We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful lunch”
Review of The Golden Larches

The Golden Larches
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Golden Larches is a privately owned restaurant/coffee shop with rooms which lies within the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National park, on the A84 tourist route between Stirling and Lochearnhead.In this stunning location, the Golden Larches proprietors, Alistair and Alida Buchan and all their staff offer personal attention to service in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. With comfortable rooms and some of the best Scottish food available, we will ensure that you have a memorable visit.The Golden Larches at Balquihidder Station is the perfect location to unwind and explore the outstanding natural beauty of Scotland. Visit us and enjoy the warm friendly service and modern comforts of thisrestaurant with rooms. Our bedrooms are all individually decorated and have en-suite facilities and our cosy restaurant is ideal after a hard day of walking, shooting, fishing, golfing, cycling, bird watching, motorcycling or just relaxing.We look forward to welcoming you to the Golden Larches
Cockenzie and Port Seton, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delightful lunch”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Excellent lunch at the Golden Larches to break our journey from Fort William to East Lothian. The home-made fishcakes are to die for! Wonderful. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    35
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All you need, clean and friendly!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

It was a great stay, everything in place and well looked after
Will recommend it to all!
Andre and Elize (From South Africa)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Monarch of the glen!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Not just any Sunday......it,s the wife,s birthday...hmmm, so where for lunch. iPad out, google Mhor84, strange menu to say the least, definetly give that a miss. Golden larches...years since I was last there, menu looks appealing, prices reasonable lets go. The title says it all. This was a great choice. Service top notch, premises absolutely spotless, views to die for and more importantly food heaven. When you visit and you should, mixed starter for two is a definite must, followed by two excellent main courses all consumed in front of a log burning stove. Great portions and a dessert menu that I was desperate to try but the waistline problem kicked in just in time. This is a wonderful little place tucked away in the hills. Miss it and weep.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sj1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food & hospitality”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

While I had come to expect tasty meals from B&B's in Scotland, I was quite pleasantly surprised to experience such amazing, home-cooked and fresh food in a beautiful, pastoral setting as I did at The Golden Larches. The menu was varied with many tempting offerings, but as the hostess mentioned the venison came from just "there in the fields", I had to give it a try. Great suggestion on her part as I was most pleased with the quality and taste. Warm hospitality and charming décor topped off a very enjoyable dining experience in rural Scotland. Easy to miss while driving along but well worth the stop. You should check it out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but bit disappointing.”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We stop for lunch and planned to get dinner on way home. However the change of menu along with a couple wee things changed our minds? We asked for well cooked bacon on our roll. It was only well done on outside that you could see! Inside wasn't cooked well at all. I had to cut all the fat off as it was white & slimy instead of cooked&crispy? The soup was delicious as was the roll. However the waitress when serving the drinks picked up the glass & cups around the top where we were all going to drink? Hope her hands were clean!! The fruit scone was ok but not as good as it usually was! No high tea on the menu with only a couple of choices we like for dinner. So I'm afraid we went elsewhere later! Staff very friendly and attentive though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cayeyes9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Larches also viewed

Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Golden Larches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing