We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brillant time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tullie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tullie Inn
Ranked #17 of 26 Balloch B&B and Inns
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“brillant time”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

me and the wife stayed here over the new year period we stayed here for 3 days from the 30th of december 2013 to 2nd of january 2014 it is well worth staying here worth every penny the staff are very helpful and very friendly food is excellent scottish breakfast is well worth having and a walk down loch lomond and to see all the good views to see is breath taking so beautiful we been quite a few times and loved it every time we go

Room Tip: ask for rooms number 4 and 6 best ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at Tullie Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    108
    60
    45
    45
See reviews for
71
162
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I will start with the only positive.
The tullie inn's decor is lovely, a cracking looking place, almost homely and nice and warm.
I had fish chips and mushy peas of which there was a spoonful and that's not an exaggeration. The chips were the only part of the meal which was hot!
Service was pretty poor even though there was plenty staff and when we asked for the bill we were charged for two glasses of wine, a burger and chocolate brownie which we never even had. You would think after adding an extra twenty odd Quid to the bill they would be profusely apologising, nope hardly a word apart from sorting the bill so beware and check before you pay!!!!
Could be a lovely place but won't be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Concettaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at Tullie Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that your visit was not up to standard. I wish you had informed us that your meal was not hot as we could of rectified this straight away. As for the service this is not acceptable and I will be investigating this further. I do hope this will not put you off returning in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Balloch hotels

Drayton Parslow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a lovely meal in the Tullie with Friends at Hogmanay and then went on to party through the bells with an excellent band called The Daddy Naggins.

The service at the Tullie is consistently excellent and the food is very good indeed - we have never had a bad meal there, so a bit confused about some of the other reviews.

The ambiance of the place is just lovely and it's really good value for money too

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at Tullie Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. We are always delighted to receive positive comments as it really boosts the teams moral especially at this time of year when they all work so hard. We look forward to you returning soon.

Kinds Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Thank you to the staff and Daddy Naggins band for a great Hogmanay !!! Never had food here so cant comment. The band did a mix of songs lrish & Scottish folk johnny cash bluegrass some with there own take on it, loved it!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssham07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at Tullie Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. We are all delighted you enjoyed your evening. I have passed your review onto Daddy Naggins who are also delighted with your review.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardross
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We called into Tullie Inn today on a cold wet and windy day of Christmas shopping hoping for a nice warm cozy meal. Tullie Inn had been recommended highly to us. It's new decor is beautiful and just looks the part however it let itself down with the slowest service imaginable, poor good and measly portions. My daughter had steak pie with soggy chips and chuck steak, her friends mac cheese was mediocre and cool certainly not up to 'hot' and just forget the Mediterranean risotto (the portion wouldn't fill a ten year old). It's £1.50 for a smallish coke - not realising we had 5 between us costing £7.50 alone. Certainly won't recommend this eatery to anyone. Very disappointed.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobbiTheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at Tullie Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal. If we had been made aware of your disappointment we could of then rectified any issues you had. As for the Mediterranean Risotto we have a strict portion control as it does state on the menu that it is a 500 calorie dish. I do hope you will give us another chance and visit us again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

With a party of ten for Christmas Lunch. The restaurant and bar is stunning however the meal was very poor, tough beef and frozen veg, starters ans dessert were fine. Service was excellent thanks to our lovely waiter Damien and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at Tullie Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We will take all your comments on board and improve. We do hope this will not put you off visiting us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

stayed here a few times over the years and never had a problem but this time will be the last cheeky and lazy bar staff (was only one on) would not check stock for OVD when it ran out only when we were in the restaurant did we find out that they had bottles this is because of sarah the waitress who was very helpful (thanks) the décor is lovely but the food and menu let it down badly trying to copy the boat house no chance

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, General Manager at Tullie Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you didn't receive the service that you should of. I will be investigation this further as this is not acceptable. I do hope that you will give us another chance as you have enjoyed your previous visits.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 26 in Balloch
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#21 of 26 in Balloch
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palombo's of Balloch
Palombo's of Balloch
#14 of 26 in Balloch
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tullie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tullie Inn

Property: Tullie Inn
Address: Balloch Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tullie Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the most welcoming accommodation Loch Lomond has to offer on the banks of one of Scotland's most famous lochs – the Tullie Inn, Balloch is the ideal choice.We have 5 superior and 8 standard style bedrooms. One of which is a large family suite with double bedroom, en-suite bathroom and adjoining room with 2 single beds. All our bedrooms are located on the upper floor, above our popular lounge bar and restaurant.All our bedrooms are bright and fresh and tastefully decorated. They are fully fitted with all the modern conveniences (including TV, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Tullie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tullie Inn Balloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing