We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great boutique hotel”
Review of Monachyle Mhor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monachyle Mhor
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balquhidder
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the feature rooms in the main hotel - a corner room with a great view and perfect for relaxing in before dinner. Dinner was superb - great seasonal and local Perthshire produce expertly cooked and beautifully presented. The staff were friendly, attentive and well trained. Overall, Monachyle Mhor is one of the best small hotels we have stayed in anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Monachyle Mhor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 551 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

About as good as it gets - Excellent food wine service and location. Our room was spectacular as are the views and the commitment to the countryside. The hosts Tom and Lisa and their staff are very welcoming. Lots to explore with waterfalls lochs and hills in Rob Roy country. We' ll be back

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Trip advisor needs an option for "good". We spent a night here in August 2013, we'd planned on staying 2 but in retrospect 1 night was fine.

The food was very good, some of the staff were excellent, others were quite poor.Our room (one of the most expensive, a feature room) was nice, but a little tired and could benefit from dusting more thoroughly. Bathroom was excellent. Annoyingly one window had an ineffectual blind so the room was quite bright from 4am onwards.

What was noticeably lacking was any sort of proper lounge area. Normally in hotels of this size and price bracket, there is a sizeable lounge for sitting in before and after dinner. There is one smallish room set up more like a waiting room. So really once dinner is over there is little option than to retire to your room. This is fine if you're only there for a night but if staying longer this would be annoying. Additionally this would be rubbish in the winter when it's nice to have the option of sitting in a comfortable lounge in front of a fire.

In conclusion, a bit of a mixed bag, some very good bits, let down by some mediocre bits. I'm not sure that we'd return, particularly considering the cost.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OwlMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Visited for lunch with Loch Lomond seaplane for a special present. I am Scottsh and this is a very beautiful romantic scottish hotel. The service w first class the food was excellent and Jamie the garment was a perfect host. I have read some of the reviews Bogor posting this and I must say some people must be hard to please. I ave travelled extensively and really think the experience I had I up there with the bet of them. St the kind of place where after stopping for lunch I Could av checked in for dinner bed and breakfast the Taff were so welcoming. A credit to scottish hospitality. Ps I also asked to see throoms to which thy obliged and they wer lovely. I will do be back

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmylaw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nothing to shout about here. It is vastly overpriced for what is really only a reasonable quality B&B. Food is average, not bad not great and again too pricey for fairly ordinary quality. The views are nice, but so are many others in Scotland without having to pay a hefty premium.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very impressed by professional service, lovely, romantic atmosphere and stunning scenery!
I would definitely recommend the place to my friends. Food was delicious. Really worth to visit and come back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Spent my 40th birthday here at the beginning of the month. Had a fabulous stay in a feature room that had the look and feel of a New York loft style apartment with amazing views on Loch Voil on your doorstep. The hotel is in an idyllic location and you truly feel away from the hustle and bustle of city life yet you're just a hour and half from Glasgow. The rooms are luxurious and the private steam was an added surprise! The food is amazing, from the canapés with your per dinner drink to the 4 courses that follow you will not be disappointed! Breakfast is another delight, the mini freshly baked scones that arrive with your tea or coffee as you wait your meal are enough to get the sleepiness person out out bed! All the staff are excellent

There's some lovely walks all within easy reach of the hotel - the one off to the back of Rob Roy's Grave in Balquidder is amazing - you climb a relatively easy path and at the top you are rewarded with the most stunning view of Loch Voil.

A truly amazing stay 5*

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarabel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balquhidder
15.6 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
433 reviews
23.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
426 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
13.3 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monachyle Mhor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monachyle Mhor

Address: Balquhidder, Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balquhidder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Balquhidder
Price Range: $122 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monachyle Mhor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Monachyle Mhor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monachyle Mhor Hotel Lochearnhead
Monachyle Mhor Callander
Monachyle Mhor Balquhidder, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing