We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Balmaha Bunkhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balmaha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balmaha Bunkhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We booked the Balmaha Bunkhouse for our 1st stop on The west Highland Way. The double room in the bunkhouse is very comfortable. It could have been a guest room in any home and Bob and Debbie made you feel like very welcome guests. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Balmaha and don't mind sharing the facilities I would recommend here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgtsagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    32
    18
    4
    9
See reviews for
14
27
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This was my first stop on the West highland way, and it couldn't get off to a better as far as accommodation is concerned. The bunkhouse is equipped with a self catering kitchen, so a nearby shop comes really handy. The place was clean and cozy. You can hire a sleeping bag and bedding if a need be. Bob and Debbie are beautiful owners, they obviously put their heart and soul into this. Friendly and welcoming, you won't find a better value for your money here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Great relaxing stay.
Lovely friendly welcoming by debbie and will be returning very soon. Thanks again for everything.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeds1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Bob was a superb host at the Balmaha Bunkhouse. We arrived after our first day of hiking 21 miles on the West Highland Way. Bob greeted us with a warm welcoming smile. The bunkhouse is cozy, has a nice common area where we engaged in great conversation with Bob and another guest, David (a teacher from London). Breakfast was self-catering, but was a great start to another 21 mile hike for us. When I told Bob that we didn't have accommodation for the next night, he gladly offered to call the Drover's Inn for me and I was able to reserve our next night's room. Bottom line: if you are passing through Balmaha, STAY HERE, you won't be disappointed. CHEERS!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeLovesKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The Balmaha Bunkhouse was a welcome break at the end of a very long day of Hiking. It was my Second stop along the West Highland Way. With such an accommodating staff and welcoming environment, it was no doubt the most enjoyable. The staff work hard to perfect every detail and, make the overall experience one to remember. Although it is a mile uphill from the Balmaha stop on the West Highland way, the staff is easy to contact and will come pick you up VERY quickly. Overall highly recommended and an amazing price for what your receive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikesheoref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

A friend and I had rented the roost for one night after walking (20 miles of) the West Highland Way (£25 each), which is a self-catering unit close to the other dorms and rooms. We had a bit of a disasterous day of walking and were completely soaked through and in low spirits. Not only did Bob raise our spirits with his friendly personality, he was kind enough to wash and dry our clothes (without charge!). The roost has everything you mights need, and we were also able to dry various items in the conservatory attached to the roost. It was so comfortable and just what we needed after the terrible day. We are very grateful to you, Bob.

Later in the trip we ended up sharing a room with a German girl who had also stayed here the week before. Her walking partner had become injured and Bob helped with the arrangements to get her back to Germany and even drove her to the pharmacy. After all this, he even refused their tip!

If you stay here, it's well worth getting the roost just to have your own space to chill out. Further, you know you are in the good hands of someone who genuinely wants to help you on your way and make your stay pleasant.

Room Tip: Get the roost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lon205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2011

we stayed here 2 nights and mrs redley couldnt have made us more welcome cup of tea as soon as we arrived place is spotless with everything you need great for the west highland way or for a base to tackle ben lommond prices very good for area we will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keenclimbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
3.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
3.8 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
11.3 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,039 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmaha Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmaha Bunkhouse

Property: Balmaha Bunkhouse
Address: Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the picturesque shores of Loch Lomond and some 5 minutes paddling to the first of many islands, you can explore castles, ancient graveyards (including the burial place of Rob Roys' cousin), local wildlife including deer, capercaillies and even wallabies, altogether making some of the most beautiful landscape in the world. Balmaha House Bunkhouse & Canoe Hire is ideal for family get togethers, stag / hen nights, business away days and corporate team building events. A great place to base yourself and your group in order to explore the wider area or for training events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balmaha Bunkhouse Hotel Balmaha
Balmaha Bunkhouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing