We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food,great location”
Review of Monachyle Mhor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monachyle Mhor
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balquhidder
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2009

The hotel is situated in the midst of the Trossachs National Park on the shores of Loch Voil ; a tranquil and very picturesque spot. Just down the road is the staring point for the ascent of the mighty Ben More and Stobinian peaks , both around 4000 feet. The standard of service in the hotel is top notch, the food is of gourmet quality (6 courses, fixed price), the rooms while well eqiuiped and spotless are a bit variable. The overall package is on the pricey side ; but you don't get countryside or food like this in many places. Definately worth the treat!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacKilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 557 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2009

I stayed with my wife in mid-September for two nights in one of the luxury rooms.

Our initial impressions were of a fantastic room with a double bath, twin basins and large steam room. The bed was huge and there was a great contemporary look to the room. The only downside was a lack of bath salts to compliment the Sedbergh shower gel, shampoo and hand soaps.

The meal on the first night started well, though it was seriously spoilt by a group of intrusively loud Australians who were not dining and were sitting in the bar drinking. It appears that they were friends of the owner/ staff as we later saw them dining in what appeared to be a separate room in the courtyard. Whilst I have no objection to people enjoying themselves, Monachyle Mohr is not a public bar and this is certainly not a place where hoodies are acceptable evening attire in the bar/ restaurant. The noise was so great from the bar that we struggled to talk to each other during our meal.

Other than the noise spoiling our evening, the food was very good and we enjoyed the little touches that one would expect from a place of this calibre.

Breakfast the next morning was very good and we particularly enjoyed the scones and marmalade.

Our second evening's dinner was far more enjoyable than the first evening's as our noisy friends were a lot quieter in the bar than the night before and far better dressed- we hypothesised that a fellow guest may have complained about them the night before.

One thing we did notice was that the quality of the cooking on the second night was superior to the first and had moved up a level. We guessed that Monday may be chef's night off? In addition, the breakfast on Wednesday morning was better presented than on Tuesday morning.


The housekeeping staff were very friendly and the standard of service from them was also excellent . The general waiting staff were professional and courteous, though we felt that the restaurant in particular would benefit from a strong head waiter to cover the sommelier duties and take charge of the dining room. In addition the hotel would benefit from a visible general manager as the check-in and check-out were a little underwhelming.

Our overall impression of our stay was of a great hotel in a wonderful location. Given the 5* prices we felt slightly let down by a few easily correctable issues. We would definitely return, though next time we would be inclined to try Ardeonaig in order to be able to compare the two establishments.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O_Sooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed in a tailored courtyard room. This was only type of room left. This was not as luxurious as I had expected, but it was comfortable. It was nice having a sitting area.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. It was nice not to feel too full at the end of a meal. Although I do wonder if people with larger appetites are left hungry at the end of the meal,as the portions are beautifully laid out but are very small. The breakfast was delicious too. Everything was very fresh.
My only complaint was that the room was quite cold in the morning, as the heating appeared to be on a timer that didn't come on. It is an old building and so it was quite chilly.
If it is dry there are lovely walks to go on.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zed1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

What a spot. This hotel is in the perfect position if you want to experience the Scottish Highlands, next to a loche in the middle of nowhere with plenty of walking options. The suite was large, clean and nicely decorated with a warm feel to suit the area. But the outstanding thing was the food, it would have to be some of the best combination of produce I have experienced in years. (and I eat out a lot) The service at the restaurant was a litlle stuffy but the staff at the hotel were really friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this place for a romantic getaway and/or to experience the highlands.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WOOLLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Monachyle Mhor is down a single track road by the side of a beautiful loch. Our room was small and cozy, clean and comfortable with natural and organic toiletries. Care had been taken in providing fresh milk, home baked shortbread and a wide selection of teas.
The great food is served by a sometimes less friendly South African staff in stylish surroundings. The small bar is a good for a pre-dinner drink and fantastic canapes though gets crowded quickly which can cause a log jam in rush hour!
This is a great hotel and we would really recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandEKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We booked for a week-end break, the location was superb, the room wonderful, the staff helpful and attentive and the food excellant. Our trip was spoiled however not by the staff or service but by a fellow guest who wrote his negative review " on his laptop during dinner". We too were delayed being seated as the restuarant had in effect overbooked for the number of available tables and the staff on duty that night. They were very apologetic and brought us a complimentary glass of champagne as compensation. Once we were seated the service and food were faultless, the grouse which I had as a maincourse was the best I had ever tasted. I can fully undersand the frustration of my fellow guest at not receiveing the whine (sic) list but his abrupt and sarcastic manner to the staff at both dinner and breakfast created a thotoughly unpleasant atmosphere for everyone. If you believe you are the most important person in the world and others don't share that view you are bound to be disappointed. You can't always get it 100% right and this was one of these nights but you will live a lot happier life if you concentrate on the positives rather than seek fault with everything that happens. So listen to what others say but take it with a pinch of salt. I recommend you go to Monachyle Mhor and try it for yourself if your glass is half full rather than half empty you should have a great time and unlike us won't have to put up with "laptop man".

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pluscarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Couple of negative comments on this site-dont be put off. I would suggest a need to chill out and relax in the amazing landscape. Whats the hurry?
Arrived thru amazing scenery to helpful staff. Lovely room with everything we needed.
Out for a walk before dinner-lots of advice, leaflets and in-room info on where to go/walk/golf/fish/what to do/ etc. In room spa available.
Lovely liesurly dinner in conservatory-bar staff and wait staff attentive and helpful.
Slept soundly. Delicious breakfast that set us up for the day (left with freshly baked scones that were surplus to requirements). Packed lunches available.
Plan to return if we can. Scotland is an amazing and beautiful country, felt privilaged to see this part of it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balquhidder
23.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
15.6 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
439 reviews
10.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
434 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
13.3 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monachyle Mhor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monachyle Mhor

Address: Balquhidder, Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balquhidder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balquhidder
Price Range: $119 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monachyle Mhor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Monachyle Mhor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monachyle Mhor Hotel Lochearnhead
Monachyle Mhor Callander
Monachyle Mhor Balquhidder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing