We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wee day out!”

Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$16.42*
and up
SEA LIFE Loch Lomond Admission Ticket
Ranked #8 of 19 things to do in Balloch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: SEA LIFE Loch Lomond Aquarium is just 30 minutes from Glasgow, situated on the stunning Loch Lomond Shores. Explore an amazing underwater world and take a fascinating journey from the Loch Lomond shores to the ocean depths through 7 themed zones, including our Tropical Ocean Tunnel. Get up close to over 1500 creatures, including the largest collection of Sharks in Scotland, our playful family of Otters and super-friendly Cow Nose Rays. Find out how it feels to touch a starfish and other creatures living in our interactive rockpool then head to our Observation Deck for unrivalled views of Loch Lomond, or relax in our welcoming coffee shop. With fun talks, animal feeds, special events and our quiz trail, there's plenty for everyone to enjoy at SEA LIFE Loch Lomond. We are open 7 days a week 10am-5pm (last admission at 4pm).
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Went with my nearly 2 year old daughter and mum. Got a good deal online before we went. We all really enjoyed out day, my daughter got to touch a starfish and was excited to see the fish. We were lucky enough to be there on a day the sharks were due fed and found the talk interesting. The under water tunnel was good also. The otters were great, pushing themselves off the side and generally having fun! My daughter loved them the most! The cafe was reasonably priced, surprisingly. Found the staff knowledgable and friendly. We would definitely go back.

Thank shirleywirley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn A, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely five star review it is always a pleasure to get these. Booking online is a great way to save money and it is great to see that you took advantage of this offer. The shark feed really is a treat so you were lucky to have visited on this day. Our otters are great and such lovely little characters and you were also lucky to have caught them during your visit too. We hope you will come and visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 545 of 805 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

It's been a few years since we were last at the aquarium and what an improvement. The shark tunnel was great and the exhibits well laid out with plenty of information on all species. Particularly liked that our native sea life was well represented. Cafe basic but adequate.

Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn A, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write it. Our animal care team are constantly working to improve and change our displays so they will be delighted with your comments. We hope you will visit us again and that we will have made even more improvements for you to enjoy. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Took our 6 year old grand daughter on a visit today and it turned out to be a great experience. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially the girl at the rock pools who was particularly good at interacting with the kids answering all questions patiently no matter how trivial. The fact that we could come and go at any time during the visit meant that we were able to watch all the feeding sessions. The commentaries on the feeding were also very interesting. The highlights for my grand daughter were the hands on experience at the rock pools especially the anemones and the seahorse feeding. Will definitely be back for another visit.

1  Thank OAP_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn A, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we really do appreciate it. Our staff really love what they do and I think this passion shows when they are dealing with our visitors. The rockpools are a fantastic way for children to get to learn all about the creatures and touch them if they are feeling brave enough. It is great to hear that you took advantage of our all day ticket and took in all of our talks and feeding demonstrations. It really is the people who do this that seem to get the most from their visit with us. We look forward to having yourself and your family visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited the aquarium with a toddler , who loved it staff very helpful in telling you about the creatures etc.caught sight of one otter but others kept out of sight was great to see the sharks and the turtle and walk through the tunnel with the fish all around you. An enjoyable visit but pricey at £13 p/p. Coffee in cafe was awful, but Moshi Monster Characters were a hit.

Thank steiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn A, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to write it for us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and at least you got to see one of our otters. The best time to catch all three of them is during their training and feeding demonstrations at 11.00am and 3.00pm. The tunnel is fantastic and a great place to see the sharks and turtle up close. We do offer a huge number of promotional discounts out there along with our 40% saving if you book online. Maybe next time you visit you could take advantage of one of these and save yourself money on the door price. We are glad the Moshi Monsters were a hit with you we are getting really used to having them about the place. Apologies about the coffee, I will pass your comments on to our catering manager. We hope you and your family will visit us again soon. Let us know if you do and I will arrange for a complimentary drink for you in the café. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Nice aquarium to visit and the staff are really nice. Pity we missed the otters being out but got to see the rest. Not as big as deep sea world etc. but good for a wee visit to see the fishes. Worth checking out but £13 p/p is a little steep for small aquarium.

Thank Vixen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn A, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for your comments and I’m really happy that we made you feel welcome at the aquarium. It’s a shame that you missed the otter feeding which is held at 11.00 and 15.00 each day, as they truly are characters. We have over 40 displays and over 500 species, with the ‘largest collection of sharks in Scotland’ so I’m really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. If you visit us again in the future we do offer 30% discount when you pre book your tickets online so this does represent even better value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium also viewed

 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing