We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing too much trouble”
Review of Loch Lomond Shores

Loch Lomond Shores
Ranked #5 of 19 things to do in Balloch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Loch Lomond Shores is a stunning visitor destination set on the southern tip of Loch Lomond. With views up the Loch to Ben Lomond, the scenery is amazing. Come for the day and visit our lovely shops, our great Aquarium, Bird of Prey Centre, Aerial Adventure Course, Adventure Golf and have lunch or refreshments in one of our eateries, or simply let the kids enjoy our playpark whilst you sit back and relax. If you want to get even more active then you can hire bikes, boats, canoes, Segways, quadricycles or just sit back on a loch cruise or waterbus and let someone else do the hard work.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had coffee with friends, good place to meet and child friendly. my grand daughter loved it. Plenty of free car parking.

Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. It is great to get feedback from our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 650 of 760 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Another lovely visit with added bonus of watching some of Swim Scotland & browsing the stalls. Nice walks & a chance to go onboard the 'Maid of the Loch'. Will be back for the Food Fair advertised for 14/15 Sept. A great place for all ages!!

Thank elletech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

The Maid of the Loch is just superb, we're glad to hear that you managed to visit it whilst you were here. We look forward to your return visit for the Food & Drink Festival. See you then!
Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lots of nice shops, and places to eat.
lots of parking .sealife centre as well, which we didn't go into as feel seen one , seen them all.
didn't get chance to browse the stalls out side as it poured with rain.

Thank barb1cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

I always feel like apologising for the rain when it spoils people's visits, but then I need to remember that what makes Scotland so beautiful is the fact there is so much rain to keep it green. I am so glad that you still had a pleasant visit to us and thank you so much for taking time to review your visit. I do hope that you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

As regulars to Loch Lomond over the past 14 years no visit would be complete for us without going to Loch Lomond Shores. Great on a fine day but welcome refuge when it rains.

We loved the market stalls and hope this is remains a fixture over future summers.

We still miss the original feature of the McKinnon Tower's celebration of Loch Lomond. It's such a shame that we can no longer visit the rooftop cafe and the outstanding loch views unless as customers of the ubiquitous Sea Life Centre. While we have visited the Sea Life Centre once, it's not somewhere we would go every year.

Though the Shores does have a lovely terrace cafe the opportunity to wind our way up that gentle tower staircase is a real loss. The SLC would do well to make that cafe available to all Shore's visitors.

Thank DeeGeeEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you regularly visit us and that you enjoy the markets - don't worry they will be here ongoing as we love them too!
Next time you come, if you go into the Aquarium and ask to use the cafe and view point then they will give you access to that without having to access the Aquarium - this is not a problem whatsoever and they will get you up there to enjoy the breathtaking views.
Enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Really nice place to go and visit as an added extra to a day. Stalls selling good and crafts and a chance to hire boats if you fancy. Not massive but lots around if you wanted to walk further.

Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Lomond_Shores, Manager at Loch Lomond Shores, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

We are glad to hear that you had a nice day at Loch Lomond Shores, and thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Lomond Shores also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to Loch Lomond Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing