We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty to amuse the whole family”
Review of Loch Lomond Shores

Loch Lomond Shores
Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Balloch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Loch Lomond Shores is a stunning visitor destination set on the southern tip of Loch Lomond. With views up the Loch to Ben Lomond, the scenery is amazing. Come for the day and visit our lovely shops, our great Aquarium, Bird of Prey Centre, Aerial Adventure Course, Adventure Golf and have lunch or refreshments in one of our eateries, or simply let the kids enjoy our playpark whilst you sit back and relax. If you want to get even more active then you can hire bikes, boats, canoes, Segways, quadricycles or just sit back on a loch cruise or waterbus and let someone else do the hard work.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed April 23, 2014

A nice place to visit - lovely views up the Loch and of The Maid of the Loch. A small visitor centre and gift shop. Lots of cafes, shopping village including House of Fraser, SeaWorld and a Birds of Prey Centre.

1  Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

We are indeed very lucky to be in such a beautiful spot, thanks for taking time to review your visit to Loch Lomond Shores.
We do hope that you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
There are newer reviews for Loch Lomond Shores
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 608 of 753 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a beautiful location, particularly on a sunny day. The views are stunning. While a good place for a bite of lunch or afternoon snack, none of the restaurant choices are really up to snuff. Given the amazing location, a really good restaurant would be a bonus here. Some shopping. Again, pretty good, but a bit more variety would be nice. They have lots of festivals and outdoor markets here on the weekends, lots of times with live music. It is always very crowded then, but a really good, fun energy. Again, cannot emphasize enough what a spectacular view from here. Lots of parking and play area for the children. Boat rentals as well.

2  Thank intrepidtraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and if you had the sunshine too then you would have really seen Loch Lomond in all its glory.
Your feedback on the eating and shopping mix is appreciated, and we do strive to continually grow and improve on our offering to meet the needs of our visitors.
We hope that you come back soon to enjoy Loch Lomond and some of great events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I popped in for lunch in cafe Zest in Jenners.. we were delighted when we spotted the gluten free sandwiches as I'm a celiac. It cost £1 more for gluten free bread but it really wasn't worth it all. I asked for the prawn paprika sandwich which on the original had salad and paprika with the prawns.. the gluten free version was on the most bland and dry white tasteless bread imaginable, it had too much mayo with no paprika - I had to scrap some of the mayo off to make it edible, there was no salad on it and frankly to say it was awful is an understatement.

Being celiac I know it's possible to find good gluten free bread.. the bread was terrible, I suggest whom ever does the buying to taste a sandwich that you sell with the gluten free bread and make up your own mind about whether it should have a place on your menu. However it wasn't only the bread.. the sandwich filling was poor as well as it was clearly made in a big hurry with no thought to the end result.

The soup had gluten based thickener but I was impressed that the guy on the counter was aware of that, so although I didn't enjoy the food - at least the staff are gluten aware and that was appreciated - as it saved me a stomach ache.

1  Thank SophieNam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you sending in your comments, and I will pass them directly to the team at Cafe Zest.
Your feedback is really very much appreciated, as I know that they are enthusiastic to offer a wide selection of foods that will allow all visitors to eat within their premises, but we don't wish to compromise on quality.
I do hope that you come back again to visit Loch Lomond Shores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Visited on Friday, lovely views & excellent service the staff are rushed off their feet but still gave good service, nice to see young people working hard, food was nice good selection of cakes, nice atmosphere would definitely visit again

Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and we have passed this on to the team at Cafe on the Loch who will be thrilled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This a good little find, were a couple of shops and cafes on the Loch, very near our hotel (Cameron House) so we popped here to Jenners for some lunch, had a Thorntons too and few other shops and a Sea life centre.

Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and for visiting Loch Lomond Shores. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we do hope you return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Lomond Shores also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Loch Lomond Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing