We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Show!”
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Balmaha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor Show!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stopped here for lunch whilst doing the West Highland Way, as with most places on the way they have a captive market as there are few choices. We were walking with our dogs and it was pouring with rain, we had done 8 miles with another 8 to go and we weren't allowed in with the dogs.

I understand that places have a choice about allowing dogs but this place is large enough to allow dogs in a confined area and the floors are all stone so easily cleaned, walkers boots and clothing that day will have made no more mess than a human, we would gladly have cleaned up after the dogs as well......

Lunch was average and overpriced.

Room Tip: Didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TartanTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    415
    130
    42
    33
See reviews for
206
718
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

After a long drive from England, we were ready for a lovely stop in the Highlands. Fortunately, this place didn't disappoint us. We enjoyed the little cottage we stayed in, but the other guests below us smoked right outside our window, and partied. Because we were off site, we couldn't easily alert management. When ear plugs were complimentary and on the night stand, we should have known something like this might have happened. Our cottage overlooked a landscape operation of some sort, and beyond was beautiful Loch Lomond. It was an okay stay for one night, but wouldn't want it for more than that.

Room Tip: Don't stay in cottages unless you're under 30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDTraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here after our first day of walking on The West Highland Way and found the room very comfortable with a good shower. The staff were great very helpful and very good service . Delicious food especially the chicken and rice soup. Loved the bar and dining room with all the knick knacks and china cups and plates hanging around the walls and ceiling. Our only complaint was the noise late at night, despite being very tired after our 1st days walk we couldn't get to sleep because of the noise until about midnight, ear plugs were provided. Maybe it was just because it was a Saturday night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishbluebell_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great room, large comfortable bed well appointed bathroom all spotlessly clean. Great food Served in a good atmosphere by polite people, Great people pleasant and helpful. Great Location ease travelling distance to Glasgow Stirling and much more if you can take yourself away from the area surrounding the hotel.
The title says it all

Room Tip: Go for a room in the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernest1green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We popped in for lunch. It was very busy with foreigners and people walking the west highland way. This quaint and atmospheric pub was very interesting to look at. The decor is very unique And looks like a museum. It has every inch of wall space taken with relics from the olden days. Loved it. The coffee shop is worth a look also. The decor is fantastic. I had smoked salmon which was lovely but far too much for a starter and a panini. All nice. My partner had mince and tatties which were served up in a giant Yorkshire pudding. Great touch. The staff were very pleasant and attentive. Would definitely go back. Well worth a visit to see the decor alone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I cannot recommend this stunning place enough! From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by all members of staff including the lovely owners. The room boasted stunning Loch views and was absolutely immaculate!! Instantly impressed by the service and quality of food in the cosy restaurant!! My partner and I gave the menu 10/10...with all courses absolutely delightful!! All in all we left feeling totally relaxed after a very enjoyable stay!! We are already planning our next visit! The place oozes character! We will be customers for a very long time!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent 7 nights with the Oak Tree Inn this time around and were, as last time, pleased with the experience.

The staff are friendly and courteous and only too happy to help. We wanted to leave early one morning and asked if we could have a breakfast prepared for that. They provided fruit, yoghurt, a chocolate bar, cereal , milk and fruit juice on a tray for our room. Talk about going above and beyond! :)

We had no "view" as such, but that's what the walks are for.

The room was comfortable and was a little louder being above the Inn, but after hours it quietened down nicely so it wasn't anything to complain about.

We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: The rooms above the Inn are not as good as the ones in the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
4.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
3.6 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Property: Oak Tree Inn
Address: Main Street, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Tree Inn consists of accommodation in rooms above the inn and in a series of on-site cottages. There is also a restaurant and bar, coffee shop & ice cream parlour and village shop. The Oak Tree is in Balmaha, a beautiful loch side village in Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Hotel Balmaha
Oak Tree Inn Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing