We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sit in, look out”
Review of The Tullie Inn

The Tullie Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Balloch
Price range: $6 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sit in, look out”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

the place is good to sit in and look out at the pedestrians passing by. there is a huge winter garden.
The interieur of the restaurant is harmonious.The food is good.
Just the service could have been a little more attentive. We needed to ask for more drinks.
If you feel in mood for more drinks, the pub is a nice location as well. with a good mixture of people from all age groups.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ivonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed you visit and apologise that you had to ask for more drinks, this should certainly not happen at anytime. I do hope this will not put you off visiting us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    259
    191
    110
    124
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Ate here on a Saturday evening. Although we were seated at the back of the restaurant, far from the bar, there was very loud music playing throughout our meal which was a little off-putting. Worse than that though was the food. My starter of paté looked like it had come from a can and was accompanied by a very lacklustre salad. Another member of our party had cullen skink, which had no evidence of any fish at all in it. For main course, I had mussels which were OK, although quite a small portion. Two others in our group chose the pulled pork, which was really awful. It was basically just a little pot stuffed to the brim with very soggy and overly sweet pork - basically inedible. The service was not great - the drinks were a long time coming and nobody bothered to enquire about the fact that the two portions of pulled pork were almost entirely uneaten. Would not eat here again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NdB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
I am very sorry that your experience was not good. We work very hard to deliver good food and service and we have failed on this occasion. We have already taken steps to ensure that this does not happen again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapperswil, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good food, nice interior”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had a lovely dinner with soup and Steak pie here. Also dessert was good. Nice interior and friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schweizerin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is always great to receive positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to you returning very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very picturesque”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Credit to the owners who clearly have spent a lot of time and money modernising this place. It is very nice indeed, done in USA New England style. We had good service with smiles all round. There was a wide selection of food available and if you didn't want a big lunch it wasn't a problem. So we had baked potatoes all round which were very tasty and not bad for a fiver each. One niggle was the portion of haggis & neeps filling which was a bit miserly I'm afraid. The drinks were very good and well presented, and my pint of Caledonian Best was superb.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Braveass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch and we will take on board your comments regarding the portion size of haggis. We look forward to welcoming you back even if its just for a pint of Caley Best.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
“Really poor food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We went to Loch Lommond to expend the day, and after the long walk we step into this restaurant, where we had to wait a long time to be served just a jug of water. We ask for food from the cartr and from the set menu. The portions were too small with no difference in betwen the two menus, both small and really poor with an outstanding lack of imagination. We ask for the mushrrom and cougarette burguer with goat cheese, what came back was a piece of smash bread with one mushrom and two slices of cougarette, really disapointet. I wont come back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave_volta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your meal if you had let us know we would of changed it for you. There is no excuse for the wait for a jug of water and I do sincerely apologise for that. I hope that you do change your mind and give us another chance and visit us in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tullie Inn also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to The Tullie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing