We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gowanlea Guest House
Ranked #4 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Myself and my husband had a lovely weekend in Balloch staying at the Gowanlea. We were lucky enough to have one of their newly renovated rooms which made us feel like we were in a top notch hotel rather than a B&B. Really comfortable too. Highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 229 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had a last minute booking at the Gowanlea for 2 nights when we had to cancel our stay at the Bay Tarbet Hotel as the standard there was unacceptable. Andrea was very welcoming, we had coffee and biscuits in the lounge. Brilliant bed and pillows, nice new ensuite and Andrea even dried out our wet walking boots and jackets. Breakfast was lovely, will definately stay again, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buntyScotland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We used this lovely B&B as a stop over on our way to Fort William. The reason we chose this place was it was "dog friendly" and as we have a labrador it would be her first time in a B&B. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The room was spacious with a double bed and a single and in good clean condition. Across the road is a huge park to take your dog for a good walk that leads to the Loch. The breakfast was amazing, and the little dining area was set out so lovely. The owner is a dog lover so my dog was given a good fuss over. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momPenwortham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of february and we had a really nice welcome with tea and biscuits, the rooms were really nice, the breakfasts were superb and the hosts were very friendly, welcoming and it capped of a relaxing weekend in Balloch. If anyone is ever lookin for place to stay in Balloch then i would definitaly recommend the Gowanlea Guest House.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevew017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

After a comfortable night's sleep the breakfast here will set you up for a good day's hiking.

Room Tip: Front room has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Went down to Balloch for a pre-Christmas break and having previously stayed at the Gowanlea we booked it again without hesitation. We were provided with Coffee and biscuits on our arrival and showed to our room which was spacious and had everything required for a comfortable stay. The breakfasts were once again first class with a varied choice to suit all tastes and in particular the smoked haddock with poached eggs which was simply divine. Many decent places to eat in Balloch and it is also handy for a jaunt into Glasgow Christmas shopping by train at £5.30 each return, journey takes approximately 45 to 50mins. If you are looking for a good priced, clean and great place to stay in Balloch look no further than the Gowanlea.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donser83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed there one cold night in November and it was a great experience. The lady who owns the house was super friendly and she offered us Hot tea and coffee upon our arrival. The rooms were extremely clean and the breakfast amazing with lots of scottish options. I really loved it there. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone going to Scotland's Loch Lomond

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psyhunterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
222 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Glenfern Guest House
Glenfern Guest House
#14 of 24 in Balloch
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Waterhouse Inn
The Waterhouse Inn
#13 of 24 in Balloch
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowanlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowanlea Guest House

Address: Drymen Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range: $65 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gowanlea Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gowanlea welcomes you to stay and enjoy the surrounding of Loch Lomond. We offer a large selection of breakfast choices from the traditional cooked to smoked salmon and my favourite pancakes, syrup and bacon. Gowanlea accepts pets on prior notice and we're happy to accommodate where we can; we look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gowanlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gowanlea Guest House Balloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing