We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
211
49
5
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
211
49
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest lounge loch lomond porridge tea and biscuits full scottish breakfast fantastic stay breakfast was amazing friendly owner lovely hosts great value for money one night stay enjoyed our stay comfortable rooms a great place to stay good nights sleep short walk andrea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 268 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2017

We stayed at the Gowanlea for a few nights while on business. Again, we needed a dog friendly B&B and for a very small supplement of just £5, she was made most welcome. The property is situated on a pleasant residential close to all amenities.
We were met by the owner Andrea and were offered a hot drink when we arrived in the comfortable guest living room. We stayed in a a family room which was very spacious and comfortable. The en-suite was quite small but more than adequate for our needs. Comfortable beds, large TV with Freeview, tea, coffee, hot chocolate & biscuits & plenty of storage space.
Breakfast was pre-ordered the day before using a menu card, there is plenty of choice of both traditional & healthy fayre.The food is delicious with good quality local ingredients.
I would recommend the Gowanlea to anyone without reserve.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017

We stayed for one night in the Gowanlea in February 2017, the room and decor were very tired looking and the room was not as clean as it could be, shower in toilet was like using a hammer drill and we felt if we used it in the morning we would be waking up the whole house, the shower cubical was also mouldy and unacceptable.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kevdncn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017

What a find this is a lovely place to stay warm and very friendly also very dog friendly the rooms are very nice and spotless some very nice touches duck in shower and teddies on the bed the breakfast is something to die for it so much choice I recommend the loch fine kippers Andrea the owner is very friendly and a lovely lady Also Andrea allowed us to use plates and cutlery for a take away meal

Room tip: Easy access,good location
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andie69, Owner at Gowanlea Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay I was wondering if you meant to give us only 2 stars for your stay?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights. Excellent location, on the Main Street of Balloch where the pubs and restaurants are. Lovely breakfast, I had a cooked breakfast the first morning and scrambled eggs the next. The room was large and the ensuite was perfect. I would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank moif10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Would highly recommend this guest house, warm friendly welcome from
Andrea clean comfortable rooms spacious bathroom. Good home cooked scottish breakfast which is really filling small off road parking. Staying here is like a home from home would definitely stay here again

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews