We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of The Tullie Inn

The Tullie Inn
Ranked #9 of 25 Restaurants in Balloch
Price range: $6 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We went here for our lunch and was not disappointed. There was a wide choice of food and the staff were so cheery and pleasant. We felt like they could not do enough to please us. Would definitely return if we were in the area again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DJW1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review. We are all delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to you returning the next time you are in Balloch.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    243
    187
    107
    118
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is my second visit here and have to say really enjoyed it both times. Popped in for lunch on 3rd Feb and really enjoyed the food and the inside decor is lovely with the candles always on which is a nice touch.
On that visit we booked for the next Monday for dinner and took our two grown ups and we all enjoyed the food and again the service was very good especially abbie thanks for the candle in the pudding my wife appreciated that.Like someone said it was trying to look like the Boathouse at Cameron House and failed but i have to disagree it may not have the same outlook but inside it is nicer with a more relaxed atmosphere will be back next time I am up golfing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobAils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed both your visits and are looking forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost a great experience”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and I went here for an evening meal on a Tuesday. We booked a table and on arrival were greeted and shown quickly to our table. We'd already taken a look at the menu online so we knew what was on offer.

Our mains came quite quickly and were very nice. I'd ordered a dessert and we waited 30 minutes after finishing our mains for it to come. But the staff never even acknowledged that our mains were finished or cleared our table. We unfortunately decided to leave without my dessert. The staff were apologetic and they were very clearly too busy for just the 2 members of staff that seemed to be on. They said that it is not normally that busy on a Tuesday and I don't doubt. I did feel sorry for them but it was just too slow.

The place itself looks great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimAr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
I am really very sorry that the service was not up to our normal standard. There is no excuse for this. I do hope this will not put you off visiting us again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will come back again if they add chips with steak”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We hadn't booked a Table To eat but yet the staff managed to Accommodate Us
The staff were very pleasant and attentive although they were busy . The food was lovely tho I had the mince and tatties I had to ask for more tatties as I felt there wasn't enough
The only downside was my husband had a steak which cost him £12.95 and that was without the chips just a steak on its own .You have to pay extra for chips ...shame really but apart from that the steak was cooked perfectly .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rozzi1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. We will take on board your comments and look forward to you returning the next time you are in Balloch.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TERRIBLE service”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Staff were unfriendly and dont seem to handle the demands of a saturday night. We would not advice going here, instead we refer Cucina it was incredible all round :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
I am sorry to hear that. I would be grateful if you could contact us directly so we can establish what the issue was. Please call us on 01389 752052 or email us at tullieinn@maclay.co.uk.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tullie Inn also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to The Tullie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing