We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenfern Guest House
Ranked #7 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Memories”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Frank and Susan are considerate hosts. We enjoyed a comfortable room and Frank was always ready to lend a helping hand. Location is central. Park and forget the car and enjoy an easy stroll to the heart of Balloch happenings.
Ivan and Margaret

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    20
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We only stayed one night at the guesthouse. Frank (the proprietor) was very friendly and helpful.
The guesthouse was clean and well looked after and the breakfast was good.
A lovely place to stay and only a short walk to the Marina area and the loch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights here with a group of 8 people.............so we had all 4 rooms.
All rooms were nice, self-contained, well-serviced.

Frank & Susan were very good hosts and couldn't do enough for us all.

The location is central and it is easy to visit places around Loch Lomond area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Friendly welcome, great breakfast and good location. Frank was very helpful and also introduced me to their dogs, which I love. He was concerend about us being ok and enjoying our stay. Thank you. Francisco and Marta, from Segovia, Spain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very welcoming and accommodating host. Great location. Good value for money. Highly recommended. Very close to restaurants, pubs, good walks, beautiful scenery and other awesome attractions. Host is very knowledgeable about local attractions

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashwinshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This guest house is perfectly located for explore the Loch Lomond and Stirling. The owners are lovely (we have loved your breakfasts, Frank!!) and the house is cosy!

Everything was perfect!

Silvia and Sergio

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBlister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This stop was en-route from Lands End to JohnO'Groats on our bicycle. All our accommodation was prearranged by Peak Tours so we did not select this B & B however we were very impressed with the location, amenities, rooms and friendliness of Frank. On arrival having ridden for approx 75 miles we were very tired and ready for a hot shower, dinner and an early night. Frank met us in the yard, took our bikes and locked them in his shed, showed us to a great room, informed us where to eat within easy walking distance, took our wet riding clothes and dried them for the following day and made sure we were connected to wi-fi. Our room was extremely comfortable, quiet which allowed us to have a good nights sleep ready for another big day on the bike. Breakfast was plentiful and excellent for cyclists and Franks knowledge of the local area and further afield was impressive. We would certainly recommend this B & B for any traveller.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.1 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#18 of 24 in Balloch
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gowanlea Guest House
Gowanlea Guest House
#4 of 24 in Balloch
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfern Guest House

Property: Glenfern Guest House
Address: 2 Drumkinnon Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenfern Guest House is situated in the delightful village of Balloch, where a warm and friendly welcome awaits you from the owners, Susan and Frank Deans. Their wish- to make your stay in this beautiful spot as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. The Guest House is just a short stroll from the southern shore of Loch Lomond, in Scotland's first National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Glenfern Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfern Guest House Balloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing