We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to get Away or Base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just spent the weekend at Burnbrea for our tenth wedding anniversary. This cottage b&b is fantastic. Would rate this over and above a hotel any day. Janice is so attentive and flexible. Evan with my funny eating habits. The view is just amazing with a pub next door. We used this as a base for cycling to loch lomond. Have already recommended to friends and are going to try and get back next year. This small village does not have a cash machine but the hotel Janice booked a table for us at accepts cards. At only £10 for three course and entertainment. The pub next door was just what you need with a very friendly atmosphere. Thanks Janice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double but also had a look at the single which looked as nice. Enjoyed the comp. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 532paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burny, Owner at Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our B & B. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we'll see you again (and your friends!!!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 154 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Burnbrae on the way to Isle of Skye the room was much bigger than other B+B we had stayed in VERY comfortable bed and lots of extra little touches like Sherry and sweets in the room the Hostess Janice was very friendly and informative and a wonderful cook the breakfasts were truly exceptional, would stay again but longer next time

Room Tip: The double room was very large with big ensuite and bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burny, Owner at Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday, and that we may see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Many thanks for the best holiday we have ever had. 6 days of such care and consideration Janice you were wonderful,it was like being at home.Excellent food, so many choices. Porridge and cream, haddock, fried breakfast, all so scrumptious what a kind people you and Gordon are we wiill revisit
You must visit breakfast,added to all this is ARROCHAR, such scenery and friendly people

Thanks, Brian and Anne

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianhughgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burny, Owner at Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you so much for a superb review. I am pleased you had a good holiday even though the weather was horrendous! Perhaps if you come back to see us the weather will be kinder. Look after yourselves and each other !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here on our way further North and had a great stay.
Our dog enjoyed playing on the beach opposite Burnbrae and wlaking in the hills behind (go up from the playground opposite the church)
The room was large with a very good bed and very clean.
I particularly enjoyed the home made jams and marmaldes for breakfast and the option of kippers for breakfast (my wife doesn't appreciate the aroma when I cook kippers at home)
Also very pleased, surprised and slighlty shamed to recieve in the post the items I'd carelessly left behind, thank you for this!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norehearsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burny, Owner at Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. I hope Gallilea had a fun time on holiday!. I am glad you had a good stay with us, and that you received your parcel okay. Take care and I hope you decide to stay with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was my 1st visit to Scotland,so i didnt really know what to expect! I had an unbelievable stay with Janice and Gordon.I have never eaten so much beautiful food! There was so much choice at breakfast that it was hard to decide,so my 2 night stay was not long enough to try everything.Janices homemade preserves are a definate must,so dont go filling up on homemade scottish porridge,salmon with scrambled eggs or traditional scottish breakfasts!! We stayed in the spacious beautiful art-deco inspired twin room,which was spotlessly clean,as was the bathroom.We had everything in our room provided,from hairdryers to shoe cleaning kits to games to even cotton ear buds.The views from the bedroom window were to die for.I didnt realise a mountain could change so many colours in such a short time!!! There were plently of leaflets in the room advertising places of interest,a comfy sofa where you can enjoy a glass of sherry and chocolates while watching tv or dvds,plenty of choice for tea,coffee etc.I was even bought a jug of "green" milk as im not a fan of "blue" milk!! We felt extremely spoilt by the views,food and comfort and have already planned our next stay next year in the spring,but for longer. I truly feel as though some people from previous reviews could not have possibly stayed in the same Burnbrae as us.Our time in Scotland was outstanding!!!!! Cant wait to visit again and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyboop32x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burny, Owner at Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you for such an eloquent review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Burnbrae and we look forward to meeting you and your mother in the spring for a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very well located B&B on the shores of Loch Long. Spacious and well appointed twin room with a good view of the loch. All guest accessories had been considered together with a good DVD and CD collection being provided. Beds weren't hugely comfortable though. Breakfast was tasty (very good kippers) although if you're not of a chatty disposition in the morning you may not like having to share your breakfast table with other guests. Janice also put together a hearty pack lunch for us for our day's walking. The only reservation we have was the overpowering smell of glade plug-ins to disguise the smell of cigarette smoke. Also, our bed sheets smelt of cigarette smoke which combined with the air freshners was quite nauseating and for that reason we probably won't be back. A shame because otherwise it did the job.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank NRCEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burny, Owner at Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for responding although am quite suprised as to the comments. They differ so much from your comments in our Visitors book. "Lovely stay" comes to mind. I am sorry you were affected by the smell of smoke but we do have a smoker in OUR HOME, you must have an extra sensitive nose, or maybe an ex smoker? We do try to block the smell - perhaps a little too zealously There are no air fresheners in the rooms only one at the bottom of the stairs. Perhaps someones perfume?
The plug-in in the room is to stop biting insects eg midges gnats etc. - NO SMELL to humans. I hope you find a B & B to suit your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed with Janice at Burnbrae B & B for 3 nights, we found the room to be spacious and well appointed with a good size bathroom. After a long day out it was good to be able to come back and relax on a sofa with a sherry and sweets. Janice provided a very good breakfast, with a choice of cereals, juice, yoghurts, refreshing melon and fruit, hot breakfast was what you desired, full scottish, poached eggs and bacon or even kippers, all delicious, plus fresh coffee or a port of tea. We enjoyed being able to look out of the windows (bedroom & dining room) and watch the birds on the feeders and aso the water birds on the loch. Off street parking is also a bonus.
I have to agree/DISAGREE with Charlie C, there is a slight cigarette smell in the entrance when you walk in from outside, BUT there was NO cigarette smell upstairs or in the dining room and our clothes where not effected.
We would recommend Burnbrae B & B
Rosanna and Peter
Melbourne
Australia

Room Tip: Check for LARGE room with extra sofa or comfortable arm chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseRRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.5 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,247 reviews
10.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.7 mi away
Lochside Guest House
Lochside Guest House
#3 of 16 in Arrochar
373 reviews
0 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 16 in Arrochar
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast

Address: Burnbrae Shore Road, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range: $117 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnbrae is a 4-star bed & breakfast on the banks of Loch Long, overlooking the Cobbler (Ben Arthur). Central to all locations - Edinburgh, Stirling, Fort William, Oban and only 40 mins from Glasgow Airport. Be lulled to sleep by the sound of the burn or the rustle of the leaves. Any dietary need met. Mooring available. Ideal honeymoon spot or a birthday or anniversary treat. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Burnbrae Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnbrae Bed And Breakfast Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing