We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design in a farm”
Review of Dumbain Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dumbain Farm
Ranked #7 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Perfect experience for our last night in Scotland. Everything has been carefully studied to make this place a cosy and quiet B&B.
We had a double-room in the stable, beds are really comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent, with a great plate of sliced fruits besides a full Scottish breakfast, of course.
No wi-fi available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happylifeepesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Dumbain Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 105 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Located just outside of ntown, but an easy walk if required.

We stayed in "The Stable", which has two single beds upstairs, and a double bed, dining table, lounge, bathroom and kitchen downstairs. The beautiful, exposed beams and high ceilings downstairs made the room very welcoming.

The bed was very comfortable, the room well heated and the shower hot. The continental breakfast was very nice, provided in room at our own leisure. There was also a nice selection of fruits and even some cheese and crackers.

Our hostess, Sheila, was very helpful in providing options for our dinner, and we can really recommend the restaurant at Tullie Inn, opposite the visitor information centre. A great recommendation by Sheila.

Would definition recommend to others, and stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieTravellers8482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrived in Balloch about 6pm and found Sheila and Dumbain Farm with no problem.

The room was carefully and perfectly decorated (not wee at all, to my husbands delight). It was exceptionally clean and well appointed. When we returned from dinner, Sheila had fresh shortbreads and a pitcher of milk waiting for us.

Bed was comfy and breakfast was wonderful. Best of all was the warm hospitality and great conversation with Sheila. I can't imagine a better spot. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is literally an ideal B&B experience. We had the Granary (two double rooms) which was beautifully decorated and a huge space to enjoy with its own kitchen/dining area. Sheila left us with a delicious continental breakfast to enjoy each morning and tasty treats to keep us going too!
She was also very helpful in offering additional support, apologising for accommodating more than two sets of children simultaneously (not her usual policy she promised). However for us, it was all about the breakfast and lovely rooms. If only all B&Bs were like this!

Room Tip: The Granary is self contained and doesn't offer full English - perfect if you want more space an...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank streamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

What a fantastic experience!
This place is so relaxing,welcoming and clean and bright and peaceful,
I stayed with my Sister when we arrived from Australia for a holiday,and were both very happy with everything,from the decor to the lovely hostess Sheila,and her welcoming cuppa when we arrived,and the lovely breakfast each morning.Would agree that the approach via the housing estate was a bit unusual but the farmhouse and surrounds are lovely .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was a lovely stay. The farm is gorgeous, the rooms were large and very comfortable with beautiful attention to detail. Our host, Sheila, was lovely and looked after our needs well.
Balloch was just the most beautiful town. I agree with Sarahlou70 that the drive through the housing is deceiving and once you drive in the farm gates............well it feels like home :)
Would definately recommend this place for family, chick or couple holiday stay.

Room Tip: Sorry i dont think there was a swimming pool but didn't know how to de select,
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The farm house is stunning! me and two friends came to balloch for a girls night for a wee change and we met sheila and oor george with us all under 30 we felt that shelia looked after us gave us advice and really went that extra mile to make us feel welcome. we stayed in the barn wow it was gorgeous sheila made homemade jam and shortbread and also gave us the recipe for it. the barn was very clean and all the little nick naks fitted in perfectly. defo should be a five star place. The next morning we were able to park the car at the farm as we cleared our head of a hangover, walking back to the farm sheila drove next to us and gave us a lift back. very caring and epic people! love them xxx

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
2.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
1.1 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#22 of 24 in Balloch
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gowanlea Guest House
Gowanlea Guest House
#4 of 24 in Balloch
228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumbain Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumbain Farm

Address: Balloch, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8DS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range: $27 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dumbain Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast accommodation is offered in the simple and stylish conversion of the farm outbuildings. Situated in Balloch at the foot of Loch Lomond in a quiet peaceful location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dumbain Farm Balloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing