We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 26 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I took my wife and son to stay at the Valhalla and could not find fault anywhere,Greame and Becky are very friendly and very helpful the rooms are spotless ,very warm and cosy breakfast was first class it is close to transport ,shops and all amenities great value for money would recommend to anyone can't wait to go back. Tommy Janet and Ross

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
75
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and l stayed here for two nightes for new year it was very clean we where in room two clean towels the two days we where there full breakfast in the morning Greame and Becky couldn t do enough for you we would go back ldeal location jim and annette duffy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1951222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights at new year,and greame and Becky couldn't do enough for us.this b and b is right at the train station also ideal if you want to go into Glasgow .the room here was nice and warm beds are comfy the toilets are spotless towels nice and soft in the morning you had a lovely hot breakfast set in a comfortably dinning area .we go to several b and be and this was superb we will be back during summer (highly recommended)
Paul Andrea mcswiggan

Room Tip: Room 4 ideal for couples .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I booked a family room for myself and my 2 kids but had been quoted and accepted a price which was for 4 people. When our hosts realised there were just 3 of us, they reduced the bill, without prompting. Balloch was great, a beautiful evening walk by Loch Lomond, a nice neighbourhood trattoria 2 mins walk from the guest house, secure parking for our bikes and a hearty breakfast as we headed North on our bikes, in the rain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here because of all the wonderful reviews and I was very disappointed with our stay. Positives: the location (right next to the train station), the beds were good, breakfast was fine.
Negatives: Heat turned off in the night (in October) but we only had 2 duvets (for 3 people) which wasn't enough. The atmosphere felt very unwelcoming and hostile. They refused to keep our bag despite our train leaving 8 hours after checkout. We had a door to the outside, but no key. There were curtains over the windows but not the glass door so light came in there and heat out anyways. There was a green fire exit light lit up the whole time over the door we couldn't open. We are used to sleeping in darkness and found this random light waking us up during the night.
Overall, I was highly disappointed with our stay and would not recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anon62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valhallaballoch, Owner at Valhalla Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to post a review of your stay, we take the satisfaction of all our guests very seriously, and are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
I will try to respond to each of the points you raise in your review. After a relatively hot summer which lasted well into September, the central heating for the house was left in summer mode, and therefore did not fire as often through the night as it does in winter mode. All of the other guests prior to your visit had stated they were more than comfortable with the room at night, and we always encourage our guests to mention if anything is not to their satisfaction and we will do our very best to resolve it for them. With regards to the bedding, the room you had booked is a triple room, with a double bed, with a double duvet, and a single bed with a single duvet. This is usually the case with this arrangement, but again, we always do our best to ensure our guests are comfortable, and had you asked for an additional duvet after your first night, we would have been happy to help.
As everyone can see from the other reviews we have received, most people feel very comfortable with us, and we are constantly praised for the homely feeling and warm welcome we present to all of our guests, so we are sorry that you felt uneasy when staying with us.
The comments about the fire exit located in your room, are unfortunately outwith our control. we recently carried out extensive upgrades after recommendations from the local fire officers, and we are now one of the safest accommodations in the area. The green light cannot be covered at night for safety reasons as you can understand, and the light is standard, dimly lit exit lighting. The door usually has a key in the lock to allow for a quick escape, but unfortunately, just before your stay a guest removed the key and they have now posted it back to us. Im sorry if this caused you any inconvenience.
Lastly, you mention about us not being able to hold onto your bags after your checkout on your last day. Normally we do this for our guests as a matter of course, as many would testify, but on the particular day in question, we had a family emergency which meant we had to leave the B&B for the day, and this meant having to lock the property. we explained this to you at the time and you seemed more than happy with the situation. Again we apologise if this caused you inconvenience. We hope that if you are ever in the area again, you will stay with us again, and tell us about any issues with your stay, so that we can remedy them and make your stay more enjoyable.

Kind regards Graeme & Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunter valley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I apologise for the lateness of this review. We stayed with Graeme and Becky for three nights beginning 30th September. We could not have chosen a better place to stay or one which could have been more convenient. This place is just as you would expect to find when visiting a close relative or friend because Graeme and Becky treat everyone who stays there just like they would their own family. The room they chose for us was lovely and tastefully furnished. This and the ensuite were spotlessly clean. The dining room is conveniently situated across the hall from that room. It is pleasantly decorated with lovely prints and wallpaper and overlooks the street through a large picture window. Just across the road is the railway station, one of the main reasons we chose to stop at Valhalla. We decided against driving our car into Glasgow and found the train was more convenient as it only takes 25 minutes to get there and runs at very regular intervals. Graeme suggested several restaurants in the area but we found the Italian restaurant around the corner to be great and we went there for dinner twice.
The breakfast was great. My husband chose the hot breakfast which he enjoyed thoroughly, however after several days of hot breakfasts at the beginning or our holiday I opted for porridge and toast most of the time. Graeme's porridge was right up there with the best.
I would like to thank our hosts for being so accommodating, especially for the sharing of their local knowledge and also the best sites to see in Glasgow where they are originally from. They made our final few days in Scotland the perfect ending to a perfect trip.
Thanks again Graeme and Becky for sharing your lovely home with us.

Room Tip: If you plan to spend any time in Glasgow and you are staying at Valhalla, the railway station is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunterValleyGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

After spending an initial month in 4 and 5 star hotels Valhalla was recommended to me by a high ranking colleague. I could not have expected any better service. The camaraderie and friendly helpfulness of Becky and Graeme made my extended (4 month) stay away from Plymouth feel like a second home. If required to return to the area again for work, my first port of call will be Valhalla! My sincere thanks for the pristine accommodation, wifi, and lovely breakfasts. Ballach is an amazing location in the heart of Loch Lomand with easy access to restaurants, take-aways, scenic locations, tourist attractions and rail to Glasgow and Edinburgh.
Mike G :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 26 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glenfern Guest House
Glenfern Guest House
#5 of 26 in Balloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunnyside B&B
Sunnyside B&B
#2 of 26 in Balloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gowanlea Guest House
Gowanlea Guest House
#4 of 26 in Balloch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valhalla Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valhalla Bed & Breakfast

Property: Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
Address: 14 Tullichewan Road, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast provides quality accommodation right in the very heart of Balloch. Directly next to the railway station, and only a few hundred meters from the picturesque riverside, we have en-suite rooms which can cater for single travellers, or parties of up to seven people. Valhalla's fresh decor, legendary breakfasts, and free wi-fi, mean there is no better choice when staying in the Loch Lomond area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Valhalla Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast Balloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing