We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Inn of Contrasts.......”
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Balmaha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An Inn of Contrasts.......”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A group of six of us, all in our 50's. and early 60's stayed here in the last weekend of Feb 13. We are all Scots and live in Argyle area so are local and are very used to the scenery. We stayed in one the adjoining cottages, very nice, very modern, very clean. Pleany of room and a very comfortable night

The food was excellent, varied and plentiful. The micro-brewery ales were great and the local cider was brilliant, very unusual and not sour like English cider

So far, so good, the really important stuff is very good.....but.......

Customer service and staff manners are something that other hotels have to do, Oak Tree don't have to do any of that and hence will never see any of our money, or our friends money, again. If you do visit is Inn here are a few dont's

Don't try to sit at any table in the bar, if it is slightly dirty from a previous occupier then annoyance is expressed because you are now in the way

Don't try to sit at any other table in the bar as they reserve tables for customers that are going to eat, but don't take restaurant bookings

If you do decide to move tables to eat be prepared to be barked at along the lines of "......well, are you going to move then!......"

Asking to put anything on your room bill is a real downer, the stoney face is presented and its a flat "No, we don't do that....." , no hint of " sorry but.....", just exasperation at such a suggestion

......and the staff know they were acting badly, one even spoke of it just as we were settling our bill.....

Room Tip: Ground Floor, Loch facing cottage rooms have a decking area, you can ask but it's pot luck that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gafthehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    438
    136
    46
    34
See reviews for
226
742
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in this cracking little Inn whilst we were on the West Highland way, Atfer a full days walking from Milngavie it was indeed a sight for sore feet. reception was fine and we were shown where our room was ( it was not in the Inn itself, it was in a converted cottage 50 yards up the road ). the room was fine and of a decent size, the bathroom was equiped with an electric shower which wasnt the best but did the job, the food was good, we had pizza's which while exceptional was slightly over priced, but being the only choice in the village this is acceptable to a point. breakfast was a good buffet with an excellent cold and hot choice selection. In all a good overnight stay an a cracking location.

Room Tip: check the web off season, they have half price deals on
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

What a lovely place to kick back for a couple of days.
All the staff we came into contact with where very friendly.
The room was spacious with everyting we needed and the en-suite shower was immaculate.
Food in the bar just DELICIOUS !!.
Yes, a return visit is being planned for later in the year.
Thanks to all at Oak Tree Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Spent an overnight stay here and would definately recommended this rustic old Inn, I had visitied in the past for a meal and had never been disappointed, would definatey say try the hot chocolate too!. The food was pretty outstanding, and the bedrooms were spotless if a bit on the compact side but this wasnt a problem. Many walkers stay here as its the perfect spot so it is always busy at any time of year. There is a lovely seating area surrounding the building, the scenery is simply stunning and the banks of the loch are a short walk from the hotel. There is a very handy well stocked shop at the side of the hotel too.
For me though it was the staff themselves that would want to make me go back. My sister had been quiet poorly and wasnt up to going to dinner so we asked if it was possible to order food for the room as its not normal to do room service. The member of staff organised this for us without question and couldnt do enough to help. Great service Kirsty!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We booked our lovely double deluxe room in one of the Inn's cottages with a 50% discount but it's worth saying that I doubt we would have paid the full price as I'm not sure our budget would have stretched to it. But luckily we did have the discount and we stayed just two nights in Balmaha - I wish we could have stayed longer. The inn looks like something out of a picture book and is right by the picturesque loch. There is a huge car park right by the inn which was very handy. The cottage we stayed in didn't look much from the outside but we were hugely pleasantly surprised to walk into our room to find a spacious, beautifully decorated room with a huge bathroom (underfloor heating) and best of all a french window onto a veranda with views out over the loch. Far too cold in Feb to spend any time out on the veranda but we certainly appreciated the view from inside. The staff in the Inn were very polite and helpful. The food was really lovely and good value, and the breakfast in particular was hearty and delicious. I would certainly recommend the Oak Tree Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Me and my Fiancée booked the Oak Tree Inn for a weekend - they had a special offer on their site with 50% off so we got 2 nights for £50 B&B!

The people that work there are really accommodating, they really do make you feel at ease and are happy to have a laugh with you too. The food was excellent and the breakfast buffet was lovely too because it was busy they were constantly out filling it up with freshly cooked food.

A great place to visit if you are into hill walking or fancy the West Highland Way. We went there for a Valentines break and loved every minute of it. We visited the local Glengoyne distillery too which was fun and worth the trip.

The views out to the Loch were lovely and the rooms in the cottages were spacious as well as comfortable.

All in all I would recommend this lovely place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went for a romantic valentines weekend away, half price deal from their own website so it was a bargain.
Lovely rooms, we upgraded to a superior room in one of the cottages. Lovely comfy bed, room was nice and warm too. Fantastic shower, it was to do die for, I want one at home now :-)) Just what I needed after a long day walking.

Gorgeous views and right next to the Loch.

All the meals we had were excellent, breakfast is an all you can eat affair which works well. The place was full all weekend, but we still managed to get a table for dinner both nights. Staff were all very welcoming and friendly nothing was too much trouble.

Will def be back soon, keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-blo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
4.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
4.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Property: Oak Tree Inn
Address: Main Street, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Tree Inn consists of accommodation in rooms above the inn and in a series of on-site cottages. There is also a restaurant and bar, coffee shop & ice cream parlour and village shop. The Oak Tree is in Balmaha, a beautiful loch side village in Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Hotel Balmaha
Oak Tree Inn Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing