We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home From Home”
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Balmaha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home From Home”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Quite Simply , This Wee Inn On The East Side Of Loch Lomond Is Amazing . Staff Are Superb So Friendly , Restaurant , & Bar Are So Cosy , Food Is Brilliant , The Cullen Skink Is To Die For Mmmmm
All In All A Great Place To Stay Love , Love , Love It .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    438
    136
    46
    34
See reviews for
225
742
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fife
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in one of the cottages they own. They have couple of cottages I the village divided in to private rooms. Room was great, with stunning views over loch lomond. Large room with large heated floor shower room. Only downside would be not having a bath, as this is on west highland way route and a warm bath would be of benefit. Small moan though. Main bar/ restaurant is full of life and always busy. Meals are lovely and you get 20% off if a resident.. Highly recommend ..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just back from one night stopover using itison voucher. Fantastic cottage room with decked patio area overlooking loch lomond. Coulnt have asked for more to be honest. Room was spotless, plenty of room and had a great sleep. Ear plugs are provided but we didnt require these even although the cottage was fully booked.

We ate in teh pub at night - had the soup and breaded haddock with chips and finished with a shared mars bar cheese cake. All food was lovely and reasonably priced and pub had a nice vibe. Breakfast in the morning was busy , self served in restaurant and pub overflow - very nice with lots of choice including haggis.

Service was great and staff very friendly - will be back

Room Tip: Go for a cottage room on bottom floor and overlooking loch lomond
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jambo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

just back from loch lomond and had a brilliant stay at the oak tree inn. we had a room in one of the cottages next to the pub. beautifully decorated, with lovely views of the loch. very comfortable and a real home from home feel. the pub itself is lovely and cosy with a roaring fire, and a god menu. im vegetarian and i found the choice really good. food was delicious. plenty choice for breakfast too. good base for Conic Hill, Ben Lomond and the West Highland Way.
ten minutes down the road is drymen which has a really good selection of traditional pubs and the lovely Drymen Inn. there is a free carpark opposite or a bus runs from opposite the oak inn. there is a time table a the pub. highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Read through some of the other reviews, seems a couple of folk must have stayed somewhere else! Can't praise the place highly enough. Always welcoming, always cosy, and usually pretty busy as it is so good. It' s a tourist area, and always pretty packed with visitors, which I think is great. Glad that our overseas friends get to experience some great hospitality!
Oaktree Burger is Heaven!!!!!!!!
10/10

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanJuan1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was introduced to the oaktree inn through a friend and fell in love with the place!! i spent 2 seperate nights in the oaktree 1night with my 2 kids and was given a cottage and it was stunning. the kids had a seperate room with bunk beds which was great bcoz thats what they are used to at home. my room had a lovely comfy bed and a balcony with amazing views of loch lomond. The room was spotless which was a bonus to me!! The 2nd time we stayed was without the kids, we were booked into another cottage. Which was so perect for a romantic ngt away it was for new year.THe room was beautiful, We had an amazing time my partner proposed to me and we celebrated in the oaktree bar with a mouthwatering meal hats off to the chef. THe staff are so friendly always making sure we were having a great time. I did notice a review had said something about poor wifi i had no probs n phoning and skyping all my family with my exciting news. We are now considering having our wedding here, and are spenting next new year at the oaktree again!!!! Keep up the good work folks. x

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lylol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The staff and family at the oak tree inn cannot do enough to help and make your stay enjoyable , the rooms are all in excellent condition and cannot fault them and i know because i have stayed there numerous times and will continue to do so, moiraea169 , how can one even slate this place or the staff is beyond me as all they ever want to do is make your stay enjoyable ,and with regards to the bar , well that is the main place to be its so warm , cosy and friendly and not at all dull , the food is to die for and the breakfasts are a must and are always hot and not lukewarm as stated by moiraea169 , i have even stayed at the frasers house and had a room over looking the loch !!! that is the lengths these people go to ,if i had the funds id stay at this place every weekend as its one of my favorite places to stay and my hubby has even offered to take me away abroad for the weekend but i choose the oaktree every time , you cant beat this place or the stunning scenery , and all the staff keep up the good work x x

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaka9166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
4.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
4.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Property: Oak Tree Inn
Address: Main Street, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Tree Inn consists of accommodation in rooms above the inn and in a series of on-site cottages. There is also a restaurant and bar, coffee shop & ice cream parlour and village shop. The Oak Tree is in Balmaha, a beautiful loch side village in Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Hotel Balmaha
Oak Tree Inn Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing