We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food at good prices”
Review of The Lochside - CLOSED

The Lochside
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Lochside Restaurant is situated in Balloch on Loch Lomond, amidst some of the the finest Scenery in Central Scotland.Our Chefs’ prepare the finest local ingredients to offer a varied menu of delicious foods all cooked fresh everyday!
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food at good prices”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I visiited the Lochside and it was a nice surprise to find it was not part of a chain, this was obvious as the food was great and just that bit different,the service was very friendly I would definitely return here to try some other dishes and would say it is well worth a try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 704michaelm704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    77
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gourmet Food at Early Bird Prices!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Although this restaurant is highly rated, we didn't know what to expect and were pleasantly surprised. We had the delicious two course menu (and ended up having 3 courses) and had a wide range of choice. Very well presented and delicious food, friendly and honest service. We would be more than happy to come back to this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not worth the travel”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Having read the good reviews on trip advisor I'm sorry to say I'm surprised this place has the number one spot. Having travelled from Glasgow I was expecting good things but left disappointed. The food was ok, nothing special and quite greasy especially, the curry which had the chicken dripping in grease. I found the food overpriced too and definitely not value for money. The atmosphere was quite, but to be expected during an earlier midweek sitting however the decor wasn't the best. On a positive the staff were friendly and attentive and the drive up was stunning as always however the food needs to improve, not recommended I'm afraid.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gafferz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend it.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was incredibly hard to find & from the moment we stepped through the door, we've been disappointed. To enter the rooms, you have to walk across a stone pebble garden & in through an emergency fire exit door. The rooms are all up 2 flights of stairs & the hallways are dark & hard to see. Our room (#1) looks like it's just been remodelled, but on a very cheap budget. The doors are opened & locked with old skeleton type keys & whilst there is a deadbolt facade there, the mechanism has been removed. The room was freezing cold with wall heaters in it that don't work. I asked the staff how the room could be made warmer (as I'm sick) & was told that "they" control the temperature. I asked for it to be warmer, but after leaving for dinner & returning, it's still very cold. There's a lip on the floor under the carpet thats right next to the bed, one of the main room lights doesn't work, the toilet has no toilet roll holder, the toilet takes a good 10 mins to fill before anyone can flush it again, the shower door doesn't close, you have to key lock yourself in the room, half the appliances in the room haven't been plugged in & honestly, the whole place is just cheaply done. There's also a noisy pub directly across the street. I'm so disappointed that our last 2 days in Scotland will be spent in this place. Everywhere else we've stayed up to here has been fantastic. Really wouldn't recommend this place at all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGirlsNextDoorAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Food and service was awesome! That's why rated #1 . Mussels were amazing! Good food, friendly service, not pretentious. No seaside views but its really good!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lcmjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lochside also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing