We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Winnock Hotel(Drymen)(Great Value!)
$81
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel(Luss)(Great Value!)
$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)(Great Value!)
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$88
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
131
17
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
17
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teasconeshome bakinghot tubb bthe perfect hostthe main houseon arrivalpacked lunchwest highland waywarm welcomestayed herebreakfast was deliciousmet lizfresh pot of teaaches and painskind hearted
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 150 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this lovely B&B earlier this month after day one of the WHW. Missed out on the home baking cause we were late - self inflicted!! Studio for four was excellent, right beside the amazing hot tub. Breakfast was plentiful. Hospitality was very warm and friendly. Would recommend to visitors and walkers alike. Good for families. Thank you Liz

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrstmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, Owner at Bay Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

You'r very welcome. It was a pleasure.

Hopefully next time you'll make it in time for tea & cakes...although I fully understand the urge for a nice drink after a long days walk!

Take care & hopefully see you again,

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is a B&B such as I've never known - level of comfort excellent, warmest of welcomes: afternoon tea (toasted tea cakes and shortbread!) free of charge, residents' lounge available at all times, and an outdoors hot tub after those long gruelling walks along the West Highland Way! Liz is the best example of a B&B landlady - efficient yet welcoming, informative and entertaining, and always there to answer questions. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FHJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, Owner at Bay Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Thank you so much, your comments are really lovely.

However I cant take credit for the shortbread - that's my ninety year old mother!

Many thanks again,

Liz

PS We're on Facebook now....i'm learning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Liz (or more formally Mrs. Bates) made us welcome from the outset, with tea, toasted teacakes and shortbread after our walk from Inversnaid to Rowardennan. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were warm, comfortable and contained everything we needed. Her relaxed manner made us feel at home straight away. We shall definitely recommend it to friends and next time we shall try the hot tub!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed here on 1st April whilst walking the WHW. Mrs Bates went out of her way to make us feel welcome, and although we were quite late in arriving (due to a detour to the Oak Tree) she was waiting for us with the offer of tea and scones.
We stayed in the studio which was a lovely big room , cosy comfy beds and access to the Hot tub on the decking outside which we made good use of. Breakfast was lovely and fresh and we were encouraged to make ourselves rolls with our leftovers to take away with us which was a nice touch. Would highly recommend and in fact will be returning with my husband to the studio again hopefully for a wee retreat soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lil18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, Owner at Bay Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

We don'l like to waste at Bay Cottage...I hope the snacks did you well.

Your welcome back anytime...I'll even let you bring the husband!

Hope you all survived the walk.

Take care,

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Liz at Bay Cottage welcomed us with tea and home baking which was much appreciated after our first day's walk on the West Highland Way. The offer of a hot tub just added to the experience.

The full Scottish breakfast, including Stornoway Black Pudding was outstanding and the best on our walk - just what we needed with a tough 22 mile walk ahead of us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveoftheways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, Owner at Bay Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Thank you very much. I'm really happy you enjoyed your stay.

I'm glad my breakfast set you up for your long days walk. I don't like anyone leaving my home without a full stomach & a smile. Stornoway black pudding truly is delicious....I cant take the credit for that!

Many thanks again,

Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews