We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond
Ranked #10 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food great service”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

we used the restaurant which was great, the food was excellant and the young man who was our waiter was brilliant . will eat here again. the location is great, very easy to find and very central in balloch

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squizzy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    77
    29
    21
    12
See reviews for
59
99
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Basic pub grub that you would expect to find and great to curl up in front of a fire if you want to keep warm. Low ceilings and plenty of space inside. Being on the river it is the place to head to after a bracing walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUMFRIESSHIRE
Level Contributor
175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our youngest daughter surprised us by getting us a long weekend here as a Christmas present. What an enjoyable stay we had. The Hotel can`t be positioned any better. Very close to the train station and right at the the bottom of Loch Lomond with a few boats waiting to take you up the Loch only 2 mins walk away.There are also a few nice bars and a lovely Italian restaurant very near by as well.
The place has a lovely, homely feel about it. Log fires,beautiful stone walls and ever so friendly staff.We had breakfast and evening dinner here and enjoyed each meal.The rooms were very comfortable and looked to have been renovated recently. The bed although a double was just a tad small for us but never the less we slept very well!
If we had one minor complaint it would be the reception area. We won`t be the first and certainly not the last to find it a wee bit strange. We arrived at 9.15pm loaded up with suitcases and bags.We had to walk through a very busy bar to book in with bar staff around the corner of the room.It felt a bit odd and seen people do the same on Sunday afternoon. You feel a bit lost as it isn`t signposted well.I do believe this is standard at Innkeepers Lodges?
My wife and I loved our stay here and have put Balloch and this Hotel on our list of places you have to visit at least once a year!!

Room Tip: Try and book a room looking onto the bottom of the loch if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

What a lovely find ! Booked 2 weeks in advance with a full Scottish breakfast for £35 per room per night. Log fires, good sized rooms and atmospheric restaurant. Just have the inclusive continental breakfast unless you have a huge appetite !! Everything you need with great views, love this place.
A small chain of hotels I will be definitely be using again, helpful welcoming and a small bill, excellent . An old historical house with Character to match the views of the mountains and lake.

Room Tip: loch views or river doesn't matter which
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joncar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have visited Balloch a few times but this was first visit and loved every part of it.

The staff were great, friendly and effiecient without being in your face. The wood burning fire and casual atmosphere is great and the menu is large and offers some great choices not to mention the wide wide variety of Sunday roasts served with all the trimmings.

A great place to dine in this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrskjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed recently to celebrate our first anniversary. Have stayed in the past in standard rooms, however, this time we booked a late rooms deal and were given a lovely, spacious room with views right up to Ben Lomond. Lovely!

The floors in this building are uneven due to the age of the building, sometimes felt as if we were walking uphill / downhill in the room / bathroom. Suppose this adds to the charm of the place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Had our family Christmas dinner here as it came highly recommended and we had visited on several occasions in the past for a drink in the lovely bar with real log fire (beautiful setting and lovely surroundings)
Christmas dinner was absolutely superb but our booking was for 2.30 and we didn't get seated till 4.10 and served starter till 4.40.
The service took the shine off a lovely day as we had several older family members with us who found sitting that long a problem especially when hungry.
The staff worked really hard and were very helpful but somebody in management must have overbooked covers causing everybody to be kept waiting for an unacceptabe time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Iainrdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.4 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#18 of 24 in Balloch
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Tullie Inn
Tullie Inn
#15 of 24 in Balloch
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond
Address: Innkeeper's Lodge 56 Balloch Road | Balloch Road, West Dunbartonshire, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting at the foot of Loch Lomond in the beautiful village of Balloch, this historic lodge is the perfect place to stay if you're looking to explore the rugged mountains and ancient history of Balloch Castle Country Park.Built in the 18th century, Balloch House has been a hotel for more than a hundred years. Today it exudes the same rustic charm, while providing budget accommodation across 12 comfy rooms. There's a hearty seasonal menu alongside daily specials, cask-conditioned ales and carefully selected wines.As for the sightseeing, you'll be spoilt for choice. Catch the early morning mists that curl across the Loch, take the historic Maid of the Loch steamer from Balloch Pier or venture out and discover the beautiful Scottish scenery of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. You could also visit nearby Alexandria or head into the hustle and bustle of Glasgow. In fact, there's so much to do that you might need more than a weekend to soak it all up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balloch House Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Hotel Balloch
Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond Balloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing