We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great service and lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valhalla Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service and lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We went to Balloch to visit our friends and as it was my birthday we decided to stay somewhere other than their couch for once!
Valhalla was an excellent choice and we are so grateful to all the previous reviewers for recommending it. Graeme and Becky were charming and made us feel extremely welcome. The room was gorgeous and impeccably clean and the ensuite shower room was fab too.
Breakfast was lovely - we were asked each evening what we wanted for breakfast, but being quite easy going, we just went for the full Scottish and/or cereal.
The whole experience was fantastic and we will definitely be coming back when we next visit Balloch.
One little tip, would be that they should get a wifi router with a stronger range, as it didn't quite stretch to our room (room 5), but this did not in any way take away from our lovely stay.
Thanks so much x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnickal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
70
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying in the valhalla bnb early this month for a quiet break away with my wife. The room we stayed in was immaculate and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Graeme and becky were very pleasant and made us feel very welcome, Graeme cooked an outstanding full scotish breakfast and then we set off for a romantic walk along the loch witch is right on the door step. Also close by are a range of restaurants and local pubs and lomond shores for things to do If I were to be staying in balloch again I would definately look up Graeme and becky

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colinbts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in August. Friendly hosts, very quiet, with spotlessly clean, fresh and modern rooms. Super location - across the road from the train station (easy to travel into Glasgow), walking distance to some very nice restaurants (we went to Cucina, The Lochside and Stables, all of which I would recommend) and a great base for exploring the stunning Loch Lomond/Trossachs area. Good, free wifi. Off-road parking. Tea/coffee facilities in room. Useful little fridge in the dining room to put stuff in if you want. The only slight downfall of the place for me was the breakfast - the only thing on offer apart from the cooked breakfast was cereal. As I'm not the greatest fan of cooked breakfasts I would have liked to have had more choice apart from this, such as fresh fruit, yoghurt, porridge, juice other than orange. Also everyone seemed to be given a default cooked breakfast - we weren't asked what exactly we did/didn't want and we weren't offered a choice of how we wanted our eggs cooked (until our third morning there). But this is perhaps a case of personal taste and I would still certainly recommend the B&B as a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a lovely nights stay at Valhalla when we were attending a wedding nearby. Graeme and Becky were great hosts, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was spot on! The location is also fantastic, across the road from the train station and a short walk to the country park. Our room was spotlessly clean and lovely and warm for the blustery July day! We will recommend and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank live4ska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for one night in a very rainy day in June, despite that we really enjoyed the place, Becky and Graeme were very nice. The location was comfortable and the breakfast was good.
Unfortunately we didn't have an opportunity to see the town too much :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Becky and Graeme were fantastic hosts! We were there for our anniversary, and they went out of their way to make us welcome. Newly - and very tastefully - furnished, comfy bed, delicious breakfast, free wi-fi, parking...my wife and I have only praise for Valhalla!

The location of being less than a block away from the main street through the city gave us the benefit of being within easy walking distance of just about everything in town, but without the noise of traffic on the main street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of June & were thoroughly impressed. Room was very nice, clean & bright. Breakfasts were good & the location is very central (right by the train station). Not too much to do in Balloch & having travelled up the west coast to Skye etc we found Balloch (where was stayed on the way south) a little run-down/touristy. Had a day in Glasgow which was very easy to get to on the train, so good location from that point of view.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mozza68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.3 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#2 of 24 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunnyside B&B
Sunnyside B&B
#1 of 24 in Balloch
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gowanlea Guest House
Gowanlea Guest House
#3 of 24 in Balloch
5.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenfern Guest House
Glenfern Guest House
#7 of 24 in Balloch
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valhalla Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valhalla Bed & Breakfast

Property: Valhalla Bed & Breakfast
Address: 14 Tullichewan Rd, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast provides quality accommodation right in the very heart of Balloch. Directly next to the railway station, and only a few hundred meters from the picturesque riverside, we have en-suite rooms which can cater for single travellers, or parties of up to seven people. Valhalla's fresh decor, legendary breakfasts, and free wi-fi, mean there is no better choice when staying in the Loch Lomond area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Valhalla Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valhalla Bed & Breakfast Balloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing