We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice family meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lochside - CLOSED

The Lochside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Lochside Restaurant is situated in Balloch on Loch Lomond, amidst some of the the finest Scenery in Central Scotland.Our Chefs’ prepare the finest local ingredients to offer a varied menu of delicious foods all cooked fresh everyday!
Balloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice family meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have eaten here a few times now and food and service are excellent. Best to book to save being disappointed. Hidden gem.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    77
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Lochside had a lovely, comfortable set out, tables had plenty room but not to distant from each other as we could talk and enjoy our meal. The meal was out of this world and very good value, we were there on the occasion of my nieces pre wedding meal,. I can say that everyone had something positive to say about their meal.My starter was haggis and black pudding it was so moist and tasted fantastic then I had steak with French potatoes cos cant spell the French word. it was amazing will definetly go back real soon.Tthe chef John was congratulated at the end of the evening as everyone wanted to meet him, And a special thank you to John from my family the Livingstones we stayed at the Lochside and it was really comfortable and friendly and thank you for breakies and a special thank you to your staff Diane who kept me going with tea and so sorry cant remember the young lads name they were really nice to us Thank you and see you soon, Helen Livingstone

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenandDave5047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgpw
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dont even waste ur time.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Outside it says food served all day,we thought great,menu looked good aswell.Stood for ages next to the bar which was covered in dirty dishes,for a lady to come out the back and handed us a sheet of paper and said the chefs on lunch the boy (pointedthrew the back)will make these,i looked up to see a boy playing with his long hair in the kitchen,preparing food.Did she seriously think we would stay and eat there.

Helpful?
3 Thank scottysayslookout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't bother they have no food !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Went in here for a Sunday roast dinner about 5pm, as they advertised 'food served all day until 10pm' We sat down to what was a very limited menu to start with & requested a starter each which they had run out of (can't remember what) so chose something else we didn't really want. Then asked for the Sunday Roast, ALL meats of which they had run out of ! So we left..... Tip to the owners of The Lochside advertise ' Food available ....until we run out ......'

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocca94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value and delicious food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Although in an unassuming setting, this lovely little restaurant offers fantastic food and is excellent value for money.
Although described as 'British cuisine', there are a few little touches for the more ambitious diner. The vegetable tempura was fresh and beautifully cooked and Tuscan sausage and mushroom pasta was absolutely delicious. The chef obviously knew what he or she was doing and the service was excellent - attentive, friendly but not at all intrusive.
Highly recommended and would definitely visit again if I return to this area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jools3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lochside also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing