We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond
Ranked #10 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good but could do better”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel has a great location in the centre of the town, overlooking both the River Leven ad Loch Lomond.

The room had a river view and was very good. All the staff were all friendly and helpful.

The only let down was the restaurant, which ran out of some items,(always the ones you fancy) and changed the accompaniments on the meal without asking if it was ok, also was a bit hit and miss with service and is the only place I have sent back the breakfast sausages and they were inedible, the staff responded by having new ones cooked and also did not charge

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Balloch House, Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    77
    29
    21
    12
See reviews for
59
99
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east kilbride
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

took my wife here for her birthday, eaten here loads of times never stayed
staff very helpful
sloping floor in room but don`t let that put you off
fantastic view of Loch Lomond
real ales in the bar
as the hotel has only a few rooms book early

Room Tip: if a sloping floor is okay get the corner room looking out towards loch lomond good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bio1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Balloch House, Innkeeper's Lodge, Loch Lomond. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely location and i cant fault the decor or the setting itself, had a look at the main menu and it has changed big time, so i opted for the lunch menu, first thing that struck me was that all the starters on the lunch menu were all vegetarian and not up to much, i got the soup which has been the same kind the last 3 times i have been. The main course was ok, but no side salad or anything with it. Ordered a second drink and never got it as a large table of tourists came in and were ordering off the main menu so we seemed to have been ditched to serve those spending more money, our mains plates lay for 15 minutes before being moved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are sorry that had disappointing service at our The Balloch House Restaurant and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Thank you.
Innkeeper’s Lodge Loch Lomond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by on a motorcar tour of the highlands. The Inn is set on the river at the inlet to Lach Lomond. it boasts a helpful staff, country quaint, good fare. It's a country inn, so no lift, but charming. Plenty of parking, and has a great walk along the lake. We would stay again. Nice Scotch selection. We had a dinner that consisted of highland fare, and the breakfast was Scottish Country. The staff was courteous and pleasant. The rooms were smaller, but clean. The shower kind of ran hot and cold, but manageable. The walk to the north provides a view or a beautiful lawn and castle that once guarded the lake. The place is pretty standard for highland inns, and worth the price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jrheineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Loch Lomond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have not stayed overnight in the hotel but only go there for drinks and food!
Great terrace and good pub food, they have a fantastic 3 course deal for £10.95 and also do speciality pies on a Wednesday particularly enjoyed the ribeye pie!!!! A must!
Perfect place to chill out!
Staff are friendly!!!
Still need to try this place on a cold wintery day!! But inside looks very cosy so will definitely do that this winter!!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank blake82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Having cycled from Glasgow to Balloch with my mate today, we decided to visit The Balloch House Hotel for lunch and drinks...bad move.

We sat at a table outside and were promptly given menus and a drinks order was taken - no problems so far. It became apparent very quickly that two tables of customers behind us were having problems - one table of 4 had received their food but the kitchen had lost the other table of five's cheque and an order had to be taken again. Things became quite heated between a waitress and a member of the group who was clearly unhappy that he had been waiting 45 minutes for his main meal.

Not long after, it became evident that a couple at another table were having problems...they had ordered before my friend and I arrived yet they had not received their food by the time we had our starters! A waitress then informed them that something they had ordered was no longer available and could another choice be made!

There really is no point in me commenting on the food in this instance as the standard of service was shocking. Nobody checked back on us to ensure our starters were up to scratch. Despite our glasses sitting empty, we had to prompt staff to take a drinks order...only for the young girl to disappear and completely forget about our drinks. We then had to attract the attention of another waitress to order our drinks again...only for a third member of staff to approach us to try and take ANOTHER ORDER!

Once our starter dishes were cleared...we waited at least 45 MINUTES FOR OUR MAINS. Eventually I had to highlight this fact to a waitress who spoke to the kitchen staff. My friend was of the opinion that being young girls, they were trying their best, however, how difficult is it to come and let us know that there was a delay - NOBODY WAS BOTHERED.

Having waited such a length of time, our mains arrived and appeared tiny in terms of portion size as a result. Another waitress admitted that it had been a shocking day with only 'a few tables leaving happy'. Ultimately, the manager (Rachael?) took our drinks off our bill which we both agreed was actually quite generous (she advised that she had also deducted 20% from the bill but this wasn't the case - we were charged full price for the food).

Overall, the standard of service was shocking and both the waiting staff and kitchen staff need to sort themselves out. I will be trying the Tullie Inn next time I think!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globetrotter1984_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to the Restaurant and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I really liked this charming inn above a quaint pub right along the river to Loch Lomond. The location is perfectly central, and easy to walk anywhere. The inn is located right next to a huge park, ideal for strolling along the lakefront or long runs among the many pathways. Our room was perfectly adequate, and a great value, especially with the continental breakfast included. And, it was super convenient to eat dinner and have a drink downstairs before rolling into bed upstairs. Could have easily stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trotamundo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.4 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#18 of 24 in Balloch
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Tullie Inn
Tullie Inn
#15 of 24 in Balloch
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond
Address: Innkeeper's Lodge 56 Balloch Road | Balloch Road, West Dunbartonshire, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting at the foot of Loch Lomond in the beautiful village of Balloch, this historic lodge is the perfect place to stay if you're looking to explore the rugged mountains and ancient history of Balloch Castle Country Park.Built in the 18th century, Balloch House has been a hotel for more than a hundred years. Today it exudes the same rustic charm, while providing budget accommodation across 12 comfy rooms. There's a hearty seasonal menu alongside daily specials, cask-conditioned ales and carefully selected wines.As for the sightseeing, you'll be spoilt for choice. Catch the early morning mists that curl across the Loch, take the historic Maid of the Loch steamer from Balloch Pier or venture out and discover the beautiful Scottish scenery of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. You could also visit nearby Alexandria or head into the hustle and bustle of Glasgow. In fact, there's so much to do that you might need more than a weekend to soak it all up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balloch House Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Hotel Balloch
Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond Balloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing