We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect home from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Sitting room with Lindsay tartan carpet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room with Lindsay tartan carpet
ballagan burn Ballagan burn running through The Old Smiddy with Donald the duck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Sitting room with Lindsay tartan carpet
ballagan burn
Ballagan burn running through The Old Smiddy with Donald the duck
Ballagan burn through Old Smiddy garden
Old Smiddy Apartment
sitting room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Double bedroom
en suite double bedroom
Double en suite bedroom
Double ensuite toilet
single bedroom
Single bedroom
Shower room
Beautiful Ben Lomond on a winters day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
snowyblue
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect home from home”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Balloch is a nice small town with lots to see and do in the area. We found it a good base for exploring Loch Lomond, the neighbouring Lochs, Dumbarton Castle and Glasgow, too. Our 5 nights here at the end of August were made perfect by the accommodation: The Old Smiddy apartment was very spacious for the three of us; the two bathrooms were particularly appreciated. There is safe parking right outside the door in a secluded courtyard. The owners, Fiona and David, live next door. They are kind and genuine hosts who made us very welcome, but gave us privacy, too. They clearly put a lot of thought into equipping the apartment with everything that guests could possibly need. The place was warm and cosy, beautifully furnished and VERY clean. We highly recommend!! (And would love to return one day.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: home from home atmosphere and so very clean
Liked least: wish we had stayed longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2014
Thankyou for your wonderful review of the Apartment it was a pleasure to have you stay and would love to welcome you back anytime. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
465mauq
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation in a pretty setting”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Although described as an apartment the accommodation is actually a small cottage. Fully equipped, spotlessly clean, well appointed and very comfortable. Situated a short walk from the centre of Balloch, in an enclosed courtyard/garden, complete with a little burn (and chickens). Secure parking and complete privacy. The friendly and helpful owners live on site. We used it as a base to attend the Commonwealth Games and to explore Scotland. I would thoroughly recommend it. Booked in conjunction with the 4 bed cottage on site would be perfect for and extended family holiday. I would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Comfortable, clean and furnished to a good standard with all necessary equipment
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review of the Apartment and glad you enjoyed your stay. You had the best of the weather and saw Loch Lomond in all it's glory. Pleasure meeting you kind regards Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konnie B
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spacious and Comfortable Cottage”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for our two weeks’ holiday in Scotland and really liked the place. It was well equipped, we found everything we needed. The two bathrooms were particularly helpful. We did a lot of sightseeing in the area. Glasgow is a 30 min. drive by car or by train. There are many other places of interest nearby. Whatever you plan to do during your stay, this is the ideal place to start from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The two bathrooms
Liked least: WiFi connection could have been a bit quicker
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2014
It was lovely to meet you and so glad you enjoyed the Apartment many thanks for your lovely comments kind regards Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBROWN201...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay and ideally located to explore Loch Lomand”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my wife and 15 months year old baby for week, and it was a very comfortable stay and perfect for our needs. We spent most of the daytime exploring the nearby villages and went on a few nearby hikes including Ben Lomand. The Train is in walking distance, which we used to go on a daytrip to Glasgow. We were very pleased with our week and would recommend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2014
Thankyou Ivan for lovely review and glad you had such a lovely time at The Old Smiddy Apartment. Was lovely to meet you and your lovely family kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessblack...
Blackburn, Lancs
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ideally located cottages”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed here on more than one occasion and would highly recommend the cottages. They are very clean, well equipped and nicely furnished. Everything you could need, bed linen and towels provided. Also off road parking. The owners are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Nothing too much trouble.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Everything was "spot on" - what more can be said!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review lovely to meet you and glad you had an enjoyable stay kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petitelou...
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2018
Thankyou so much for lovely review glad you enjoyed the Apartment and surrounding area. It was lovely to meet you and your lovely family kind regards Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing