We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
211
49
5
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
211
49
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest lounge loch lomond porridge tea and biscuits full scottish breakfast fantastic stay breakfast was amazing friendly owner lovely hosts great value for money one night stay enjoyed our stay comfortable rooms a great place to stay good nights sleep short walk andrea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 268 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017

We had a nice stay at Gowanlea, it was clean and comfortable with spacious rooms and some off road parking. Breakfast was tasty. There was some noise between rooms and the hot shower wasn't the strongest. The system of choosing your breakfast also seemed overly complex (it could just be a list of all available items that you tick against) but it was a nice place to stay.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jimmy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017

Absolutely great place to stay, from the moment we arrived we had a very welcoming greeting, tea/coffee and biscuits offered (and accepted).
The rooms were great and spotless and the breakfast was to die for !
Nothing was too much trouble from this great host/
All in all one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in
Thank you Andrea, we will hopefully be back at some point

Room tip: Room on first floor was very good
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

The host John was really welcoming his service was superb, the detail in the house was very good, like, the quality biscuits on the tea/coffee tray in the room and lounge were great. To have a en-suite with a bath, after cycling 50 miles it was fantastic and they had left out Radox muscle care for us, that is service. ( thanks). Breakfast was outstandingly good, set us up lovely to cycle home 50 miles. what a FANTASTIC stay which made our two day break great.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017 via mobile

My family and I just returned back to the states from a two week vacation in England, Wales and Scotland. We had a lovely time and got lucky with the weather for most of the trip, I wanted to say a few words about our last few days in the U.K. We booked two rooms at the Gowanlea guest house and it was truly an amazing finish for us in the U.K.

First was the warm and truly inviting welcome we received from John and Andrea. The rooms were clean, cozy and we felt like we were truly in a country cottage in Scotland.

Second was the truly amazing authentic Scottish breakfasts that we woke up to.

Third was the location, the town of Balloch is at the base of Loch Lomond, and the Guest house is a two minute walk to the beautiful park and Balloch castle. It was centrally located for us to drive 30 minutes to the town of Luss on the loch and 30 minutes when we visited Glasgow. I would recommend this guest house as a half way stop for travelers heading up into the Highlands.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017

We've stayed here for 1 night and this is excellent B&B, with FANTASTIC breakfast; You should really try the Scottish salmon on scrambled eggs - and you will beg for more ;) Kudos to our host, we'll return with our next trip!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Protagonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews