We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchorage Guest House
Ranked #19 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Noisy and uncomfortable”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I write this review while still in bed where I can't sleep anymore. The blinds are not light proof so it is already bright daylight in the room since 5.
No night club noise but the floor and the beds are so queeky that I can hear every other person in the B&b when the turn in their beds, step off the bed or have a wee.
The room is tiny... A small ikea double bed and just enough room to wall that you can sqeeze in.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulamidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    9
    4
    13
See reviews for
17
23
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Went to stay over the weekend with my parents, being strategically located to the train station, made the travel so easy and convenient.
The beautiful room, very helpful owner and the great Scottish breakfast was an overall treat.
The family room was well decorated, warm, bathroom was very neat, and the owner made sure we had access to the fireplace to make it more warm if needed.
It was a real treat staying there, would definitely recommend this to everyone.we had a great time.
thank YOU!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharmistha2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went along over the bank holiday weekend
Was one of my top 5 b&b I have stayed in
was made 2 feel so welcome with the friendly staff
Our family had a great night sleep in the family room
The room was so fresh and spotless
And the Scottish breakfast was delicious
I've already booked my room for next visit

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alice50000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The room was small and basic. Shower not a bad size with shower curtain. Plenty of noise late afternoon from dance studio opposite and owner told us that if you stay on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday you get noise from the nightclubs until 3.00 am in the morning. He told us you get used to the noise. Nice enough owner. Breakfast only average.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Balloch hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Went to the anchorage with 5 of my friends we had a blast will be back to this place next time we are over. We were made to feel at home straight away very friendly and good crack. Breakfast was gorge would recommend to all

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lashsimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

The anchorage is a great place to stay made us feel very welcome from the word go. People very friendly and told all about the place. Very local to pubs and restaurants. The rooms are very clean and tidy and the breakfast was yummy. Recommend to all couples family's or friends. Will defiantly be back.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindasheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Anchorage guest house is on the main street in balloch close to all pubs and restaurants.Rooms where clean and bright and the bed comfy breakfast was also good.pleanty tea and coffe in rooms and nice quailty biscuts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.4 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#18 of 24 in Balloch
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Tullie Inn
Tullie Inn
#15 of 24 in Balloch
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Guest House

Property: Anchorage Guest House
Address: 31 Balloch Road | Loch Lomond, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchorage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Guest House Balloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing