We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect home from home, loved our time there.”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old Smiddy Cottage over Ballagan burn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Smiddy Cottage over Ballagan burn
Old Smiddy cottage Parking at The Old Smiddy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The Old Smiddy Cottage over Ballagan burn
Old Smiddy cottage
Parking at The Old Smiddy
Cottage sitting room with black watch tartan carpet
Sitting room
Old Smiddy cottage kitchen
Double bedroom
Double bedroom in cottage
Twin bedroom cottage
Cottage double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin ensuite
Our Donald in Ballagan burn
Ballagan burn
Beautiful stag at local roundabout
Beautiful walk up Loch Lomond National Park
Balloch Castle
Balloch castle
Ben Lomond at Loch Lomond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Theresa W
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
“The perfect home from home, loved our time there.”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This was the perfect spot, easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and public transport. The cottage was warm and welcoming with everything we could possibly want or need. We wouldn't consider any other place to stay now if we come back. We enjoyed very minute.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling like we had our own place.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2015
Thank you Theresa and Paul for that lovely review so glad everything was to your liking it was lovely to meet you both and would love to see you back anytime. Chocs were delicious x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Rented this cottage while attending a family wedding, really impressed!! Clean,spacious and well equipped. Friendly owners and would thoroughly recommend!!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2014
Thankyou for great review it was lovely to meet you all and glad you enjoyed cottage and your wedding went so well. Regard Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock1969
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent property and great location.”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The property was really clean and tidy, rooms were all a good size and well equipped. The property was well located for easy access around Loch Lomond and the Trossachs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2014
Many thanks for lovely review so glad you enjoyed the cottage and lovely to meet you kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFromOx...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a wonderful time”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Old Smiddy with my family of 4 for over a week in August 2014. The cottage was very well maintained and had everything one could wish for. Fiona was kind and professional and made us feel very welcome. Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2014
Thankyou so much for your lovely comments I am glad you enjoyed your time at The Old Smiddy it was a pleasure to have you stay. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webb14
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent, well equipped, and spotlessly clean accommodation,. Ideal for touring the area.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Balloch. Our main theme was the Commonwealth Games so we were very occupied! The Old Smiddy was ideal accommodation for us all to visit Glasgow and indeed spend time around Loch Lomond. Fiona and David were very helpful and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2014
Thankyou for lovely review so glad you enjoyed the cottage and also the very successful Commonwealth games in Glasgow. Weather was great for you too which was super. Kind regards Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian C
1 review
“Absolutely Fantastic Holiday and Brilliant Hosts”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I would like to say how fantastic our holiday was at The Old Smiddy, Cottage Ballaoch Loch Lomond, we travelled from Beverley East Yorkshire and our first holiday away, The cottage was beautiful and clean, and had everything you could wish for, Fiona and David Crag were brillent and fantastic hosts, We are hoping to go back their again later in the year would reccommend this beautiful cottage over and over again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2014
Oh thankyou so much for the wonderful review we loved meeting you both was sad to see you going and looking forward to your next visit. Take care and keep well x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matts2869
Kensington, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Best Accomodation around Loch Lomond”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

What a lovely place! It is centrally located to Loch Lomond, restaurants and shopping. The owners, Fiona & Dave, were fantastic hosts. They made sure everything was done to our liking. The accommodations were absolutely great. The bed was super comfortable and loved the full equipped kitchen too. They had cable TV with a bunch of great channels. The setting is so picturesque with the babbling brook and the funny chickens strutting around. We can't wait to come back and stay here again!
Overall a wonderful place to stay with the most amazing hosts.
Thank you Fiona & Dave!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodations were amazing and the hosts were gracious.
Liked least: Leaving :(
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2014
Thankyou so much for the lovely review and it was a pleasure to meet you both, Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing