We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky find for us” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palombo's of Balloch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palombo's of Balloch
Ranked #14 of 26 Balloch B&B and Inns
Coatbridge, Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lucky find for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I and 2 other couples were attending a wedding in Loch Lomond and were looking for somewhere reasonably local to stay. When we saw it was above a fish and chip shop we thought "no chance". But as we were desperate we decided to go for it - good choice! Nice price, lovely, helpful staff, comfy bed, good shower and decent breakfast in a nice clean restaurant. We only live 25 miles away and wouldn't normally stay if we wanted to visit Balloch - but if we did we would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are only 5 - the 3 I saw were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigb1999uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoilbassista, Owner at Palombo's of Balloch, responded to this review, December 5, 2015
I am so sorry for not responding sooner. Thank you for your very positive review and I am so glad you enjoyed. Reviews like this make it all the easier for us to try and continue to improve and satisfy We hope to see you return and thank you very much again.
Franco Palombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    24
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
12
48
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We booked this place online, having found a special deal. We wanted a simple place to stop for one night during a road trip. When we drove up and saw it was over a chip shop and takeaway, with a bar right beside, we nearly turned around and drove off. I'm so glad we stayed! The staff were friendly and competent, the room was tidy, clean, and comfy. The restaurant is excellent, with chips, pizzas, etc. If you'd like something posher for tea there's a Vintage Inn about 2 mins walk away. Breakfast was nice too. There was no noise at all. In the morning we woke to birdsong and had a walk in the vast park just across the road. In sum: not a posh place, but a safe and pleasant stopover for a journey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lama_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoilbassista, Owner at Palombo's of Balloch, responded to this review, December 5, 2015
I am so sorry for not responding sooner. Thank you for your very positive review and I am so glad you enjoyed. Reviews like this make it all the easier for us to try and continue to improve and satisfy We hope to see you return and thank you very much again.
Franco Palombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

the staff here are very welcoming and helpful. the room was clean, a wee bit dated eg pine furniture and bathroom fittings pine also. tea and coffee facilities would have been pefect if there was milk but unfortunately there was none, we could have asked for some but after 10 pm there was no staff that we could see. the bed only needed a couple if more pillows, again we could have asked for them on arrival. the only real problem we had was finding the back entrance to the b&b at night, the security light only came on once we accually found it, so lurking about peoples back doors wasnt good and it was pitch black, quite funny really thinking of it now..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squizzy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoilbassista, Owner at Palombo's of Balloch, responded to this review, December 5, 2015
Hello,

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our b&b, We really appreciate the feed back, as it gives us an opportunity to improve our facilities. All our rooms now have fridges to store the fresh milk now available. Also all our beds have an extra set of pillows. We are now addressing the lights at our back entrance.

kind regards Mrs Palombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We didn't realise this B and B was above a fish and chip shop, we thought it was a bit of a funny one when we got there, but hey, why not?! We received a friendly welcome and were shown to our room. Adequately sized double room with large window. Tv and coffee making facilities. Quilt seemed small for the bed but room and bathroom were clean. Room was warm and quiet. Breakfast was fine. A little salty to my taste but ok. Orange juice was horrible though. We paid £50 bed and breakfast and thought we had an adequate experience for the money spent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliaftinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

What a wonderful chip shop these people run, our daughter is coeliac and they do a range of gluten free foods, they went out of there way to make sure she enjoyed her fish and chips, our food was lovely with friendly waitress and very quick service. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoilbassista, Owner at Palombo's of Balloch, responded to this review, December 5, 2015
I am so sorry for not responding sooner. Thank you for your very positive review and I am so glad you enjoyed. Reviews like this make it all the easier for us to try and continue to improve and satisfy We hope to see you return and thank you very much again.
Franco Palombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riddings
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here late May 2012. Free parking opposite the B&B, left the car there for 5 days.Train station not far away and the walks around Loch Lomond very close. Also, if your interested in the Sustrans Lochs & Glens north route its oppsite the B&B through the car park. I found our 1 nights stay very good with a good breakfast, clean linen and rooms. The shower was ok. Our room was facing the main road. We slept with the window slighty open and had no trouble sleeping from road traffic noise which I am used.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper it might be best to have a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RICH4RD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoilbassista, Owner at Palombo's of Balloch, responded to this review, December 5, 2015
I am so sorry for not responding sooner. Thank you for your very positive review and I am so glad you enjoyed. Reviews like this make it all the easier for us to try and continue to improve and satisfy We hope to see you return and thank you very much again.
Franco Palombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu Valley, Nepal
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We didn't stay at the hotel portion of Palombo's but ate in both the take out and the sit down dining area of this establishment. It was day one of our most recent Scotland trip and the deep fried haggis was utterly OUT OF THIS WORLD DELICIOUS! We had it in every town from then on after, and though may a place had lovely haggis, Palombo's was hands down the best - So creamy textured and flavorful - if one can use the word "gourmet" to describe haggis, Palombo's was it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ftbrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoilbassista, Owner at Palombo's of Balloch, responded to this review, December 5, 2015
I am so sorry for not responding sooner. Thank you for your very positive review and I am so glad you enjoyed. Reviews like this make it all the easier for us to try and continue to improve and satisfy We hope to see you return and thank you very much again.
Franco Palombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.5 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 26 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#22 of 26 in Balloch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tullie Inn
Tullie Inn
#17 of 26 in Balloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palombo's of Balloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palombo's of Balloch

Property: Palombo's of Balloch
Address: 40 Balloch Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palombo's of Balloch 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palombo family, orginally from Italy, run Balloch's traditional fish restaurant. It's above this restaurant that the family have 5 beautiful Bed and Breakfast rooms looking onto the picturesque Loch Lomond town of Balloch. The Bed and Breakfast is on the main Balloch Road, a couple of minutes walk across the bridge to further restaurants/cafes/pubs and a 10 minute walk to Loch Lomond Shores (full of shops including Jenners, Loch Lomond Aquarium, National Park, Woodland Trails, Ceramic Experience, Loch Cruises, and more). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Palombo's of Balloch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palombo's Of Balloch Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing