We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home-from-home...”
Review of Bay Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balmaha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2008

This charming little B&B is quite possibly the best I've ever stayed in. Warm and welcoming, its owner, Mrs Bates, has pulled out all the stops. As well as beautifully prepared breakfasts and a never-ending supply of scones and pancakes, the accommodation provides a real home-from-home in the scenic Loch Lomond village of Balmaha. Mrs Bates was very helpful in suggesting some great local places to visit and we were really chuffed with her recommendation of the beautiful waterfront restaurant at nearby Lake Menteith. We also found the prices very reasonable, and with a pub just over the road and an outdoor hot tub to boot, what more could you want? This is the perfect place to stay and relax, whether you're tourists for the weekend like us, or looking for a little extra comfort after a hard day's walk on the West Highland Way.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v_wash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, Owner at Bay Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Thank you so very much.

I take great pride in my home & my hospitality and have taken great pleasure reading all your (and others) lovely comments. It makes it all worth while.

Twenty five years in the business & still smiling.

Many thanks once again,

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Bay Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 146 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2008

Arrived at this lovely B &B on the first night of our west highland way. Great place to stay, warm welcome, great choice for breakfast, and a hot tub to relax in after a long day walking. We had dinner in the pub/hotel across the road which was really nice except from the staff. Definately recommend this B&B - oh and be sure to get the packed lunch for the following day :)

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank carolyn321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, Owner at Bay Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Sorry for the delay in response....I've only just recently seen all my lovely reviews.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It really means a lot that people have enjoyed staying with me.

Many thanks,

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

My fiancee and I have now stayed twice at this bed and breakfast.
We were delighted the first time and we were delighted the second.
Although the rooms themselves are excellent, the biggest draw has to be the welcome and treatment during your stay.
Staying here is not like a business arrangement between landlady and guest, but more like going to visit a treasured auntie who, while respectful of privacy, is delighted to have you with her and unable to do enough for you.
Just small civilities that you would not find in big cities - our word was the deposit for the booking, impromptu offers of tea and scones, and a baby gift for my pregnant fiancee almost made us want to hug her on the way out.
If you are in the area, and there are rooms available then you will NOT be disappointed. Beautiful area and a lovely experience.
Very, very good and we will certainly be back

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, Owner at Bay Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

WOW. Thank you so much for your lovely comments - I don't really know what to say. You've left me speechless.

I'm glad you've enjoyed your stays with me over the years & I really appreciate your kind words.

I hope you & the family are well,

Take care & best wishes,

Liz x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We stayed one night in early Sep 07.
On arrival given scones and tea/coffee which was most welcome, although I personally would have preferred tea and coffee facilities in the room.
Sizeable clean bedroom with tv and plenty clothes storage space.
There are en-suite rooms but we could only get a room with a separate bathroom which was adjacent and solely for our use. I have never seen a hotel bathroom so large, clean or have so many toiletries.
Breakfast was traditional (continental was available), good quality and more than enough. Even the "small" portion one of our friends asked for was larger than an average hotel breakfast.
We talked to other guests who were doing the West Highland Way and they said their bunkhouse accommodation was fine.
Location is ideal for the Loch and the West highland Way.
Would recommend to anybody

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, Owner at Bay Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments & I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

I'm happy to say that we now have tea & coffee making facilities in all our rooms.

I hope you are all well,

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

Stayed here on the first night of our West Highland Way walk, arrived to find a small but comfortable and clean room, tea and biscuits when we wanted them, and a good breakfast the following morning. There was also a hot tub available. This was good value accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitorfromBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, Owner at Bay Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Hello,

I cant believe its nearly six years ago & i'm just learning how to use tripadvisor. I'm slowly but surely coming out of the dark ages.

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment - especially as you were the first ones to do so!

Many thanks again & hope your well,

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Outdoor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
3.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Cottage

Address: Balmaha | Loch Lomond, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Balmaha
Price Range: $95 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liz Bates moved to Balmaha in 1986 & has called it home ever since. Shortly after moving she opened up her home as a Bed & Breakfast to weary walkers, tourists, fishermen & anyone who needed a room for the night. Twenty five years later & she's still greeting guests from day one back into her home with tea, scones, home baking & her legendary hospitality - with the welcome addition of a hot tub & a few more mod cons to bring the 200 year Cottage into the 21st century. Along the road she has seen countless things & told many a story, served thousands of breakfasts, baked enough scones for the entire Jubilee celebrations, washed & dried any soggy walkers clothes who turned up on her door, fought of the dreaded midge & made a good few friends - all in the name of Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast and Liz Bates.If you are walking The West Highland Way or visiting the east side of Loch Lomond then you will find Balmaha a lovely village lying at the foot of Conic Hill, which forms part of the West Highland Way Route. The picturesque bay is sheltered and is a perfect haven for sailing and many other water sports. The Village offers many facilities for visitors and walkers and has a large free car park in the centre. Bay Cottage is located opposite The Oak Tree Inn which has a fine reputation for beer and food and is open all year round. At Bay Cottage we welcome walkers, cyclists or anglers and have all the facilities for muddy boots and wet clothing after a long day outdoors. We also have a Hot Tub on the decking which is freely available to all our guests. Costumes and dressing robes are available if you need them. Afternoon tea and home made scones can be served in the conservatory on arrival or after a hard days walking and is included in our bed and breakfast charge. Bay Cottage is a wonderful base for exploring Loch Lomond or visiting the Trossachs with its many miles of cycling and walking routes. We are only 7 miles from Rowardennan and the start point for those wanting to climb Ben Lomond, the most southerly Munro (mountain over 3000ft, 910 metres) in Scotland. We also have drying facilities for boots and clothing if you have been caught in the rain or taking part in water sports on the Loch. Balmaha is a quiet and peaceful village but is only 40 minutes from the centre of Glasgow or just over an hour from Edinburgh. Whatever your reason for visiting this beautiful area we will try to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible and look forward to welcoming you to Bay Cottage in Balmaha. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Cottage Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing