We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Friendly Hotel Restaurant”
Review of The Tullie Inn

The Tullie Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Balloch
Price range: $6 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We went to the Tullie Inn on October 19 for a family lunch.
The surroundings are very tastefully decorated,the staff very friendly and helpful,and the food excellent.Although the service was not particularly quick we were happy to have a leisurely meal.
The menu choice was wide enough to suit all 8 of us and the value was good.
We will certainly go back when we are next in Balloch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ernie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
There are newer reviews for The Tullie Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

712 - 716 of 990 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were seated in the conservatory area which we'd spotted from outside and it was just as cosy and welcoming as it looked. The service was good but quite slow and, although the food was fine and nicely served, it seemed expensive for what it was. Nice atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Hi...Thank you for taking the time to review us. I do apologise for the slow service and please be assured that this will be fully investigated. I do hope that you will visit us again another time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 2pm on Sunday with my wife and our kids. The atmosphere was good and the ambience modern with a very good quality shop fit.

We were seated straight away but unable to sit in the mostly vacant conservatory as the staff wouldn't push two tables together and asked to wait 20 minutes to order. No worries about the wait, it was busy - generally a good sign!

The menu was a decent quality pub food type and there were attractive options for all of us, kids and adults alike.

We ordered drinks which took ages to come but were fine, with welcome local beer to choose from. Our food arrived promptly and was of good quality.

Our kids were very happily entertained by a nice lady offering ceramic painting free for diners, a lovely and unexpected touch.

The service overall was just acceptable however. I think this is really our only grumble, staff just dumping our food on the table, forgetting things with each course and having to be reminded, taking too long over drinks and just generally doing whatever they liked and not much if what we liked.

Thank BlackCumin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Hi....I am so sorry that you did not receive the service that you should of on your visit to the Tullie Inn. Please be assured that your comments, good and bad, will be communicated to our team at The Tullie and used to help us get better. I hope it has not put you off visiting us again and I hope to see you back at The Tullie Inn soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The food at the Tullie Inn really makes it worthwhile, however the service is slow and could be a lot more streamlined. That said we visited for a family dinner and as we were 'there for the night' the service did not bother as much as if we had been there for a quick bite to eat. I would recommend the sharing dessert plate!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi...I am so pleased that you enjoy the food at The Tullie Inn but really disappointed that the service you received has not been up to standard. We do strive to deliver the best service that we can and clearly we failed and for that I sincerely apologise. Please be assured that your comments will be used in helping us going forward and I do hope to see you back in The Tullie Inn in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Food is good, but we ate with music coming from the pub and the restaurant, this was a bit annoying.
They suggested some bread, but we noticed too late that it was not free. This was a starter and was way too much for 2 !
Good advice for beers

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank happylifeepesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at The Tullie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry you found the music too loud. We do have live music at the weekend and if you had mentioned it to a member of the Team would of done our best to lower the volume. I do hope when you next return to Scotland you will give us another chance.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tullie Inn also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to The Tullie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing