We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing luxury in beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Lomond Waterfront
Certificate of Excellence
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing luxury in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived at the site to a warm and friendly greeting at reception. We were given clear directions to our lodge and where we could park etc. When walking into the lodge we couldn't believe how beautiful the interior and exterior was. 3 bathrooms, a large dining/living room and kitchen. 2 beautiful bedrooms with veranda's. A set of French doors out to a lovely view of the loch and entry to the spa. We were a party of 5, four adults and a teenager. It had something for everyone. The spa was amazing and was put to good use. Even on a wet afternoon. The local area had lots to offer, walking, fishing, we visited the sealife centre and the shopping outlet. The hosts of the site could not have been nicer and were so customer service orientated. A 3-4 minute walks gets you to the local pub, who offer fantastic meals at good prices. Make sure you take plenty of bread for the family of ducks who live in the pond on site. They are almost part of your family when you are there's, and are an added bonus to the luxury of the site. I have booked again for February with a group of girlfriends and will be booking again for the family for summer. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Choose one of the diamond lodges, where you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkbeaker29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you in February.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    32
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
72
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed last weekend for 3 nights and it was a very nice, relaxing gettaway.
We stayed in drummond lodge which is the diamond accommodation and it was very nice..although from the outside I preferred the look of the 2 storey lodges as they had a balcony but ours was right at the front of the grounds and was more private so all in all probably the better if you like views and privacy.
Inside there are 2 bedrooms. .One of which has a 4 poster bed which was very big. The mattress however was 2 put together. It also had a tv and en suite bathroom. The other room is a twin and was very nicely furnished. It had its own en suite but no telly. The living area was large and open plan with floor to ceiling windows and patio doors leading outside to the private hot tub..bliss! It had a log effect fire and a downstairs steam room that we took full advantage of ..it really was a great luxury. We had a bottle of champagne waiting in the fridge along with a pint of milk and some short bread which was sooo good! Its an ideal base for visiting loch lomond and surrounding areas as its very peaceful..one thing to bare in mind, we stayed whilst a wedding was on and you could hear the music vibrating around the site..it didnt really bother us and it stopped dead on mid night but if people are tired and wanting complete relaxation that could pose a problem so may be best to check..also guests decided to park in our space which was a little cheeky considering there was a public car park right by the function suite! We managed to perch on the end as we didn't want to interupt a wedding with such a trivial matter but we did find it quite rude to be honest. The accommodation is of a very high standard which is reflected in the price. Luckily We had a promotion code but even with that it was expensive..theres no way we would of paid the full rates as it cant be justified..if you dont mind spending the extra money you won't be disappointed as it really is very charming! If you have a spare day I highly recommend Inveraray jail. .the drive is beautiful and its a very nice little village where on the way back you can stop off for a boat ride across the Loch.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank annie86er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our diamond chalet. We only host a small number of weddings and usually they book all the accommodation as well. On the rare occasion where we have free lodges we notify anyone booking a stay and the music always ends at midnight. Sorry some of the guests used your parking spaces. You are quite right to point out that there is plenty of parking space in the main car park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have just spent three nights at Loch Lomond Waterfront as a party of three couples in Mellerstain Lodge. The whole complex was wonderful, clean, tidy and well maintained. From an extremely quick and painless check in, straight into the fabulous lodge, our break started immediately. The lodge kitchen had every implement and appliance that anyone could possibly need and the bedrooms were excellent. The steam shower in the downstairs bathroom was a definite plus. I have read the comments about the poor wifi reception in the lodge which is true, but is made known to you before arrival. But why do you need wifi when you are on holiday? Not sure why there are previous comments regarding a 5 star hotel as it is not a hotel, but a lodge complex! Every one of the six of us would return for another break at any time. Superb!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anderson65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be able to come and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have just spent 4nights at Waterfront and were not disappointed. Is it 5 stars? I wouldn't say it's a 5 star hotel but for a lodge you aren't going to get much better.

The furnishings and fittings are of a high standard, comparable with 5 star hotel, it was very clean and tidy and the grounds very well kept.

The only things we would say lets it down is Wi-Fi as we couldn't even pick it up. Also there could be a television in the bedrooms However they weren't must, and didnt effect out stay.

Also one other thing I would say is, people leaving there dogs in lodge should not be allowed. All we would hear in the hot tub at night was out neighbours dog barking.

If you’re after a relaxing peaceful holiday in great surroundings then you won’t be disappointed, its quiet, although there are some nice restaurants in the area we would defiantly recommend the oak tree inn, service & food is 1st class.

Over all we had a great time here and would hightly recommend.

Thank you for having us.

Ps: thank you for the complimentary champagne for our anniversary, was lush

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibiza_201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary stay and the champagne. We are very sorry that you were disturbed by the dog barking. It is in our Terms and conditions that guests should not leave their dogs unattended in the lodge for this reason. If we had known we would have talked to them about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a lovely time at the self catering lodge in Balmaha, but don't think it has the finishing touches that would make it 5 star. The sofa bed was adequate for our 2 young children to share, but don't think it would work for 2 adults (although we were offered another mattress for it which we declined). The property is clean and the hot tub was great, but best fit for 4 people not 6. Beach however was not great due to the sticks washed up on shore. Going down to the beaches past the water bus pick up point was a far better option although was a 15-20min walk away. We used the property as a base to travel from and explore the area and other lochs as not all that much to do in the immediate area after a day or so, which makes a car essential to do this properly although cruises and water us do make access to other areas around the loch possible. Oak Tree Inn was great as was walking up Conic Hill which are both within close proximity. Staff onside were always friendly and very responsive to requests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have just spent 5-nights at Waterfront and wasn’t disappointed. Is it 5 stars? It’s not a 5 star hotel, as I have stayed in one. Is it a 5 star lodge? Most likely, I have stayed in a number of self-catering properties that are rated as 4 star and they aren’t a patch on Waterfront. So for self-catering holidays then it’s right up there. The furnishings and fittings are of a high standard, comparable with a Hilton or Sheraton, it was very clean and tidy and the grounds very well kept, there was little to really fault with the site. Everyone mentions the flaky Wi-Fi and given its remote location I think that the owners will have to be radical to fix that one, but this shouldn’t detract from the holiday, unless you really need to access your email.

We took the dog with us, who loved it and the owners had no qualms about her, in fact that were at least 2 others when we were there, no noise or issues. There was very little dog mess evident on the site but a 'poo-bin' would be nice, as we bagged ours up and took it into the local village to dispose of most of it

If you’re after a relaxing peaceful holiday in great surroundings then you won’t be disappointed but nightlife is limited, its quiet, although there are some nice restaurants in the area. As a treat I would definitely recommend the ‘Chef in the Lodge’; the chef Peter, is fantastic and worth treating yourself, an excellent chef…and he cleans up afterwards

Room Tip: Most rooms look out over the Loch, and all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are taking up your suggestion and purchasing a doggy bin. Wifi is always available in Lodge Reception if not always connected in the lodge. The Chef is called Robin :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a relaxing 4 nights in the Brodick Chalet. The accommodation is lovely, just like the photos on the website. Everything is provided for a comfortable and enjoyable stay (apart from the food and drink...obviously!). Towels, bed linen, kitchen utensils, scented toiletries and even the dishwasher tablets are provided. The mattress was really comfortable and we slept well. We particularly enjoyed the peaceful environment and the chance to organise and control our own holiday. The nearby pub and village shop are really handy and offer good choice.
Needless to say, the view from the hot tub is fab too. We saw deer.
The only downside is the price. We are unable to access the offers due to work commitments. We would have liked to have stayed longer but couldn't justify the cost.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlerattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmaha, Owner at Loch Lomond Waterfront, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be able to visit us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmaha
4.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.6 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Lomond Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Lomond Waterfront

Property: Loch Lomond Waterfront
Address: Main Road, Balmaha, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Balmaha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Balmaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Loch Lomond Waterfront 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self catering lodges and chalets in the heart of the Loch Lomond National Park with loch views and private foreshore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Loch Lomond Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Lomond Waterfront Hotel Balmaha
Loch Lomond Waterfront Balmaha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing