We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary weekend”
Review of Monachyle Mhor

Monachyle Mhor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $204
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary weekend”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A perfect weekend retreat to celebrate our anniversary - arrived early, left the bags at reception, had some glorious hearty warming soup and Mhor bread and headed off to the hills. The weather was kind and after 4 hours or so we returned to check in. The service was just perfect - chilled champagne and flowers (pre-ordered) awaited us in the lovely room, which was hi-tech but homely and so comfortable. Relaxed and perhaps a wee bit tipsy we went for out evening meal. Every course was a revelation - such lovely flavours and attention to detail. The restaurant service was perfect, attentive, but not "in your face" and completely non-pretentious. No hesitation in recommending the restaurant or hotel - it lived up to, and exceeded our expectations. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    16
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just soup - but delicious”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We drove as far as the hotel as the views were magnificent today. Scotland at its best. We weren't very hungry so opted for soup - which came with delicious Mohr homemade bread, butter and chilled tap water - as we wanted. The soup was fantastic, pity we hadn't room for a meal. For tow people - came to £11. No extra charges - very fair.

I saw round some of the rooms - will be coming back for a special weekend

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank labelledamesansmerci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food, great location, good service”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went there for a significant birthday of my partners. The place is in ideal settings at the end of a long single track road. We arrived on time, and the restaurant where not even put out when we found out the rest of our party where going to be an hour late! The food was excellent, everything was cooked as it should be, tasted delicious and we even had dessert and coffee outside as it was a nice day, I didn't even think it that expensive I really cant fault this establishment at all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ksmith38a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food , so enjoyed”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our second visit to Mhor. , our first being 4 years ago over Christmas which was a delight.
This time it was an Anniversary night away for just 1 night Dinner , Bed and Breakfast.
We were in the coach house room which is really lovely, spacious and open with large bathroom and shower with steam room option, very luxurious.
Dinner did not disappoint, Amuse buches in the little bar delicious with a well made cocktail and then a very well paced dinner, split with tasty extra treats between courses and finishing with coffee in the lounge.
Crab panacotta was fresh and full of flavour and textures and my main of Pork so flavoursome with punchy flavours and lovely tastes of sauces which complimented the meat perfectly.
Really good to see Tom dotting about the place this morning , this is what really makes this place stand out, a head chef and owner who is very involved.
A really lovely stay , thanks so much

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieGr58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A rare combination of best quality and relaxed informality”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

You make an effort to reach this delightful, remote oasis of Scottish charm nestling above the junction of Lochs Voil and Doine. The single track road from Balquhidder needs some concentration but the delights of the scenery lure you onward to your destination.

Under the direction of Tom Lewis and his family, Monachyle Mhor as become both an outstanding country house hotel and a fine restaurant. My wife and I have visited several times, the most recent being in June. The well balanced menu reflects the best of local Scottish produce. Many of the vegetables are grown on their own land. The wine list is well chosen and reasonable value.

The friendly relaxed atmosphere seems to make guests feel part of a club and we often have ended up in conversation with fellow diners. Staff are courteous and knowledgeable. the food is perfectly served and we always end the visit feeling pleased with the experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pabnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monachyle Mhor also viewed

Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Monachyle Mhor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing