We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gowanlea Guest House
Ranked #4 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Thanks for making our trip to Balloch so pleasant. Nice rooms with modern bathrooms, huge breakfast and a very helpful and friendly hostess. Even stored our bikes in the shed overnight. It is also nice and close to town. Nothing was too much to ask and we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarykeLouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Gowanlea Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 229 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

My sister and I stayed for 1 night and the room was very comfortable and roomy with excellent facilities. Hosts, John and Andrea were very friendly and helpful, and the Breakfast was superb and a great choice. We were so handy for the buses and trains and we went to Luss and Lomond shores. We had a great meal of Fish and chips in the Lochside Restaurant amongst lovely surroundings. We went for a cruise on the Loch as well. All in all, the Gowanlea Guest House is in an ideal location and and we were given a very warm welcome, we would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maunys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hosts Andrea and John were very helpful. They were unable to accommodate us for the full 3 nights, however Andrea had organised another B&B for our last night and called ahead to make sure we could have our room early. At the Gowanlea we were given a Family room that was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing, porridge and wonderful scrambled eggs with salmon. The only very small downside was the early risers in the room next door, as their shower pump became our alarm clock!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirvjovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed for a night at Gowanlea and it was just wonderful. As soon as we arrived, a smiling Andrea greeted us and once we were settled in the room , offered us warm hot chocolate with cookies. It felt like being welcomed by our friends after a tiring journey. The house was immaculately clean and well maintained. The family room was slightly cramped but could be because it had one double, one single and one baby cot in the room so would be great for families with two children. The bathroom was really tiny but was clean enough.
Andrea offered us superb breakfast the next day . She was the only one who served freshly made fruit yogurt in the breakfast as against a standard practice of packed yogurt. She really treats the guests as friends and it shows in the smallest of gestures. We also loved the location of the house - in a quite leafy residential street which is a few minutes walk to the restaurants and park.

I would strongly recommend Gowanlea to anyone looking for a warm and friendly place to stay in Balloch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kedarvashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Gowanlea for 3 nights and were instantly welcomed by Andrea who was extremely helpful and couldn't do enough to assist us during our stay. The room was spacious, with lovely decor and included a tv, coffee and tea making facilities, a super comfortable double bed, central heating and the bathroom was large with a power shower. Not only were we super impressed by the outstanding service at the Gowanlea we couldn't believe how delicious the breakfasts were, with a wide choice available including a starter plus a main. John, Andrea's husband is an amazing chef and we were spoilt for choice and tried to order something different every day. Andrea was extremely attentive and hard working, but she found time to help my now fiance in organising a welcome back surprise of champagne and 12 red roses after he had proposed to me on the Loch. Staying at the Gowanlea was unlike any other hotel experience I have had, as it was an amazing experience, being well looked after and Andrea and John's place is one that we will coninue to return to, in fact we have already booked up for the Summer!! I would highly recommend anyone visiting to look no further as the Gowanlea is oustanding.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to ensure availability as it is such a popular place to stay.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleoCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were welcomed by Andrea who was very considerate to my elderly mother and actually switched rooms so she didn't have so many steps to go up and then made us a lovely cup of tea in the lounge. The room was lovely and pleasant and very tastefully decorated. Lovely crisp white sheets and very modern on suite bathroom with good toileteries. We really enjoyed our stay and had fantastic scrambled eggs and bacon for breakfast. Great value for money and I wish Andrea and John every success in their business and I hope to stay with them again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband I plus work colleagues from Clic Sargent stayed overnight at this lovely little B and B for one night after a fundraising event in Balloch - the Kiltwalk from Hampden to Loch Lomond.
Absolutely spotless and just what we needed. Lovely and clean bedding, comfy bed, flat screen tv, modern en suite bathroom with all the little touches you would normally get in a bag hotel. Great breakfast menu which you order the night before and was absolutely fantastic. Brilliant sweet porridge with cream and jam plus a full Scottish that a 5 star hotel would find hard to match! Andrea was the perfect host, non intrusive and laid back. All in all a nice stay and we will definitely be booking up for next year. Great location too as a lovely part of the world...a stroll down to the village centre with many pubs and restaurants. it is In one of the most beautiful settings in the world so what more can I say...go see for yourself, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayg173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
0.8 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Glenfern Guest House
Glenfern Guest House
#10 of 24 in Balloch
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#22 of 24 in Balloch
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowanlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowanlea Guest House

Address: Drymen Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range: $63 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gowanlea Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gowanlea welcomes you to stay and enjoy the surrounding of Loch Lomond. We offer a large selection of breakfast choices from the traditional cooked to smoked salmon and my favourite pancakes, syrup and bacon. Gowanlea accepts pets on prior notice and we're happy to accommodate where we can; we look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gowanlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gowanlea Guest House Balloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing