We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable day out!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium

Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium
Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Balloch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SEA LIFE Loch Lomond Aquarium is just 30 minutes from Glasgow, situated on the stunning Loch Lomond Shores. Explore an amazing underwater world and take a fascinating journey from the Loch Lomond shores to the ocean depths through 7 themed zones, including our Tropical Ocean Tunnel. Get up close to over 5000 creatures, including Scotland's only Giant Green Sea Turtle, the largest collection of sharks in Scotland and our playful family of otters. Find out how it feels to touch a starfish, crab and other creatures living in our interactive rockpool then head to our Observation Deck for unrivalled views of Loch Lomond, or relax in our welcoming cafe. With fun talks, animal feeds, special events and our quiz trail, there's plenty for everyone to enjoy at SEA LIFE Loch Lomond. The aquarium offers great fun for all the family, whatever the weather!
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An enjoyable day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I took my four and two year old sons to the aquarium and they had a fantastic time. It was the perfect size with just the right number of exhibits to keep them interested and entertained but not overwhelmed or exhausted.
They particularly enjoyed the room where they could see the animals up close and even stroke some of them. The four year old was fascinated by the manta rays and still talks about them [a lot!] nearly two months later!
The staff were all friendly and made a big effort to engage my boys. Such a pleasure to go somewhere where children's natural curiosity is positively encouraged and the boys loved learning more about the creatures they had thus far only seen in books and on TV.
All in all a very enjoyable day out and one I would definitely recommend for families with preschool children.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank eliseatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Elise

We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful day at our centre! It sounds like your son may be a budding Aquarist! Thanks again for these wonderful comments they will be passed on to the staff – And we will give our rays a big SEA LIFE smile from your sons!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    217
    176
    87
    50
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fun, bit pricey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Lots to see. Excellent staff. Beautiful views from top floor. £38 for 2 adults and 1 child. A lot of money, given that an hour and a half is more than enough time to get round it all. However, a great place and the children loved it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scotlandgoldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Scotlandgolilocks

We are so pleased that you and your children enjoyed the centre and had a fantastic day out. We are thrilled you found our staff excellent and these comments will be passed on. However, we are sorry that you felt that the centre did not offer excellent value for money. We monitor guest perception on this issue very closely and happily the vast majority believe they get excellent value for money. We also take into consideration the prices charged by competitors, both in the aquarium sector and in other leisure attractions, and are confident our pricing, given the quality of our offering, is extremely competitive. You said that you were in and out of the centre in an hour and a half. It is a shame you did not take advantage of your open day ticket – this allows you to re-enter the attraction as many times as you like during the same day. This means you can take advantage of all of the feeds and talks we have running throughout the day, many of which last 25 minutes and offer guests a deeper insights into the amazing creatures we have here.

We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Local interest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ifeel the real disadvantage of this is the price, if you are a family with a couple of kids it can work out quite expensive, if the price was more reasonable it is a great rainy day outing

Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Susan
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you felt your experience did not represent good value. We monitor guest perception on this issue very closely and happily the vast majority believe they get excellent value for money. We also take into consideration the prices charged by competitors, both in the aquarium sector and in other leisure attractions, and are confident our pricing, given the quality of our offering, is extremely competitive – making us a great place to visit whatever the weathre. One factor which may have a bearing is the time taken to investigate each of our displays. Sea creatures seldom line up to be admired of course, and those who derive most from a visit to Sea Life are invariably those who linger at each display and make sure they see everything, if necessary asking one of our friendly staff to help point out the more elusive creatures and explain some of their fascinating features. We sincerely hope you will visit again and explore more thoroughly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

i have been several times with freinds and there kids as always the kids enjoyed in saying that the adults were more excited lol its near balloch so it is a full day out if you travelling public transport from glasgow and tires the kids out

Helpful?
Thank angelina_med
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Angelina

We are so pleased that you have been to see us here at the centre a number of times and have enjoyed your visits! It is a testament to the wonderful staff, and creatures we have here that people like yourself return again and again!! Sorry you find the journey to us difficult with children; the easiest way to reach us from Glasgow is to come into Balloch train station – from there it is an easy five minute walk to us (you can even walk down by the river and take in views of the Loch on route)! We hope to welcome you and your friends here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sea Life”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

As much as this was a wonderful visit with many interesting fish it is definatly more family orientated. It is small and doesn't have much in it

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caspaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
HI Caspaterson

Many thanks for your feedback. We are sorry you felt the attraction was too geared towards family visitors, and while we make no apology for doing our utmost to engage children as thoroughly as possible...they being the future custodians and guardians of our oceans and all that dwells in them...we also strive to provide ample interest for parents and adults too. Naturally this can be a delicate balancing act, and in order not to swamp every visitor with information and signage, we do have to make as much our interpretation, whether written or verbal, simple enough for all to comprehend. Our primary target market is families with young children, and in the vast majority of cases the parents in such families do appreciate our efforts to enthral and entertain their children without Mum or Dad having to constantly explain and interpret for them. We do, however, also wish to cater for adults with a particular interest, and any one of our friendly staff members will take time to assist if approached.


Additionally, we are sorry that you felt the attraction was too small, we feature in the region of 5,000 sea creatures of more than 100 species! The quality of the environments we provide both inside and outside the tanks is, we believe, second to none. But it takes more than a quick glance to spot all our fishy residents and to appreciate their finer qualities. That’s why we have talks and feeds which run throughout the day, each lasting between 15-25 minutes; these allow guests to gain a greater understanding about the amazing creatures we have here in the centre. Additionally, we have a our Loch View café and look out with breathtaking views across the loch; and with a ticket which allows you to come in and out of the attraction as many times as you like during the day of purchase you are able to enjoy the centre at a leisurely pass. We hope your unsatisfactory experience on your first visit will not deter you from visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing