We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boring” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Lomond Shores

Loch Lomond Shores
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Balloch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Loch Lomond Shores is a stunning visitor destination set on the southern tip of Loch Lomond. With views up the Loch to Ben Lomond, the scenery is amazing. Come for the day and visit our lovely shops, our great Aquarium, Bird of Prey Centre, Aerial Adventure Course, Adventure Golf and have lunch or refreshments in one of our eateries, or simply let the kids enjoy our playpark whilst you sit back and relax. If you want to get even more active then you can hire bikes, boats, canoes, Segways, quadricycles or just sit back on a loch cruise or waterbus and let someone else do the hard work.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Boring”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Lifeless and gloomy with shops that wouldn't have looked out of place decades ago. Great if all you wish to purchase is walking and outward bound attire or cheap and tacky "nick naks". A waste of time and petrol getting there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hello, we are really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit. January has been rather grey on the banks of Loch Lomond this year, and it really does take away from what is normally a beautiful spot with amazing views up to Ben Lomond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    228
    93
    35
    44
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not much there!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Really not much to see! Views of the loch from there are not great and the stores are a bit plain.
It's well advertised and I expected much more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank claire w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit and are sad to hear that you visited on a day that you couldn't see the view right up the Loch with Ben Lomond towering in the background. We hope that you can return on a clear day and see the beauty of Loch Lomond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if passing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here when passing through. Its probably the most built up area of Loch Lomond. Woeth popping by if you want to visit the shops, aquarium or the larger tourist information visitor centre. Worth timing a visit with the market which stops by on two Sundays of the month.

Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thanks Dave, we are glad to you popped in on the way past and we hope that you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Kilted skirlie”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Food horrible , tasteless, service appalling. Forgot to bring starters no apology just "oh there has been a mix up with your order" Would not recommend this for a place to eat the menu had little flair and no imagination. Better of eating in the restaurant in the jenners section.

Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clareandcolin, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Tom, I am really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to the Kilted Skirlie restaurant which is based at Loch Lomond Shores. I have passed your feedback on to the owner and he has promised to look into this incident.
I do hope that you come back to visit Loch Lomond Shores as I can assure you that our business do endeavour to meet the needs of their customers, and I know that your feedback will be taken on board to assist with this process.
Should you wish to speak directly with, or email, the Kilted Skirlie directly then call 01389 754759 or email enquiries@kiltedskirlie.co.uk
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callander, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Excellent day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent a lovely although cold day, at Loch Lomond Shores, mainly for shopping but we ended up going on a walk around the area and stumbled on the Bird of Prey Centre - what a fantastic place. Well worth a visit if you are in the area, as is Loch Lomond Shores.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Markeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to Loch Lomond Shores. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your day, but that you visited the wonderful Loch Lomond Bird of Prey Centre - we are so pleased to have this new fabulous attraction on our site.
We hope that you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Lomond Shores also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
 

Been to Loch Lomond Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing