We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Tullie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tullie Inn
Ranked #11 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here with my partner on 2/11/12 and we really enjoyed our stay, from the moment we arrived till we checked out the staff were so friendly and helpfull.

We had an evening meal from The Wine and Dine menu which we both really enjoyed, the room was excellent for £40 which included a full breakfast, and lots of it.

We had one small problem which was we thought that the room was rather cold and that was with the radiator up full, but mind you it is Nov and it was pretty chilly outside.

All in all a really lovely, friendly place to stay and will definately be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluenose999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, Sales Coordinator at Tullie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your review. We will take on board your comments & will improve. We look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 423 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from balloch for a night with hubby and son (7).
Unfortunately I had made an error while booking the Tullie and therefore had to book the hotel across the road "Innkeepers Lodge/Balloch Hotel"...quite luckily I think.
On arrival at the Tullie, while trying to book in I discovered that i had accidentally booked an october date, so while trying to figure this out and check my emails for my confirmation, the lady dealing with our group, seemed quite annoyed that we were checking this and kept repeating "its october youve booked, when you look you'll see its october youve booked!". Give us a chance please. She did redeem herself somewhat when she offered to call around for another hotel.

We booked in across the road and went back to the Tullie for lunch, a group of 4 adults 2 kids. Food order was taken quite quickly, but had to wait an hour for the food and this only happened due to us managing finally to catch sight of a waitress! When i called her over, i explained we had waited over an hour for our food, there was a quick sorry and strangely our food appeared within 5 minutes? had it been lying around in the kitchen waiting to be claimed? Food ok but definitely not worth the wait. Got kids ice cream again after trying to find someone to come to table, as at no time did any of the staff approach our table during our wait or during our meal, to see how things were. Yawn yawn....we asked for the bill and again waited around 10 or so minutes, gave up the ghost for a waitress to come and take the bill away, so we just went to bar to pay. Service appalling, think they have to multitask between bar, kitchen, restaurant and basically run around not knowing where they should be next. Innkeepers lodge definitely on a much higher par andf much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, Sales Coordinator at Tullie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

In response to your review I would like to apologise for the service you received. It is not acceptable that you waited 1 hour for your food & I have discussed this review with the Chef''s so this never happens again. I do hope you will return in the future as this is not the norm.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Area Sales Coordinator
Maclay Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here when dining at Martin Wishart as was much better value than staying at Cameron House. Got a really good rate of £40 bed and breakfast on a Sunday night. Room was large and clean, breakfast was great and service good in bar also. No complaints and would definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nottsscottslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, Sales Coordinator at Tullie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Good Morning,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Area Sales Coordinator
Maclay Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had lunch here while waiting to go on the loch lomond boat trip. there were 5 of us, 4 adults and a teenager. the service was a wee bit slow, 25 mins from sitting down to getting a drink. but it was a Sunday afternoon and it was busy. But not to the point we had to wait for a table. 3 of us had the mussels. the portion was quite small but the sauce was delicious. we asked for bread to mop up the sauce and were surprised to get pan loaf slices even though they have ciabatta on the menu. All in all it was fine. reasonable value for money in relatively pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SUSAN_E_WALLACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, Sales Coordinator at Tullie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. We will take on board all your comments as we strive to offer the best quality & service at all times. I do hope this will not put you off visiting the Tullie Inn in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Area Sales Coordinator
Maclay Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Up for the Festival and stayed here!not really impressed bit grubby all round Bathrooms and Toilets could do with a cleaner.The Tullie could do with being spruced up all round.Service poor Breakfast Poor also.

Room Tip: lucky dip.Havn,t seen any other Rooms.no choice given so don,t know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Del4430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, Sales Coordinator at Tullie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for your review. I would like to apologise for your experience when you stayed at the Tullie. We will take all your comments on board an can assure you these issues will be investigated & rectified.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Area Sales Coordinator
Maclay Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night booked at the last minute for a short break away.
Arrived very early around 10.30am and were greeted by a very nice lady at reception who said our room wasnt ready yet but if we came back about 12.30 she would make sure it was ready by then.
When we went back she showed us up to our room which was very spacious and had everything we needed.
We had lunch in the beer garden,there was a bit of a wait but it was really busy and when the food arrived it was excellent.
We didnt eat there in the evening but there was a quiz night on in the bar later which was great fun.
Breakfast in the morning was very good and lots of it!!
All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would definitely go again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TullieInn, Sales Coordinator at Tullie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay & look forward to welcoming in the future.

Kind Regards
Hazel Woodrow
Area Sales Coordinator
Maclay Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We called the day before to ask if we could check in early as we were attending a wedding. The staff were very accommodating and said that they would get our room cleaned first and be able to check in from 12.
When we arrived, we were shown to our room which ended up being a 2 bedroom family room although it was only the two of us.
The room was well presented with a large bathroom with separate shower and bath.
The only negative was when we headed down for breakfast the following morning and once seated, we were told the menu was on the other side of the room which was a bit annoying as we expected a menu. However, the breakfast was lovely, so as I mentioned it was the only negative of our stay.

We would recommend this hotel to friends and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenje12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
7.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#20 of 24 in Balloch
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterhouse Inn
The Waterhouse Inn
#13 of 24 in Balloch
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tullie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tullie Inn

Address: Balloch Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range: $91 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tullie Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the most welcoming accommodation Loch Lomond has to offer on the banks of one of Scotland's most famous lochs – the Tullie Inn, Balloch is the ideal choice.We have 5 superior and 8 standard style bedrooms. One of which is a large family suite with double bedroom, en-suite bathroom and adjoining room with 2 single beds. All our bedrooms are located on the upper floor, above our popular lounge bar and restaurant.All our bedrooms are bright and fresh and tastefully decorated. They are fully fitted with all the modern conveniences (including TV, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tullie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tullie Inn Balloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing