with us and we certainly enjoyed looking after everybody who stayed with us. Look out for our 2013 Festive Breaks which will be on or website very soon.!! - Very best wishes for the coming year. Regards, John Carpendale - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    287
    141
    51
    34
See reviews for
152
450
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I booked a 2 night groupon stay at this hotel for my husbands birthday. Checked in on 21st December. I was slightly worried about booking a 3 star as we tend to only book 4 star hotels, I need not have worried, we loved it!
As the weather outside was horrible the whole 2 days we were there, we just stayed in the hotel the whole time sitting around on the comfy couches next to the warm fire in the dinning room, this was one of our favourite pastimes while at the Crianlarich. The other favourite pastime was eating the food, we loved the food everything we tried it was amazing! My husband especially loved the apple tart tatin.
We booked the king room and found the room spacious and clean and comfortable. The king bed was two singles pushed together however this didn't bother us.
All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looneysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments and am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us here in Crianlarich. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It was a second visit this year, even later than the last time! Brilliant place to break up a journey, we have used it as convienient stopping point when travelling North and is so much nicer than your average motorway lodges for the same price! It was fab to fall into a comfy bed and we were served a late breakfast by very kind and helpful staff, we had a bacon roll and after the long journey through what felt like the antarctic at times ( slightly iced/snowed up!! ) and a few hours sleep it tasted like the ultimate bacon roll - just delish!!
Winter tyres proved themselves and Volvo anti skid system, luckily it was dark so we could not the drops off the road........
We will definately be using this hotel in the same way again and will recommend it to friends, family and business associates with complete confidence.

Room Tip: At 02.00 on a frozen adventure any room is a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaJoyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your much vlalued positive feedback regarding your recent stay with in Crianlarich.......albeit for only a few hours!! I hope to see you soon in the warmth and daylight! Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

In November we had our second stay at this hotel this year.
As before we were very pleased with the facilities, staff and food.
We were hill walking for a few days and it's great to see that they don't bat an eye when you turn up in walking kit, sometimes wet and a bit muddy.
I paid a bit more for a room with a "mountain view" and some more space - well worth it.
I'm sure we will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for valued feed back and am delighted you enjoyed the hotel and the hospitality we provided. We are committed to providing a high level of service at every opportunity and it is much appreciated when guests provide such positive comments. We look forward to meeting you again very soon. Have a fantastic Christmas & New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elderslie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

On walking in, the Crianlarich hotel showed great promise. Nice reception area, friendly staff and nice ambience. The good feeling slowly drained as we walked up the stairs however. The decoration is very dated and tired looking for a hotel of this rating and walking into our room we were very disappointed with what we faced. Small, dingy and depressing is putting it lightly. Random mismatched furniture, tiny window and harsh lighting are but a few of the 'characteristics' we had to live with. Being that Crianlarich is pretty much in the middle of nowhere you have to travel to do things so spending time in your room with your feet up is inevitable between times. This could not be achieved as our room was simply too soul destroying. Not happy

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first before you move your stuff in as I do not wish ours (room 234) upon anybo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_A734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you valued comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality received from my staff and am very proud of the way they look after each and every guest. I apologise regarding the quality of room you were allocated during your stay but can can assure you that we are currently refurbishing a number of bedrooms during the quieter Winter season and hope that you will return to see the huge improvements. We shall also be refurbishing our conservatory restaurant which will result in a better ambience and contemporary feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful Has good ambience- very relaxed Breakfast good. Child and dog friendly Rooms comfortable and functional. Excellent location good stopping point for road or rail journeys heading North

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren1ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your valued feedback regarding your recent stay and we are delighted you felt it was excellent value. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed for four nights for our first vacation in three years. Overall, it was okay, but things grated on our nerves by the end of our stay. The service from the receptionists was excellent; we hadn't planned what to do, we'd decided to make it up as the urge struck us, so the receptionists were excellent at helping us with that. They also cheerfully and quickly got us anything we needed (iron & board, etc). As far as service, my only complaint has to do with the last set of servers we had, our final night and morning (they had one set of servers come in and work one evening and then the next morning, and then that evening a different set of servers took over). Even with them, my only complaint is minor: they were anxious, and too quick to clear away plates, so it was less calm than I'd have liked.

We had what they call a "small double" room, which appeared to be a single room that they'd plopped a double bed in in place of the single: the headboard (nailed to the wall) was sized for a single bed. The shower stall was tiny, so we had to assume unnatural poses to lather our shampoo, etc. Shaving my legs was all sorts of fun. The water pressure was low, so it took longer to rinse. The lights aren't very bright - ironing was definitely best done in the day light. It's a really basic room, though clean and adequate. We were pleased with the number of free power sockets available for our electronics. There's a bench under part of the dresser, making a vanity, but I couldn't actually sit on the bench with my legs under the dresser - the two are too close together in height. I did really miss having any semblance of a table to sit at, and wound up sending my post cards once I'd gotten home.

This property has a breakfast dining area, and separately, a restaurant and bar for lunch and dinner. There are also a number of common areas with comfortable couches and chairs. The breakfast was a buffet, and had plenty on it to satisfy each of us (I like a hot breakfast; hubby likes a cold breakfast). The tables in both the breakfast and dinner areas were too close together; the people at the next table could be part of your party. The restaurant is filled with taxidermied animal heads (deer, mostly), which we both found a bit disturbing. The menu's fairly small, so in our three nights of dinners (we ate before arriving the first night), we each only had two different meals (we had the same thing the third night that we'd had the first night). The first two nights were pleasant enough, but the last night and last morning our tables were badly located in the thoroughfares, combined with anxious servers, so at the end our dining experiences were less calm and pleasant than they could have been.

The West Highlands of Scotland are absolutely spectacular, and I definitely recommend seeing them to anyone who enjoys stunning landscape. If, however, you need a bustling metropolis to have a good time, this is not for you: Crianlarich is a village. We were thrilled with the sparse population in the area.

We chose Best Western Crianlarich because it came up on Groupon, is in an area we wanted to visit, and it is close to a train station (you can easily walk from the train station to the hotel, as we did). Relying on public transport in that area does get expensive quickly, though, just as a warning. Buses and trains run very infrequently, too, so you should probably look into that before you go and plan your days ahead of time if you aren't driving. It's about six miles along the West Highland Trail to the north tip of Loch Lomond, so you'll likely want to take a bus or train that way to get you started, unless you're a really keen walker. It is very conveniently located for the West Highland Trail and the West Highland Rail Line, both of which offer spectacular scenery and I wholeheartedly recommend.

We might stay here again, but not for more than two nights, I think; after that we got bored with the restaurant offerings (and the carcasses watching us eat), and there really are no other options in walking distance. They welcome walkers, and I will whole-heartedly recommend it for someone just staying one night. The room was too cramped, especially the shower, to want to have a vacation there, though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthernMyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your valued comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, due to the age of the building. being a traditional coaching inn, our rooms vary in size. I have taken your comments to the management team and will look very closely at your observations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Crianlarich very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
13.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
15.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
18.8 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
406 reviews
20.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel

Property: Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing