We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and welcoming”
Review of Mhor 84 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mhor 84 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Balquhidder B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Cosy and welcoming”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stopped off at Mohr84 for breakfast on the way to camp on loch Voil. The waitress who welcomed us was friendly and professional, the breakfast was excellent - especially the sausages and bread - toilets were immaculate and the atmosphere was comfortable and relaxing. I hope I get the chance to visit again. Well done staff and management

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank colinken65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    88
    25
    12
    1
See reviews for
68
133
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We're fans of the Mhor family's other hotel / restaurants, so our expectations were high for this trip. We were not disappointed - Mhor 84 is stylish, relaxed and friendly, with great food and drinks. We only stayed for one night but left feeling that we'd had a real holiday - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent one night at Mhor 84 but could easily have stayed longer. It has a quirky/cool vibe and is just what it missing from Scotland's more northerly Hotels. Not a sign of Shortbread or Tartan, thank goodness.

The menu was really nice and they also had a kids menu. We had lunch there - BLAT for me and Ham/Cheese toastie for my son both which were lovely. Breakfast next day, Eggs Benedict, again really nice though the Sour Dough toast was maybe a bit too crunchy.

My son enjoyed the games room - Pool table, board games and Wii. This gave my friend and i peace for an hour or so to catch up over a few drinks.

The room was nice, fantastic view and really comfy bed. The bathroom hadn't been refurbished which was the only negative, it was fully functioning though so it was purely negative from an aesthetic point of view.

There are so many places to see nearby, we had a great BBQ just down the road on the shores of Loch Voil on a beautiful sunny evening, Callander isn't far and is a nice town. There are many other Lochs within a few miles. A really gorgeous area.

Oh, and finally - the staff are all really friendly and helpful. Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicMcl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Popped In for dinner on way back from up north . Excellent food - reasonable vegetarian selection which was also good . I had the burger which was excellent. Will certainly stop in again when next pass by.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairreviewer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time to try this new venture for the renowned chef Tom Lewis. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly helpful young lady who seated us and delivered menus. A couple things were sold out but our selection from the available menu was promptly served and delicious. I would particularly recommend the mussels in a cider sauce which was exceptional.

Prices are reasonable, the decor simple but cleverly and tastefully done.

I wish them every success, it would be well deserved.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pabnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I booked Mhor 84 for a night away and would totally recommend it in every way!!
From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the staff were just wonderful, really welcoming, friendly and helpful. The food was absolutely devine; both dinner and breakfast and reasonably priced. Loved the shabby chic eclectic decor and they have done such a good job at renovating it. The rooms are obviously still a work in progress with our bathroom needing an upgrade but this did not deter in any way our enjoyment of our trip. Very comfy bed!! We are already talking about returning very soon. Thanks to all the staff for our lovely trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at Mhor 84 for one night, via an Itison coupon, and had a great time. The staff are friendly and the rooms are fine - clean and basic, although no toiletries at all in the bathroom apart from tiny bar of (albeit lovely) soap. Maybe if you stay only one night, you aren't expected to wash your hair! The bed was comfy and we were moved to a room at the front due to a cancellation which could be noisy if the outside area was full, and there is also some noise from the road - but this is a motel, so to be expected. We paid extra for dinner and breakfast (had just a room-only deal) and it was lovely - well-cooked, generous portions etc although very long wait for breakfast even though not many other diners. We weren't in a hurry and as we were outside in the morning sun, not a problem. Would go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieKateGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balquhidder
5.6 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
534 reviews
9.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
11.6 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
653 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
894 reviews
12.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mhor 84 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mhor 84 Hotel

Property: Mhor 84 Hotel
Address: A84, Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8NY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balquhidder
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balquhidder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mhor 84 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mhor 84 Hotel Balquhidder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing