We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room - less than average food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond
Ranked #10 of 24 Balloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable room - less than average food”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed 2 nights, disturbed both nights by the fire alarm going off closely followed by a member of staff saying false alarm - apparently it had gone off the night before we had stayed as well. Room was comfortable albeit noisy as it faced the road, the location is excellent however even by budget hotel standards the food quality was poor. Chicken was overcooked, haggis tasteless. The stuffed chicken breast was in fact coated and the new potatoes undercooked. The cooked breakfasr featured a fat sodden mushroom and black pudding and an overcooked egg and sausage. Such a shame. Usual check in issues regarding Innkeeper's Lodges - one member of staff trying to serve in a busy bar as well as checking guests in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view as there is less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coljb252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    77
    29
    21
    12
See reviews for
59
99
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Lovely room, lovely hotel, lovely setting! Just perfect for a weekend stay. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly2898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is our second visit to this hotel in the last 3 years, and once again it didn't disappoint, if anything we had a better stay and a better room.
The hotel is a stones throw from the start of the loch, and its stunning views.
The room we had was very large with a great riverside view, It was very clean and well decorated with a double bed and a large sofa, tea making facilities and a television with all the usual channels.
The bathroom was once again very clean with a great power shower.
I would recomend anyone visiting the area to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasha999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Balloch house is indeed a vintage inn. Set in picturesque location near mouth of river flowing into Loch Lomond. Rooms are modern and onsuite. Hotel itself has old world charm. But what they fail to point out is that there are NO rooms on ground floor, there is no lift and access to rooms requires using a spiral staircase. Staff are pleasant and helpful in fact they are carried our cases to and from our room as I suffer from mobility problems. The spiral staircase is daunting to anyone with mobility problems. There is no disabled access

Room Tip: Hotel is close to Loch Lomond shores and very charming but if you have any issues with mobility it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxyroybelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed for one night, had dinner there twice. The staff looked a bit overworked, but were jolly and catered to our every need.

THE ROOM
The room was clean with good beds and a small, but very nice bathroom. Good shower and clean facilities. There's no elevator and the corridors are a bit narrow, so if you have large suitcases and such, navigating your way to your room might be a bit cumbersome, but it gives the place a nice cosy feel, so we liked it.

THE RESTAURANT
We ate there twice, bevares the food was so good and the staff was so nice. They were, like I said, a bit shortstaffed, so it took a wee while before we got our desserts and one of our wine refills filled to show, so after we ordered it for the second time we got it for free (and they made it a large one) to compensate. To be honest, the staff were so cool I was already willing to forgive that ^^

Can recommend th sirloin steak with the onion rings. Yum!

If it's sunny, sit and eat outside, the terrace is gorgeous :-)

If you arrive by car be aware that the car park, while it has many spaces for cars, is a bit hidden. You drive in in front of the Balloch House, on the cobblestone that looks like a walkway. Just drive straight through, plast the terrace (on your right), the car park is at the back.

Location of Balloch House: smack in the centre of Balloch. Main road, can't miss it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakoyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were in Scotland for 10 days, stayed in 4 different places, the Balloch Inn was joint 1st out of the 4. The restaurant/bar area is so inviting and warm we ate there both nights. The staff were very friendly, the menu had a lovely selection with large portions. The desserts were to die for! We stayed in a Loch view room, so had views of the marina and beautiful base of Loch Lomond.The bed was super comfy, the bathroom was large, in room hospitality was spot on.

The breakfast included is continental, get down early to ensure you get a decent breakfast as it goes fast, but is topped up by the helpful staff.

Overall, great value for money and I highly recommend.

In addition: Just across the bridge from the Inn is the base for Sweeney's Cruises, so if you fancy a boat trip up the Loch you don't have far to walk. Also, Loch Lomond Shores retail area is a 15mins walk away, lovely retail stores, cafes and food vendors, so you can sit out and eat some freshly cooked noodles or paella.

Room Tip: Book a Loch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joylimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIDGEND
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at Balloch House on the shores of Loch Lomond. Beautiful scenery and very peaceful. Balloch House was excellent, the rooms were a good size, comfortable and clean. The view from our window was looking out on the Loch and the majestic mountains in the distance. The food was excellent and the staff could not do enough for you and made our stay very enjoyable and we were made to feel very welcome.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balloch
1.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.4 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 24 in Balloch
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lomond Park Hotel
Lomond Park Hotel
#18 of 24 in Balloch
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lomond Woods Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Tullie Inn
Tullie Inn
#15 of 24 in Balloch
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond
Address: Innkeeper's Lodge 56 Balloch Road | Balloch Road, West Dunbartonshire, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8LQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Balloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Balloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting at the foot of Loch Lomond in the beautiful village of Balloch, this historic lodge is the perfect place to stay if you're looking to explore the rugged mountains and ancient history of Balloch Castle Country Park.Built in the 18th century, Balloch House has been a hotel for more than a hundred years. Today it exudes the same rustic charm, while providing budget accommodation across 12 comfy rooms. There's a hearty seasonal menu alongside daily specials, cask-conditioned ales and carefully selected wines.As for the sightseeing, you'll be spoilt for choice. Catch the early morning mists that curl across the Loch, take the historic Maid of the Loch steamer from Balloch Pier or venture out and discover the beautiful Scottish scenery of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. You could also visit nearby Alexandria or head into the hustle and bustle of Glasgow. In fact, there's so much to do that you might need more than a weekend to soak it all up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balloch House Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Hotel Balloch
Innkeeper's Lodge Loch Lomond Balloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing