We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No parliano Italiano”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lochside - CLOSED

The Lochside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Lochside Restaurant is situated in Balloch on Loch Lomond, amidst some of the the finest Scenery in Central Scotland.Our Chefs’ prepare the finest local ingredients to offer a varied menu of delicious foods all cooked fresh everyday!
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No parliano Italiano”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

For the off the menu is too big it is trying to be all things to all people, It does not work you dilute your product and degrade the quality of what you are offering. Sourcing does not appear to be up to much - bragging about Simon Howie being your butcher is a little crazy (supermarket butcher). Service is good here, drinks arrive quickly, staff are nice if a little inexperienced (sadly all to common these days). Pizza is rubbish i would bet the only reason they sell pizza is the last owners(Italians) left a pizza oven installed. Maybe the chef should learn to use it properly. My pizza was soggy in the middle and the dough tasted a little high( probably bought in) I think a lot of the food here is bought in.Such a shame as I have loved this place in the past, Oh well times change.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S-worksrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    77
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deserved praise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

After reading an advert about the new ownership locally, I was looking for a change to our usual eateries to take my mother out to for a relaxed meal, we were not let down, the staff were really friendly and caring, without being overpowering, the food was of a very high standard, well done to the chef and all of the staff, the menu is great, this standard nowadays is few and far between, long will this eatery be succesfull and grow, many thanks for a lovely experience, from a local resident.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I recently had a family meal at The Lochside the service was very attentive and the meal was well cooked and nicely presented.
Overall was pleasantly surprised when it came to paying the bill was was excellent value for money and will certainly be returning on my next visit north of the border

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronski1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“From edinburgh aHad a fantastic meal here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Came to balloch for the weekend from edinburgh and the lochside was iur first stop for food.Great food,staff were fantastic and manager was very helpfully and welcoming!! Fish was top!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevmcmillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Did we go to a different place??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Dining room was like a 1970s restaurant, only two other tables on and the atmosphere was flat. The music was terrible and very annoying, it was like a mixture of someone's Now tapes from the 90s. Food was average, we both had fish and chips. Presented nicely in a basket but it was a bit greasy. Service was a bit over the top, the waitress must have asked if everything was OK about ten times in a 45 minute stay.

All in all a strange and not very enjoyable experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greggc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lochside also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing