We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monachyle Mhor
Nearby Hotels
Clachan Cottage Hotel(Lochearnhead)(Great Value!)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$169
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel(Crianlarich)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$101
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$101
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Achray House Hotel(St. Fillans)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Roman Camp Hotel(Callander)
$310
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveler rating
411
106
42
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
106
42
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roomfeature roomsingle track roadwine listworth every pennyspecial occasiontom lewisamuse bouchehuge bathhigh standardfriendly servicethe main housepassing placeslog firethe barnloch voilsitting area
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 582 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Nice secluded hotel well off the beaten track. We got our stay here as a wedding gift and it was fantastic. Room was unique with its decor and the way it was laid out. Had a look at other rooms and everyone is laid out differently. Staff were welcoming and friendly on arrival as were the bar staff but the service in the restaurant wasnt as good as you should be expecting for the price your paying but staff seem to be mostly new for the season so maybe being to picky. We had a room to the front of the hotel and the views in the morning were brilliant. Would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a romantic getaway for a night or two.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_SandraGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was our second visit and we loved both. A real bolt hole away from the hassle of day to day life. The food was great with a strong focus on locally sourced and own grown products. The staff were friendly and helpful. We love the view from the restaurant and it has a really romantic feel in the evening with great lighting. We have been in two different rooms but our favourite is the one with the two baths. We have already booked for next year as a weekend here has become a real highlight in our diary. The Mhor fish shop and bakery in Calendar also worth a visit. My only negative comment would be the size of the bar, it has a fabulous atmosphere but is so small that it can comfortably only take a few people, although we have always been lucky and managed to get a seat. Overall it is expensive but has a real authentic and special feel, and we think its worth it for a special weekend away.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank IH97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was our 2nd time at the Mhor (my wife's third) and were so looking forward to it...but it was sadly a rather disappointing experience all round. After checking into our courtyard room, which was nice, we noticed the room information was tired and out of date - wifi, TV and breakfast info were all incorrect. We then entered the restaurant and the rug on the way in and the carpet were both looking very shabby and tired since the last time we were there. We then noticed the whole entry and bar area adjacent to the kitcken was full of quite acrid cooking smoke and not the most relaxing beginning to our evening.

We then sat at the bar for what was the most uncomfortable pre-dinner drink I have ever had. Within seconds of coming in, three dishes were smashed in the dining room or kitchen, waiting staff were running everywhere, in what is a small area making us wondering where the fire was! When we did order a gin and tonic and rum and ginger beer we were frustratingly asked at least 6 different questions about that simple order by the waiter/barman, which was annoying to say the least...how hard can two drinks be?

We got to our seat and ordered and when the starters arrived, the pork I ordered was superb but my wife's scallop was just that...a scallop, and a very small one at that. We fully appreciate hand dived scallops are expensive but when I get an expansive dish of pork and my wife finishes her starter in a single bite, its hardly an equal dining experience. We mentioned this and as a result were given and additional intermediate course of braised ox cheek, which to be fair was incredible. The mains and deserts were also very good, but has to be said the piece of lemon tart for desert was the smallest I have ever seen served in any restaurant. And so we returned to our room.

A 3am three dogs right outside began to bark...and bark...and bark. It was ridiculous and no-one seemed to go and see to them. We eventually got back to sleep, until the barking started again at 7am and carried on for a further 30 minutes.

So to breakfast and while it was very nice, it was rather small. The toast was half pieces of bread and gone in half a bite. We asked for more twice and it never arrived. The scone was lovely and tiny, the egg was overcooked...and tiny. The portion of haggis and bacon were also really small. It was all just a little bit mean and felt close but really not quite there.

When we checked out we mentioned the dogs barking...and the chap at reception just smiled and then went into a story about the dog being a bit odd since she had pups. An apology was what I was actually looking for, not a sob story about what was an incredibly noisy labrador...not to mention the other three which were barking! If you have or allow dogs in your hotel, you really need to have them under control.

Maybe we just got an off night but the Mhor had slipped very far from what we remembered first time round and has gotten a little shabby, a little mean, a little disorganised and not at all relaxing. To be fair, they can still cook a mean dinner....but not good enough to justify the price-tag, journey or potential variableness of the experience. We wont be back.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Two nights of perfect relaxation in a really special gem of a Hotel hidden away in one of Scotland's most pretty Glens.

A special thank you to the staff who made the stay very personal and could not have been more helpful and friendly. The food is excellent and deserves even wider recognition. We enjoyed a feature room that was stylish but also warm and cosy.

A great stay, and we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leithen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Both myself and my boyfriend stayed over the Easter weekend. What an amazing place, a beautiful hotel with breath taking scenery. All the staff were lovely, and really helpful. The food and drink was wonderful. Can't wait to come back, loved it!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mashmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews