We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop-over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Certificate of Excellence
SW England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice stop-over”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great place to stop over on way to or from the western isles. It's about one hour from Oban so convenient if you have a late arrival on the ferry.

Very reasonable price for bed and breakfast, with some family rooms, and staff are very helpful. After a restful night and a pleasant breakfast head refreshed to the car for the long drive home!

Room Tip: Reasonable rates for family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSmithSWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your valued and positive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the BEST WESTERN Crianlarich Hotel. Your comments will be conveyed to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    287
    141
    51
    34
See reviews for
152
450
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stopped on our way back to London from the highlands receptionist was very welcoming room was very tired but clean so ok for one night Restraunt was awful sent two stakes back which they blamed on there suppliers so hey ho went to bed hungry,
Breakfast was buffet style with two waiting staff who simply couldnt care less just wanted you out of the place asked for butter as there was none on the table and they just threw 3 satchets on the table no dish.
At £85.00 a night it wasnt the best value and although clean and tidy it misses the boat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mronnoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night in May. I was pleasantly surprised by the price offered and phoned to see if they could accomodate my car and boat in the car park. They could not have been more helpful, offering to reserve a space outside the front door. The minute we arrived staff were helping us park, and they had allocated us a room where we could see the boat outside the window. They even said they would get the person on night duty to keep an eye on it, although it didn't look to me like the type of area where there would be problems.

The dining room was well worth a visit just to look at the decor, not to mention the brilliant selection and quality of food available.

We really enjoyed our brief stay, and would have loved more time to explore the area round about.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your valued comments regarding your recent stay with us. I have just taken on the role of general manager today and will discuss our shortfalls with the the relevant departments to ensure we improve our service and quality standards as a priority. I hope you will consider stayin with us in the future and see a vast improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stopped here for a single night while on business. Were pleasant welcome. Room was a little dated but clean and the carpets on the corridors were a bit worn. Place was busy and service at my evening meal was a bit slow. food was excellent but I could have done with a bit more volume!.
Buffet breakfasts are not my cup of tea, but at least I was in sharp and so it was still fresh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Robin W

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I am pleased we could provide a home away from home during your business trip.

Kind Regards

Andrea Paton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights en route to a wedding on the Kintyre peninsula - I have sped past here many times and was pleasantly surprised to find the hotel staff welcoming, very helpful. Very good accomodation and excellent meals (breakfast and dinner). Great value as it was mid week and cheaper than the Youth Hostel nearby. We will return!

Room Tip: Request room on the back of the hotel - a bit quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfBobSYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for such a positive and delightful review following your visit to us.
We do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Andrea Paton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

we were doing the west highland way this year and got absolutely soaked one afternoon so we gave up and my husband and 13 year old daughter hitched a lift to this hotel where a member of staff , the barman, i think, then gave them a lift back to where me and my 2 sons were waiting and picked us all up and then took us to the b and b where we were staying. we weren't even staying in the hotel but they were so nice to us that we decided we would go there for dinner that night and we had a delicious meal in their very lovely restaurant. the food was great and the staff were really good. the same chap even picked us up to take us to the restaurant and the delightful receptionist, Joan drove us back! they were really just incredibly kind and accommodating and i cannot recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for such a lovely review. I remember your family well as I was on reception when you arrived soaking wet after a day on the West Highland Way and certainly we could not leave your family out in the cold.

It was a pleasure to see you all again the evening and I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and service at the hotel as it was a pleasure to have you.

Kind Regards

Andrea Paton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Still on the West Highland Way so, once again arrived very wet.
The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming, the drying room for our gear was excellent.
Disappointed to get a room with a shower rather than a bath.
The room was average, perhaps a bit dated. It felt a bit cramped but was clean, warm and comfortable.
The bar area was very nice with lots of comfortable sofas etc.
Dinner was OK but a bit pretentious and seemed expensive. Some of the food combinations didn't quite work (e.g. Venison with chocolate sauce).
Breakfast was poor, the worst that we had on the West Highland Way. Porridge was not properly cooked, bacon was overcooked and the eggs had been kept warm for too long.
This hotel would have been scored very good but it was let down by the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donbeshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercrianlarich, General Manager at Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased that you found our team welcoming and friendly during your stay especially after a wet and cold day walking the West Highland Way.

Please be assured I will discuss your comments regarding breakfast with our Head Chef. We do find due to the amount of walkers and active guests we have staying a hot buffet is more popular however I appreciate there is always room for improvement and as such customer feedback is invaluable.

We do hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the future if you are walking in the area.

Kind Regards

Andrea Paton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crianlarich
13.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
15.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
18.8 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
406 reviews
20.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel

Property: Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Address: Main Street, Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK20 8RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Crianlarich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crianlarich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish hotel near Glencoe and Loch Lomond. Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel is an award winning, comfortable and well-appointed 36 bedroom, 3-star hotel in Scotland and is uniquely located within easy reach of Glencoe, Loch Lomond, Loch Tay & Killin and Oban & the Western Isles.Built in Victorian times, this independently owned Scottish hotel offers year round special breaks and is a perfect venue for meetings and functions and wedding receptions in Scotland.Wining & dining in our Scottish bar & restaurant. We are pleased to offer dining all day within Highland Lounge which has been awarded an AA rosette, and in our public bar we stock a wide selection of beers, carefully selected wines and award-winning Single Malt Whiskies from traditional Scottish distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Crianlarich
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing