We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location cosy cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Cnoc Famh Grounds in Green
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Judy s
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location cosy cottage”
Reviewed April 20, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Stayed for 5 nights with our family and 2 dogs. Cottage is very well equipped and in a lovely peaceful location surround hills and rivers with Loch Voil nearby
The only thing it didn’t have that would have been useful was an ice box
My husband and son enjoyed having fishing literally at the end of the garden
Our 2 dogs were very interested in the sheep and ducks and the geese - it certainly kept them entertained! A determined dog may be able to squeeze out though the fence - garden enclosed but some gaps
We ate twice at Mhor 84 - excellent food and very friendly and relaxed
Enjoyed cosy nights playing cards in front of the log fire
The WiFi seemed to work very well but there is no signal for EE but my husband had a great signal for his O2 phone
Would definitely return to cnoc famh

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relax”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in October 2017

A wonderful place to stay, quiet and relaxing and no light pollution at night if you want to see the stars.
Everything you need you need is there. Plenty of room and it’s all clean and tidy. The log burner is fantastic. Heavy rain can be a bit noisy on the velux windows, we used ear plugs so not a problem.
Plenty of walking routes in the area and lots of wildlife to see.
More than happy to return and to recommend this as a place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing Cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed December 6, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The location of this cottage is breath taking with views from every window. The cottage is well equipped and very cosy whatever the weather. We had a great stay here and would definitely be trying to get back to explore more of this great location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A quaint and relaxing hidden gem!”
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stunning location at the head of Loch Voil. We were looking for a peaceful, relaxing location that's dog friendly, set in the middle of the wildlife and relaxing tranquillity of the Scottish countryside. And we got it all with Cnoc Famh. Lovely little place, and local towns and villages not too far to drive to either. We will definitely be back for a longer stay next time. Nothing will beat sitting by the fire after a long days walking the dog, with a wee dram in Cnoc Famh!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2016
Thanks for the feedback Tim and good to hear you enjoyed staying at Cnoc Famh Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane_Plum...
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, fantastic cottage”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was one of the best holidays we've had. Set in simply stunning surroundings, the cottage has everything you could want, and we walked for miles. Wildlife was wonderful - our only complaint was about the midges, but we stayed inside for the offending times.

Wonderful cottage, wonderful location. We'll visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scenic vistas right outside your door”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a cute, comfortable cottage with beautiful views. It is located ideally near hiking, biking, and all sorts of other outdoor activities yet close enough for an easy drive to Stirling. We were also able to take a fun day trip to Edinburgh via the train at Stirling. It is a short trip from the house to the ruins of Balquhidder church where Rob Roy is buried and the scenic trail that leads to Creag an Tuirc and its panoramic, jaw dropping view of Loch Voil (and you can easily pick out Cnoc Famh from there!) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cnoc Famh!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boxsoffro...
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning location.”
Reviewed February 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2015
8
people found this review helpful

We (two adults 3 kids) stay here every other year and love it every time. It is a cosy home that sits away from its neighbours but not isolated, shadowed by the hills and close to its own stretch of the river Balvaig where the trout still seem to elude me! If you're looking for something where you can breathe real air, be stunned by the views, enjoy a walk as far as you dare and eat good local produce then this is for you.......I would rather not recommend it to anyone as its too good to be shared.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing