We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of gold”
Review of Balmaha Bunkhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balmaha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balmaha Bunkhouse
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heart of gold”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I have just completed a 500 mile walk across Britain. I started with the West Highland Way (coming from Fort William), and by Balmaha my little toes were in tatters. This bunkhouse was an absolute godsend for me. It was great value, and I have to say that the owner, Jock, has a heart of gold. I will always be indebted to him for his encouraging words when I needed them most and for doing everything in his power to get me back on track! Don't miss this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacksonWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, It was our honour and pleasure to have such determined and focused young people stay at our wee place.
yours aye
Jock & Gwen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    31
    17
    4
    9
See reviews for
13
26
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just completed the West Highland Way and the Balmaha Gusethouse was stop number 1 on our 5-day trip.

Overall it was great value for money.

We required to use the bunkhouse option (£20 B&B) due to late booking and shared a room with 2 other guests (2 x bunkbeds). The room was quite small for 4 grown men and mattresses had seen better days IMO. However, this was more than offset with the kitchen/dining area which was most hospitable with Jock & Gwen ensuring that the fridge had milk, orange juice and loaf available for the morning. Cereal/porridge was also available.

We were travelling light and required a bath towel (extra £2 each) and packed lunch for the following day (£4.50 each). Again, both excellent value.

As another reviewer has commented, we reckoned that Jock has had some visitors disappear without paying and witnessed a bizarre exchange with Jock and a female German guest where he demanded money. Jock also had a go at myself earlier in the day when I requested bath towels from Gwen and was invited into the house to uplift...with Jock chasing me and telling me in no uncertain terms to get out. It was only a simple misunderstanding & would have liked to have seen a softer, more accommodating side to Jock.... as this really is an excellent place.

Gwen prepared a packed lunch and dropped it off at 7:30 the following morning. It was excellent and great for the 20+ mile walk to Inverarnan (thanks Gwen).

So, thanks for an enjoyable and entertaining stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasshalfull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much
Hope to see you back here again.
yours aye
Jock & Gwen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is an excellent bunkhouse in very close proximity to the village shop and pub (does meals). Received a very warm welcome and informative brief from Jock the owner. The accom rooms are clean with quality beds and bedding. There is a lounge with a small kitchen - ideal for the preparation of your own food. Really cannot fault the place. Thank you Jock.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lejogwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
A Big Thank you for your Constructive and Encouraging words all the very best to you and yours.

yours aye
Jock & Gwen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here on night one of our wet and windy west highland way in May 2013. The owner was attentive and pleasant, there was plenty of milk for teas, cooking facilities couldn't be faulted and electric showers were a blessing (they could be stronger though), we were even able to dry out most of our clothes using the owner's tumble dryer.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snico88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
After 1 and 1/2 years now in Balmaha Bunkhouse we are settling down and enjoying the fantastic experience of meeting guest from all over the world in most cases outstanding individuals and groups of people, not forgetting the odd we dug now and again. Thank you all for your support.

yours aye
Gwen and Jock C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here in the middle of May, while walking the West Highland Way to raise funds for Lochryan Pipe Band. The owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The setting is fantastic, right on the banks of Loch Lomond. Not a lot more that I can add, but I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottBaillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
An outstanding effort by you all, We both hope you and friends can return sometime in the future, our best wishes and every success to your Pipe Band. Thank you for your comments, sorry its taken me a long time to respond.

yours aye
Jock & Gwen C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Last week my father and I visited the Balmaha Bunkhouse. The owners, Jock and Gwen, were very friendly and helpful. We slept in the chalet: All was good. A clean kitchen and shower, good beds and enough possibilities for some proper relaxing after a long walk in the beautiful surroundings. I'd recommend the Balmaha Bunkhouse to everybody!

Room Tip: With a group of friends? Book the larger house. Together with family? Book the chalet. Enough possib...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MattisWib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Apologies for taking so long to respond to your very positive review.
we do hope to see you return again sometime soon.
A massive thank you for taking the time to post your review.
yours aye
Jock & Gwen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chryston, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have used the Chalet recently and found the facilities, location and the general friendliness of the owner and staff all very welcoming and helpful. Jock was very friendly and able to help with our issues. A very clean and tidy chalet with a high level spec and fittings. Well worth a stop at if travelling through Balmah

Room Tip: All the rooms are top quality, my recommendation as a user is to just book it and use the Chalet to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmahahouse, Manager at Balmaha Bunkhouse, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Thank you for your kind and positive comments, which are very much appreciated.
hope to see you again, Apologies for my very late response.
yours aye
Jock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
3.8 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
3.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3.7 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
11.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmaha Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmaha Bunkhouse

Property: Balmaha Bunkhouse
Address: Balmaha House | G63 Ojq, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the picturesque shores of Loch Lomond and some 5 minutes paddling to the first of many islands, you can explore castles,ancient graveyards(including the burial place of Rob Roys' cousin), local wildlife including deer,capercaillies and even wallabies,altogether making some of the most beautiful landscape in the world. Balmaha House Bunkhouse & Canoe Hire is ideal for Family get together s, Stag, Hen nights Business away days and Corporate team building events a great place to base yourself and your group in order to explore the wider area or for training events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balmaha Bunkhouse Hotel Balmaha
Balmaha Bunkhouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing