We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience - Please read to avoid this happening to you”

Loch Lomond Boat Hire
Ranked #13 of 20 things to do in Balloch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a fantastic day out onboard our fleet of new self drive motor boats. Located at Loch Lomond Shores, Balloch on the Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond (25 minutes by car from Glasgow Airport) we are ideally situated to explore the Loch and its many islands.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked this for a friends birthday and although the boat experience itself was good, when we were coming back to shore the wind took the boat slightly off course of the jetty and as we approached the shore - very slowly by the way - the incredibly unhelpful guy that was standing at the jetty watched us (whilst chatting to a pal) as we struggled and slightly scuffed the stones before we were able to reverse back to the jetty. He then shouted immediately in a very rude manner 'that's just cost you your deposit (which was £100)...... so after inspection of the propeller he told us it was damaged and we would be losing our deposit. Now first of all, the propeller wasn't checked before we set sail and secondly, surely this company must have insurance for amateurs that go out on these boats every day. I feel this guy was just too quick to say we had lost our deposit,so please be aware that on giving a hundred pounds deposit you have a very good chance of losing it for the slightest wee scuff (that could have happened before you took the boat). Get the propellers checked before you get on the boat. What started off a reasonably cheap day turned out a very expensive one.

5  Thank Ju-Nor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochlomondboathire, Manager at Loch Lomond Boat Hire, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We do provide customers with a familiarisation and safety handover prior to departure at which stage we advise customers how to depart from the landing jetty, to follow the bouyed channel and how to stay clear of shallow water. The hire agreement is very similar to one that you would sign when hiring a car and states our hire terms and conditions including full details of our damage/security deposit procedure, which you signed to accept when hiring. We do hold full insurance for all vessels however we have to cover the 1st £300 cost of any claim.

Having discussed the matter with the team it would appear that you disregarded the instruction to stay within the bouyed channel upon your return and as such you ran aground and damaged the propeller.

Our boats are regularly checked for damage and none had been identified on your boat prior to departure.

Whilst it was unfortunate that you ran aground, we were left without the boat being available until earlier today when a new propeller could be fitted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

30 - 34 of 71 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Get there early to get a boat. In this world of "health and safety gone mad" it was a delight to be allowed to pilot our own boat on the lovely loch Lomond. Staff were very helpful, plenty of good advice and recommendations and the whole activity was a lot of fun. V good. Would definitely recommend.

1  Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochlomondboathire, Manager at Loch Lomond Boat Hire, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thanks for the review.

We are glad you had a good time and look forward to welcoming you to Loch Lomond again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Having read one or two reviews on here prior to booking, I was a bit unsure whether to go ahead or not. But since the majority were good reviews, we thought ....."go for it".
On arrivial our boat wasn't ready and we had to wait 30 mins for one to arrive......but to be fair we were running late and had a booking for 12 noon, and arrived at 12.45! So it was only fair that they released our boat, and we waited for the next available one.
The guys onshore couldn't have been more helpful, gave a good safety briefing, advised some do's and don'ts, kitted us out with life jackets and away we went.
We took a 3 hour hire, and to be honest, if you want to reach some of the islands this is really the minimum time that you should allow. We travelled up to Inchmoan Island, which had a lovely beach, where we stopped and had a picnic lunch. After luch we headed back navigating through a couple of other island and arrived back just in time.
The weather on the day was a bit overcast, and a bit of a breeze, but when the sun came out was really nice. The scenery was awesome.
Our part consisted of 2 adults and 3 kids (6yr, 4yr, 2yr), and we did wonder if they would be content and sit for three hours. However, with each of them taking turns at driving the boat, they were more than happy with the trip.
The boats weren't overly fast, but who wants a fast boat? We were there for a relaxing, unhurried, get away from it all, trip. Which is exactly what it was! The boat we felt was safe and secure.
It was my wife's 30th birthday present, and I can truly say the whole family had a wonderful experience!

1  Thank RumblinTum235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The first time we turned up to be told that we never had a boat available and they were all broken. No apology was offered and the man didn't care anyway that we had two disappointed young boys.
The second time we turned up and were told the boats weren't sailing as it was too windy. We spent an hour travelling again with no advanced warning.

This company is dreadful and has no idea how to treat customers. Don't waste your money.

6  Thank Gaulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochlomondboathire, Manager at Loch Lomond Boat Hire, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Gaulty,

Thank you for your post.

We do apologise for any inconvenience caused on both occasions. The customer service issue that you raised on your first visit had been raised with the team. Unfortunately on your second visit the weather deteriorated rapidly during the day and we were unable to reach all customers by telephone prior to their arrival.

Unfortunately if wind conditions are unsuitable we simply cannot let boats depart.

If you would be good enough to get in touch direct we will offer a full refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Mark is a true gent and knows how to treat people well.
Gavin is a excellent knowledgeable helpful young man.
Went with groupon voucher last week due to mechanical difficulties we had to cut short our boat trip .
Mark suggested we come back again and offered us a bigger boat and an extra hour. What a fantastic gesture,a true gentleman.
My son and I enjoyed a wet loch lomond a truly breath taking area dry or wet.
The customer service is tremendous.
The try very hard and always do their best even on days when people run aground and jam the boats.
When many men would panic and lose their heads, mark and the team stay calm and run a steady ship.
We will be back.
If like my wife you get sea sick you can enjoy marks exceptional coffee by the Bonnie banks.

1  Thank beafrrespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochlomondboathire, Manager at Loch Lomond Boat Hire, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your time on the water and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Lomond Boat Hire also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Loch Lomond Boat Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing