We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal, great service!”

The Boat House at Cameron House
Ranked #8 of 25 Restaurants in Balloch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, great service!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ate at this restaurant twice, as were staying at Cameron House. Lovely restaurant, with great views of Loch Lomond, and lovely atmosphere. The food was excellent, best mussels I have had for a long time, and huge portion for a stater. The staff were very friendly and obviously well trained, as the service and the knowledge of the food and wine was excellent. Not cheap, but worth a visit for a special occasion, my bill was helped by the use of a Gourmet Society card, which gave a 25% discount.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank steverose47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    239
    181
    113
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner with a group of friends yesterday with high hopes given the setting. However much to our disappointment this was an unbelievably large let down from start to finish. Our table was booked for 1730, and when we arrived we were told it wasn't ready yet and asked to wait in the bar area. This wait was for around 20 minutes and we were completely ignored with no offer of taking drinks orders etc. when we were finally taken through we were surprised to see the dining room was essentially empty, making the news to not have the table ready all the more baffling. There was a dirty napkin left on the middle of our table - seemingly abandoned and missing cutlery. Our drinks orders were finally taken but then took another 20 mins to arrive!! Both draft beers had run out which was also a shame. Drinks came at 1810 when we had been there for 40 minutes so not ideal when we needed to leave by 1915. We also had to send 1 drink back as there was lipstick all around the glass.

The menu was pretty good yet fairly pricey, but not unexpected given the location. No bread was offered to the table which is surprising nowadays IMO, especially when it is supposedly a top end eatery.

The fish & chips were nice as was the paella. However the tuna steak was completely over cooked, by a long long way, and was incredibly dry and chewy. This was around £17 too. The pizza looked pretty uncooked and lacking much topping and the prawn curry was average (it turns out the couple sharing this were up ill last night - the curry being the main suspect!!).

When we asked for bread we were informed they had none ready & in the process of cooking it still. Preparation not a strong point here!!

The men's toilets had a bin completely overflown with dirty tissues with an enormous pile on the floor which is pretty embarrassing really. Made me think it hadn't been attended too in days which is fairly rank.

When the bill came they charged us for large glasses of wine (£11 each) which wasn't the order and had automatically included service charge which we swiftly removed.

Overall a bitterly disappointing experience. Shockingly slow service, average food, pricey & poor attention from staff. I was unsurprised to hear the people beside us complain & remove the service charge too.

Avoid this restaurant would be my advice. Worst iv experienced for a very very long time!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank evansmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Ate here whilst staying at Cameron House Hotel..........great setting, staff very attentive and pleasant..would highly recommend visiting

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honestypays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were spending a night a the Cameron House Hotel for my wife's birthday and decided to have dinner at the Boat House. The restaurant looks great and is well situated at the head of Loch Lomond overlooking the marina. It was very busy and the staff were a bit over stressed. I ordered Haddock & chips for my main coarse, the fish was great but the chips tasted like oven chips - very dry and tasteless. My wife's salmon was very good so she had no complaints. For dessert I ordered a knickerbocker glory but all it was a tall dish filled with trifle and a blob of cream on top.
The food and service was no better than a Pizza Hut and was a big disappointment for a 5* hotel. The cost for our two courses came to £76 including a grossly inflated bottle of Chilean wine at £24.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Felt compelled to write a review after retrospectively checking existing reviews after visiting. Service was very good with attentive staff at hand. We were there early (5.30) and the place was quiet however as we left we noticed the place getting busy and an army of staff apparently on duty. (Perhaps concerns raised earlier have been listened to?) Food itself was very nice though is expensive for what it is however expected this given the venue (£74 for two main courses, two starters and two glasses of wine). Our 1 year old son was with us and they were attentive and friendly towards him also providing hot water so we could warm a food pouch or him which we had taken with us as he wouldn't have done any justice to anything on the children's menu.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevetgp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat House at Cameron House also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to The Boat House at Cameron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing